We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommend”
Review of Waystead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waystead Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Berlin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Beautiful house and delicious home cooked meals. The rooms are large and comfortable. The Innkeeper genuinely wants you to enjoy your stay and is very hospitable. I highly recommend staying here and I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRay14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Waystead Inn is the place to stay in Berlin! Mark, the owner, a trained chef, cooks up a delicious full breakfast, the rooms clean, the showers large, the decks and porches add to ambience surrounding this place. Mark also adds a fire to the outdoor fire pit to enjoy in the evening so you sit together and enjoy their lovely weather. His location is close enough to downtown Berlin that you could walk if you were up to it. Your only 10 mins from Ocean Downs Casino. 25 min from Salisbury -Ocean City Airport. We loved our stay and hope to go back someday in fall!!!

Room Tip: It was perfect for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Beautiful B&B in charming Berlin MD. We were unaware of this redone country home until spending a week nearby. Mark accommodated our dinner request and we dined with Mark and his wife and a local couple a few days later. Enjoyed the ribs and eastern MD cornbread. Dessert crepe delicious. Ample time to share conversation and learn more regarding the inn and local history. Worth a visit and the town itself is a don't miss. Hope to stay on our next visit to MD

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Most accommodating owners offer large comfortable rooms (5) and exquisite food. Being a BnB, breakfasts are over the top. Throughout the seasons, owners Mark and Lucy Kaufman host "special theme dinners" which have been exceptional. If you are looking for designer toiletries, you won't find them here - but, who needs them! The Waystead Inn is a unique historical home, restored from the ground up offering all the creature comforts one could want. It sits 5 minutes outside the town center of Berlin and is filled with luxury and charm not offered anywhere else in the surrounding area. This is a best bet - can't be beat. Enjoy a glass of wine with the owners in the parlour or, weather permitting outside on the patio. I can't wait to go back. The Waystead Inn is a real gem - book early especially during the season. Golf, shopping, restaurants, etc all located nearby.

Room Tip: There are 5 large comfortable rooms all completely restored just 2 years ago - you can't go wron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobbi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Waystead for one night February 15th. The inn is lovely, great location and the chef/owner was very welcoming and made a delicious breakfast. He was very kind to call us and let us know we could check in early too.
The only complaints would be the lack of water pressure on the top floor and it would have been nice to have more toiletries offered than the one tiny bar of soap. But really those are insignificant details. We had a great time, no ghost issues and it was very clean and cozy.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GratefulBree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at the Waystead for 1 nite in November. Eric was extremely accommodating, he makes a great breakfast, and knows everything about Berlin. The inn is beautiful, close to restaurants etc. in town, and the rooms are large and comfortable with modern baths. This is a great stop on the way to the OBX. There's a new fire ring outside and Eric makes Wed. Nite dinners for $20 which includes a glass of wine or beer! You won't beat the value, service, or accomodations anywhere , and Berlin is a fun town to explore with interesting shops and several great places to eat. Stop in the Maryland Wine Bar, a cozy tasting room in the center of town.

Room Tip: The blue room is the largest and has a comfy lounger in a sunny bay window alcove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had an excellent time at the Waystead Inn. We stayed one week-end in November, the house and the room were great and warm, decorated with a lot of taste. Eric the Inn keeper was very friendly, had very good advice for local food options and cooked amazing breakfasts for us!
Berlin is a charming small town, close to Assateague Island, Ocean city and other attractions.
We definitely recommend the Waystead Inn!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amaury A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Waystead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waystead Inn

Address: 15 Harrison Ave, Berlin, MD 21811-1042
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Berlin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range: £114 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waystead Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly-restored Bed & Breakfast in historic Berlin, Maryland, featuring five en-suite Guest Rooms and great breakfasts to your liking. Walking distance to downtown Berlin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waystead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing