We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To rich grandmothers house we go!”
Review of Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I had an opportunity to spend a Saturday night at the Atlantic Hotel. What a lovely and well put together property. Class and old world charm. From the antiques and period furniture to the claw foot tubs and wood floors in the bathroom. It really felt like a visit to Grandma's house.
The only downside is that the walls are NOT soundproof by any means which is made up for by the comfortable and well appointed beds!
The rooms are small...but very quaint.

Room Tip: Ask for Richard Gere's room from the movie Run Away Bride..or stay in my favorite, the Blue Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapsFan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

We were just here for two nights over Thanksgiving. I am giving the lovely Victorian hotel four stars because of its primo location in this quaint town. It dominates the downtown, and was beautifully decorated for the holidays. We had Thanksgiving dinner in the Drummer Cafe and it was traditional and tasty - even though, strangely, we could not charge the meal to our room.

The main complaint was there is no breakfast and not even any coffee available for guests in the mornings. On Thanksgiving morning, someone did make coffee but reminded guests that "this is a B, not a B and B." Our dinner reservation was not until 3, and the tiny town was boarded up for the holiday, so we piled into the car to drive to a McDonalds for breakfast.

All in all, I think they need to provide at least coffee, maybe more, or a discount coupon to the very nice coffee shop next door. They didn't overwhelm with hospitality in this department.

Room Tip: Choose one of the larger rooms. It's worth the upgrade. The small ones are very tiny - ours did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GetALife56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Sometimes being spontanious is dangerous however our last minute decision to "escape" somewhere new an unknown to us was a good one. The Atlantic Hotel has been wonderfully restored to its Victorian origins, sympathetic and comfortable in every way. Very pleasant staff and a much livelier atmosphere than expected. A great little town with a great selection of pretty unique stores, antique shops, a specialist afternoon tea shop and much more. Definitely worth a return visit. Only niggle was that the restaurant and rooms sides of the hotel seem a bit disjointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Innspiration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed here for business last night. LOVELY! The room I was in was on the 2nd floor. Room 15. It was VERY small but I don't care. Go somewhere else for spacious. Come here for beautiful, spotless, quaint history! The bed was a little small but again, I was expecting it as it is an old Inn. The town was unreal too. Like a picture on a postcard. Quiet town with Antique shops, sweet cupcake shop and a SWEET Coffee place (and many more). Sad that I did not get to eat at the Hotel. Maybe next time... GO!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DotD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Beautiful room and tub/shower. My wife and I will be back. Choose a room away from the Gere room for peace during weekend nights. Live music 9-10ish. Left the room to check it out and had fun! The *hallways* on the third floor can get warm/hot during the summer months. The television was Roku friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Two couples ate lunch there on our trip from Ocean City to Williamsburg. We sat on the porch with a nice view of the Main Street and alfresco dining tables outside. A little hot for us to eat out there. The food and service was fantastic. Our orders ranged from burgers to salads to specialty sandwiches. The waitress was wonderful at keeping our beverages refilled and making suggestions as to what to order.
We would make it a point to eat there again any time we are in the area. You should also.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cccruisemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a lovely town. The rooms are so pretty, ours was very small and the bathroom claustrophobic. I was delighted that we were able to open the window, but we soon shut it. The noise of the air-conditioner was intrusive and spoilt our nights sleep. The part of the building we were in actually vibrates. We were pleased we were only staying one night. Housekeeping hammered on the door at 8.30 am - such a small hotel - why didn't she check with reception to see if we had booked out?

Room Tip: You have to get away from the air conditioning units
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berlin
5.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocean City
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites West Ocean City
6 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#45 of 104 in Ocean City
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#11 of 104 in Ocean City
1,050 reviews
7 mi away
Talbot Inn
Talbot Inn
#70 of 104 in Ocean City
73 reviews
6.1 mi away
Francis Scott Key Family Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel

Address: 2 N Main St, Berlin, MD 21811-1026
Region: United States > Maryland > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: £102 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic 1895 Atlantic Hotel, located in the Village of Berlin on Maryland’s Eastern Shore, has recently re-opened under new management with a totally new upgrade. Victorian Period guest rooms and suites, a Gardner’s Cottage and the return of the historic Drummer’s Café & Bar are but some of the exciting new features of the hotel.Positioned in the center of Berlin’s Historic District, The Atlantic Hotel offers visitors and guests authentic Maryland cuisine daily with lunch and dinner in the historic Drummer’s Café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing