We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and Clean”
Review of Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quaint and Clean”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed there last week for two nights visiting relatives. Since it's the only hotel in town we thought we'd give it a try. I had read the previews of this place before we left so I knew that they did not provide any coffee in the am. We brought along our own coffee pot. I can see no reason for them not to put a pot out in the am for their customers as they do have a restaurant there. That being said it is pricey, but like I said it's the only hotel. It is right in the center of town and ideally located.
The room was spotless, the bedding and pillows were a dream, the bath had great toiletries and they provided robes. I liked it and would go back, highly recommended, unfortunately I did not see the ghost that is said to be there in room 18, but who knows, you might see one!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caylinsgranny2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    49
    14
    10
    3
See reviews for
21
84
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, MA
Level Contributor
317 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I have wanted to stay here ever since my husband and I drove through Berlin's downtown on a summer visit years ago. And on a winter's road trip in February I finally had my chance. We called on a few hours' notice and got a room. Berlin's downtown is quaint, quirky, and perhaps more lively on a summer's day, but this hotel was open and busy and it was great. Another reviewer called it, "rich grandmother's house", and I get it. Lots of classic decorations and pictures and red velvet sofas and lace curtains, plus all the mod cons you expect in today's hotel rooms. King bed in the room, comfortable pillows, and a claw foot tub outfitted with a shower - everything you need. We experienced no noise problems, but I wonder if that would be the case on a busy summer day. We ate in the hotel dining room. The food was good, creative, and served with a smile. We asked the waitress about the lively bar scene, and she said a lot of locals come in because the bartender has developed a real following. It was really charming and only a short distance off the beaten path. While the hotel doesn't offer breakfast, there are several breakfast options within a very short walk of the hotel, so don't let the lack of breakfast put you off. There are solutions to problems, and I'll recommend Rayne's Reef as an excellent breakfast destination.

Room Tip: Room types vary, so make sure to explain your wants when making a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 65Wagonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I had an opportunity to spend a Saturday night at the Atlantic Hotel. What a lovely and well put together property. Class and old world charm. From the antiques and period furniture to the claw foot tubs and wood floors in the bathroom. It really felt like a visit to Grandma's house.
The only downside is that the walls are NOT soundproof by any means which is made up for by the comfortable and well appointed beds!
The rooms are small...but very quaint.

Room Tip: Ask for Richard Gere's room from the movie Run Away Bride..or stay in my favorite, the Blue Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapsFan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Delaware
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We were just here for two nights over Thanksgiving. I am giving the lovely Victorian hotel four stars because of its primo location in this quaint town. It dominates the downtown, and was beautifully decorated for the holidays. We had Thanksgiving dinner in the Drummer Cafe and it was traditional and tasty - even though, strangely, we could not charge the meal to our room.

The main complaint was there is no breakfast and not even any coffee available for guests in the mornings. On Thanksgiving morning, someone did make coffee but reminded guests that "this is a B, not a B and B." Our dinner reservation was not until 3, and the tiny town was boarded up for the holiday, so we piled into the car to drive to a McDonalds for breakfast.

All in all, I think they need to provide at least coffee, maybe more, or a discount coupon to the very nice coffee shop next door. They didn't overwhelm with hospitality in this department.

Room Tip: Choose one of the larger rooms. It's worth the upgrade. The small ones are very tiny - ours did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GetALife56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Sometimes being spontanious is dangerous however our last minute decision to "escape" somewhere new an unknown to us was a good one. The Atlantic Hotel has been wonderfully restored to its Victorian origins, sympathetic and comfortable in every way. Very pleasant staff and a much livelier atmosphere than expected. A great little town with a great selection of pretty unique stores, antique shops, a specialist afternoon tea shop and much more. Definitely worth a return visit. Only niggle was that the restaurant and rooms sides of the hotel seem a bit disjointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Innspiration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed here for business last night. LOVELY! The room I was in was on the 2nd floor. Room 15. It was VERY small but I don't care. Go somewhere else for spacious. Come here for beautiful, spotless, quaint history! The bed was a little small but again, I was expecting it as it is an old Inn. The town was unreal too. Like a picture on a postcard. Quiet town with Antique shops, sweet cupcake shop and a SWEET Coffee place (and many more). Sad that I did not get to eat at the Hotel. Maybe next time... GO!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DotD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaither
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Beautiful room and tub/shower. My wife and I will be back. Choose a room away from the Gere room for peace during weekend nights. Live music 9-10ish. Left the room to check it out and had fun! The *hallways* on the third floor can get warm/hot during the summer months. The television was Roku friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berlin
5.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocean City
8.2 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#1 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
6.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#42 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites West Ocean City
8.4 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel

Property: Atlantic Hotel
Address: 2 N Main St, Berlin, MD 21811-1026
Region: United States > Maryland > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic 1895 Atlantic Hotel, located in the Village of Berlin on Maryland’s Eastern Shore, has recently re-opened under new management with a totally new upgrade. Victorian Period guest rooms and suites, a Gardner’s Cottage and the return of the historic Drummer’s Café & Bar are but some of the exciting new features of the hotel.Positioned in the center of Berlin’s Historic District, The Atlantic Hotel offers visitors and guests authentic Maryland cuisine daily with lunch and dinner in the historic Drummer’s Café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing