We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Badlands/ White River KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Interior
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Badlands/ White River KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in one of their deluxe cabins towards the end of september. We arrived after office hours but our key and map were all laid out fire us at the night registration area. The cabin was spectacular! Wish all koas had them. It was clean, cozy, and comfortable. The bathroom was pretty spacious for the size of the cabin and it was nice to have a bathroom right in the cabin instead of lugging stuff to the other restroom area. The campground was very close to the badlands and was overall very nice. The fellow who checked us out in the morning was super friendly and seemed to genuinely care how our stay went. I would definately recommend staying here and would stay here again. The cabin was about $60...I recommend checking it out if you like camping but don't like the work involved in tenting it - you will not regret it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly3262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    36
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
73
37
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
318 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We really liked our cabin at the badlands White River KOA. The campground was very nicely landscaped with spacious grounds and plenty of room for campers and cabin goers. we stayed in a cabin with a bath so I am not familar with the shower facility, but the rest of the campground was clean, modern, and had plenty of outdoor activities. We did not try the pool but it looked clean. The campground was very quiet and the views and skies were beautiful.The all you can eat breakfast pancake choice was great. The staff was friendly. The con was the bugs, lots of them! The location was a bit far away from everything but still worth the drive.

Room Tip: The cabins all have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huskertravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wautoma, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed in the cabin with the bathroom with our my sister and her two kids. The cabin was clean, the air conditioner was sufficient, and the bathroom was great. The campground is kept clean, and the few items we forgot to pack were available for sale in the camp store, at reasonable prices. The dinner provided on site was tasty, and the nightly rate was affordable. The location was amazing, and provided easy access to the Badlands. We enjoyed our stay here, and will definitely stay again. Camp hosts were friendly and helpful. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bestofbeth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

One of our best KOA experiences. The staff were really friendly and the whole place really clean and well maintained. Great pool for escaping a hot badlands day. Easy five minute drive to the 'Interior' Badlands gate. The only campsite in the area to have trees for shade, it doesn't sound like a big deal but when you are here you will appreciate it! There are plenty of flies and mosquitos in the area, bring bug spray and fly spray!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Returning from camping at Yelllowstone, we found this KOA near the Badlands which is one of our family's favorite stops. This was our first KOA experience and we were very, very impressed. The staff was polite, friendly and, most of all, genuine. We stayed in a camping cabin which was in excellent shape. The entire KOA was in excellent condition. The bathrooms were nearly perfect. This KOA served some food in the evening which was good. We did not have the breakfast. This KOA is in a very unique location. It is just a few minutes from the Badlands so you are surrounded by nearly tree-less, wide-open spaces. The White River borders the KOA which adds to the surroundings. I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: I can't imagine anything bad here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnSWIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BadlandsKOA, Owner at Badlands/ White River KOA, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words and a great review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you'll come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

From the very beginning of check in I could tell they valued us as customers. The staff members were friendly and helpful. Check-in was quick as we had reservations.
We stayed in a one-room cabin w/o bathroom. It was quite nice and clean. The overall size was okay as we only stayed one night. The bath house/restrooms were clean and not far from the cabin.
The all-you can eat pancake breakfast was good and reasonably priced to feed our family of 6.
We didn't have time to utilize the pool so can't comment there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kb9536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
370 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is a good KOA. It is at least 20 minutes off the Interstate coming from Sioux Falls and 35 minutes coming from Wall. The park itself is very friendly. Roads are a little tight but our 40 footer made it. Gravel sites that drained well after a heavy rain. About 10 minutes to the Badlands visitors center. Be advised there is not much out here in the way of stores. Bring what you need with you. From here we went to the Minuteman Missile Site and Wall Drug, If you are hiking this would be somewhere to stay a few days. If you are only seeing the Badlands and the Missile Site you can do it in two days. Their internet works well but no Version service. Good Cable TV. A little overpriced but there are not many choices. Posted by grinandbrakeit,com

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KegMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Interior
22.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
3.5 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
19.7 mi away
Budget Host Sundowner
Budget Host Sundowner
#2 of 6 in Kadoka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badlands/ White River KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badlands/ White River KOA

Property: Badlands/ White River KOA
Address: 20720 Sd Highway 44, Interior, SD 57750-7028
Region: United States > South Dakota > Interior
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Interior
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, shady campground White River. Guests enjoy amenities such as clean restrooms, a swimming pool, mini golf, bike rentals, and meal service. Accommodations include Deluxe Cabins, Camping Cabins, RV sites Tent sites and tepees. Located on S.D. Highway 44, four miles south of Interior and just 5 miles from Badlands National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Badlands/ White River Koa Hotel Interior
Badlands/ White River KOA Interior, South Dakota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing