We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't judge by the outside” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Badlands Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Interior
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Badlands Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Interior B&B and Inns
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Don't judge by the outside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

In the badlands national park. A sister to another hotel about 1/4 mile away. The outside looks like nothing but the rooms were well and tastefully decorated and modern. The beds and linens were high quality. The posters were repros of 1920-1940 posters . Check in is at 5 pm. There is an office with fruit and coffee when you get there. Marysue is the manager and a delight to talk too. She loves her job and it shows in how she cares for the guests. The outside is being redone so it will be more attractive. Beautiful views from the rooms. The restaurant for forever resorts is 1/4 mile away and was good as well. A definite yes to this one

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank realtoreaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    53
    41
    19
    13
See reviews for
54
55
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This motel was within a mile of Cedar Pass Lodge and the campground. Great access to park activities. The motel is undergoing renovations. Great choices for breakfast. (Truly a deluxe breakfast.) Check-in is at 5 pm, and not a minute earlier.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamrocker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

You can see the south entrance of the park from the parking lot. No frills motel but very clean rooms and comfortable beds. Only little people can stand upright under the shower heads but that's a minor quibble. Continental style breakfasts were surprisingly satisfying. Food at the nearby Cedar Pass Lodge was horrific so load up on breakfast here. I left my spare camera battery and charger in the room and the innkeeper graciously had it delivered to my home free of charge.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank gonuts4donuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCook_GMBadlands, General Manager at Badlands Inn, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your visit in the Badlands of South Dakota. I truly appreciate your candor, and those of other guests who dined at Cedar Pass Lodge. We've made significant changes to both our operations and especially the food service for the 2014 season.

Help in the Badlands has always been a struggle, but we are planning to enhance our menu options and will devote additional training time throughout the season for our staff in order to provide the best experiences possible for our guests.

If your travels take you through the Badlands again, please give the Badlands Inn and Cedar Pass Lodge another try. I am always open to suggestions and want to make your vacation time with us memorable -- in the best way possible.

Thank you again for your kind words and suggestions.
Best,

Darla Cook
General Manager
Cedar Pass Lodge / Badlands Inn / Circle 10 Campground
dcook@foreverresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raynham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here in September 2013, the week the government was closing the parks. We had reservations at the lodge cabins but since the parks were closing we decided to arrive earlier and this was the only place by the park that was available. It is a very dated inn. Although it was clean, the rugs were stained and the floors were sticky when you walked on them. It served its purpose for the one night we stayed, but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LA5JA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, LA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We booked the Badlands Inn because we could not get a reservation at the bigger lodge up the road in the park. It didn't look too great as we drove up, but the desk clerk was so friendly that we left the office with a good feeling. Our room was very nice, nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. I really enjoyed having our car right outside our room in case I needed something I left there. You don't have that luxury much anymore. The views from our door were excellent. I was also fascinated with the swallow nests in the motel porch lights We watched the parents feeding the babies for quite a while. Breakfast was very good. We recommend this property!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marmc60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here in mid-September, which was late in the season for this motel. The motel is just outside the south entrance to the park. When we arrived there was a sign on the door that said to check in at the Cedar Pass Lodge (about a mile away, inside the park). At check in, the clerk gave us two tickets for breakfast at Cedar Pass Lodge since the breakfast room and lobby at the Badlands Inn was closed for the season.

The breakfast was a buffet, including eggs and meat. Oddly, they charged us for the coffee ($2.50/person) even though we had the ticket.

The room was old but adequate. The TV was an old CRT and received only about seven channels. I don't know if this is the norm or the service was off for the season.

The town of Interior, SD is about a mile further south. It is tiny and has very little to offer. There was a small local grocery that was not much more than a convenience store. Don't expect to do much grocery shopping there. Better get your supplies before you leave the Interstate.

Unless you absolutely want to be as close to the park as possible, you might want to consider staying a few miles north in Wall, SD.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuck2053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

The Badlands in is right outside the entrance to the park. Great views from the rooms! Beautiful sunrises and sunsets! The breakfast was great. Huge selection. Room was clean and comfortable. One issue was that there were a lot of flies in the room. Don't know if the cleaning staff keeps the door ajar when cleaning, but the flies were back each evening when I came back to the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nabokblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Interior
22.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plains Motel
22.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
1.1 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Super 8 Wall
Super 8 Wall
#4 of 11 in Wall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
22.4 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
22.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badlands Inn

Property: Badlands Inn
Address: I-90 Exit 131 Highway 377, Interior, SD 57750-0103
Region: United States > South Dakota > Interior
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Interior
Hotel Class:2 star — Badlands Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our 20 rooms has a magnificent view of the Badlands. You will rest well in our double queen rooms with upgraded high thread count linens/with bamboo towels (the linens use less energy to dry and are made with long bamboo fibers making them last longer than cotton towels), free WiFi, AC/Heat, cable TV, Energy Star Microwave & Mini refrigerator, Energy Star Coffee Maker with organic and shade grown coffee and complimentary breakfast in the lobby. There is an evening happy hour of local wine tasting in the lobby of the Inn for our guests. Night Skies in the Badlands are particularly dark and we encourage you to experience the FREE Ranger led tours in the amphitheater located inside the Park, less than a mile away. We are an Environmentally Friendly Inn and encourage recycling, plus we are a 100% non-smoking property and welcome pets. (There is a $10/night additional fee per pet). Children 15 years and younger stay free in same room with adult. We are the closest lodging to Badlands National Park (an easy walk from the Interior entrance) and only 9 miles from I-90 at Exit 131 and the Minute Man National Missile Monument. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Badlands Hotel Interior
Badlands Inn Interior, South Dakota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing