We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”
Review of Badlands Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Interior
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Badlands Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Interior B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I spent one night here while visiting the Badlands. The location is outstanding as it overlooks the park and is just minutes away from the entrance. We enjoyed watching the sunrise from our bed on the second floor! The inn itself is a two-story motel with doors opening to the outside, which I usually don't like, but I felt safe. The stairs leading up to the second floor are a bit steep. The interior is spartan, as others have said. The bedroom part of the room looks newer. It has fake hardwood floors and nice linens on the beds. The beds are comfortable. The bathroom/sink area is obviously older and a bit rundown, though everything worked fine. The shower head is low for tall folks like me and my husband, but there was plenty of hot water. The fridge worked well. We never turned on the TV. We were very impressed with the breakfast, especially the Kashi Go Lean cereal, which I love, and had never before seen offered at a hotel free breakfast. There was also oatmeal, fruit, hard boiled eggs, and other decent choices. The front desk clerk was friendly. Be forewarned that the parking lot is gravel and the room doesn't have a hairdryer. The clerk said they used to have a hairdryer they loaned out, but a guest took off with it. Hmmm...first time I ever stayed at a lodging establishment that didn't offer a hairdryer. Also, be sure to stock up on food in Wall or elsewhere before you arrive as it's very slim pickings out here. Overall, we stayed here for the location, which was outstanding. If you want to be close to the park and have excellent views, stay here.

Room Tip: Second floor offers excellent views of the Badlands
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IowaIndigoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We arrived late at night and had arranged to pick up our key from the night box. All worked out marvelously and we were greeted in our room with a note and bag of snacks since all concessions are closed in the park area by 8pm. Mary Sue from Badlands Inn did the arrangements for our arrival in absence. Rooms were adequate and the breakfast was fine for a good start on the day with offerings of waffles, yogurt, oatmeal coffee, juice, fruit etc. It is real convenient to the entrance to the park with maps available from Mary Sue too. Toiletries in the room were first class organic local shampoos etc. The mini-refridge in the room was great to keep water, fruit and yogurt cold. Compared to the other Badland's Ceder Lodge, it was a less expensive and available.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed the same. We faced the park but, it's a motel so don't expect much differe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdventurerJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed one night last week of June. We were en route to Spearfish and wanted to spend a day in the Badlands National Park. Pretty spartan property, but friendly check in, clean room of adequate size. The prior posts about leaving your door open not only apply to mosquitoes and other bugs but also the occasional toad hopping around eating the bugs.

This place worked great for us but we felt the key to success is to have your own food with you, and make sure you gas up before you leave Wall or Kadoka depending on which way you come. The motel is one mile from the entrance so we ate our home-brought dinner looking out over one of the many beautiful views in the park. We got up at 4:30am and hit sunrise at the door / notch overlook - you can't do that unless you are right there. It was one of the highlights of our trip. We will stay here again. Just understand it's a bit spartan and there is not much in the way of stores or restaurants nearby.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just outside of Badlands National Park, Badlands Inn is a perfect place to end a visit to the national park. It is really a two story motel. There are evening ranger tours close by making the hotel room convenient. The room was very basic, fake hardwood floors with a window air conditioning unit and screened windows. The room was clean, comfortable beds, microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator. A splurge are the organic based soaps, shampoo. You can see the rock formations from your window. 7 AM offers a complimentary self serve breakfast of cereal, pastries, waffle, hard boiled eggs. I found the orange juice frozen and the melon in the fruit salad was old.

Cons: If you are on the second floor, you will have to be able to climb stairs. Also, the Badlands are filled with mosquitoes so don't prop your door open for even a minute or you will need to kill the bugs before you sleep. No place for dinner.

Traveler hint - if you are coming to the Badlands, go to Wall, exit 110 first, drive the scenic byway and have dinner in the Cedar Pass lodge. You will end the trip in Interior at the hotel.

Room Tip: Keep the doors closed so the bugs don't fly in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This Inn is associated with the Cedar Pass Lodge in the Badlands National Park. It is located about a mile from the lodge just outside of the park. Other than a comfortable room and a nice continental breakfast no other services are provided at the Inn. When we arrived at the appointed check in time of 5:00pm we had to wait for 45 minutes because the rooms were not ready - not all staff reported for work that day so they were short handed.
When we went to the restaurant at the Lodge for dinner we had to wait again, not because all tables were full but they had a shortage of staff. When we were finally able to order they were out of some food items, basics like chicken were not available. In short I would recommend staying in Wall which has several hotels and a selection of restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelnguy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We came in after the office closed and the lady who was in charge was really great about it! The rooms are nothing to write home about but they are clean and comfortable! The breakfast was pretty good for a free hotel breakfast. Would definitely recommend and stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Maybe my expectations were low, but when I opened the door to our room it was very nice! Hardwood-type floors, very clean, updated, beds and linens high quality. We were only there one night but it was a good experience. One annoyance for me b/c I like to sleep in very dark rooms: the window in the back was only frosted glass, I would have like a shade or at least blinds- too much light. One other annoyance: a barking dog waking me up at 6:00 am….that's what you get when hotels accept pets I guess. Anyway, the breakfast was oatmeal, waffles, fruit, hard boiled eggs, toast, pastries.. and the lady in the office was very courteous. Every room facing the mountains. :) No elevator, just a two story motel style with steps, so if you need a room on the first floor you should mention it to them when you book. This place is above average I'd say for this level of hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have mountain views, but if you need to avoid stairs ask for first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric1541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Badlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badlands Inn

Address: I-90 Exit 131 Highway 377, Interior, SD 57750-0103
Region: United States > South Dakota > Interior
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Interior
Hotel Class:2 star — Badlands Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our 20 rooms has a magnificent view of the Badlands. You will rest well in our double queen rooms with upgraded high thread count linens/with bamboo towels (the linens use less energy to dry and are made with long bamboo fibers making them last longer than cotton towels), free WiFi, AC/Heat, cable TV, Energy Star Microwave & Mini refrigerator, Energy Star Coffee Maker with organic and shade grown coffee and complimentary breakfast in the lobby. There is an evening happy hour of local wine tasting in the lobby of the Inn for our guests. Night Skies in the Badlands are particularly dark and we encourage you to experience the FREE Ranger led tours in the amphitheater located inside the Park, less than a mile away. We are an Environmentally Friendly Inn and encourage recycling, plus we are a 100% non-smoking property and welcome pets. (There is a $10/night additional fee per pet). Children 15 years and younger stay free in same room with adult. We are the closest lodging to Badlands National Park (an easy walk from the Interior entrance) and only 9 miles from I-90 at Exit 131 and the Minute Man National Missile Monument. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Badlands Hotel Interior
Badlands Inn Interior, South Dakota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing