We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to Badlands NP”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Interior
Italia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very close to Badlands NP”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I chose this motel because I wanted to stay as close as possible to the park without spending too much, and it was even better than i expected. The motel is 5 minutes to the park's entrance and it has everything we usually look for when travelling: comfortable beds and clean bathroom. We did't have breakfast there because we chose to go hiking at sunrise.
I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penelope72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    68
    57
    14
    10
See reviews for
84
61
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We had hoped to stay in the cabins in the Badlands but it was booked. Having driven from Nebraska and the day turning to night, we tried the Host Inn.
A pleasant surprise awaited us. (I have to admit that when we drove by I said, "no way"). Was I wrong. The room albeit it small was freshly painted, clean and roomy. Bed was comfortable, heat was good and the shower was great.
Don't judge a good by it's cover. That is what I learned once again.
Owners were friendly and accommodating too.
Would stay here again!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank outdoorgirlnj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Had a nice long pull through site to accommodate our 40 ft motor home, with towed car AND trailer with ATV. We stayed three nights with full hookups at a very reasonable price with Good Chad discount applied. Jesse & Alice have been running this business for 42 years, and were very warm, & friendly as we checked in with two other couples, also in RV's. It's not a fancy place but we enjoyed our stay here & being able to visit the Badlands, Wall, & the Minuteman Missile silo, etc.
We did notice the owner's fairly large, yet friendly, dark collie type dog had free reign of the complex. He loved to play ball if you were so inclined, but with free reign to roam, he often left some unwanted gifts in your site (or on top of our friend's electric & water hose YUCK!)
Cannot comment on the hotel portion, but it did appear they were doing some remodeling. We saw a number of cars staying overnight.
Since it was after Labor day the pool was closed, but looked like it would be enjoyable when in the right season.

Room Tip: Sorry, stayed in the campground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DnL_Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed in the little strip motel on the property. Dated, somewhat. But very clean, cold a.c. good wifi and decent cell phone reception. This area of the Badlands is NOT well developed. If you're looking for a luxury hotel keep driving towards the Black Hills. You want a decently priced clean room with friendly and helpful hosts (kudos to Larry who gave me a lot of info of what to do and where to go) with an indescribably beautiful view , then this is for you. Five stars for exactly what it is and where it's at.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

If you are looking for the Hyatt you might as well drive on by. If you are looking for a clean place to stay with plenty of simple amenities then this place will work for you. It's not glittery its not fancy but the price is right and the setting is wonderful. The swimming pool was clean the office help was friendly and the bath house was well kept with HOT water! The breakfast was simple and inexpensive. My family was satisfied!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Michael, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

With this motel you're paying for the location: just about as close as you're going to get to being in the Badlands scenic loop. The Budget Host is run by very nice people and the rooms are clean but small and the furnishings are extremely dated. Being out of fashion may not be important, but the bed was perhaps the worst I've ever been in. It sagged like a bathtub. Our intention was just to have a place to sleep in the scenic loop region, so fancy wasn't necessary. Unfortunately, I didn't get much sleep either due to the very poor bed. The bathroom was, again, clean, but the fixtures are quite old and the door would only shut with great force. There are no restaurants close by, so unless you bring food, you have only the skimpy meals provided by the pleasant staff. Breakfast is not included in the price. I probably wouldn't stay there again, but the location would make it tempting.

Room Tip: You might try requesting for room with a newer mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rent-a-dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Interior hotels

Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I found the location of this hotel is simply great - this is right at the heart of Badlands National Park. Lot of beautiful scenes from hotel and also the national park official entry is just 5 mins from the hotel.

The hotel was basic but clean, peaceful and fulfilled all our need. It was reasonably priced, the staff was helpful - they provided extra microwave oven as per our request. Office hr is upto 8 PM, we have done after hour check in by ourselves as after office hr nobody is available to take you to room. Just room will be open with keys inside. This process scared us but finally everything went pretty well.

If you like to stay inside wild nature this place is perfect with basic facilities but if you want all urban facilities this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Book here only if you are a nature lover
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Interior
22.2 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
23.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
22.2 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
266 reviews
22.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
170 reviews
22.1 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#9 of 11 in Wall
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badlands Interior Motel and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badlands Interior Motel and Campground

Property: Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Address: 900 Sd Highway 377, Interior, SD 57750-7031 (Formerly Badlands Budget Host Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Interior
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Interior
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Badlands Interior Motel and Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel & campground 1 mile south of Badlands National Park. Store & restaurant serving breakfast 7-9 daily. Swimming pool and close to small western town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Badlands Interior Motel and Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badlands Budget Host Hotel Interior
Badlands Interior Motel And Campground South Dakota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing