We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping cabin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Interior
Plattsmouth, Nebraska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Camping cabin”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My family of 5 (3 kids) really enjoyed the stay on this vacation to the Badlands. This site is approx. 1 mile from the national park entrance. The cozy camping cabin is simple enough to feel like tent camping with the added comfort of a roof and padded beds. Windows opened to let in a nice breeze. There's optional AC. There is a grill, fire ring and patio chairs just outside. You feel nicely secluded. Can't beat the price. The view of the badlands mountains is awesome. There's a simple playground on site that my kids loved. The owners were very nice and helpful. The onsite store offered everything we needed. Note: cabins are not luxurious and you must walk to nice bathrooms/showers. Another option is the onsite motel rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    64
    55
    13
    9
See reviews for
77
58
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jackson
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

While the room does not have TV we were not there to watch TV. If you are looking for a nice place to stay in the Badlands you can't go wrong here. The price was reasonable and the rooms were clean. The new owners are very friendly and helpful. I can't rate their restaurant as they had just opened for the season and the restaurant was not up and running. The restaurant in the park though was very nice.

Room Tip: If you want Wifi get a room over the office and store.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The room I shared with my mom for one night was adequate. We were winging it on a road trip and thought just rolling into town sounded fun. It was fun, but the room was not. No tv, no radio, and only a very spooky restaurant option to eat at for dinner if you want a meal later in the evening. We walked over to the town next to the motel in the morning, and an unleashed dog acted all nuts when we got 3 blocks from the restaurant. Really scary. Mad dog alerted someone that there was a customer coming, and told doggie "alright!". Huh? We were kind of worried about our lower limbs at this point and walked back to motel and ate some power bars before checking out,

Ok, back to the room. Well, it was clean enuf. Grandma/yard sale furnishings at best. But the no -tv thing is what killed me. Dang, I would pay more if I had to in order to get the darn news in our room. Door to outside was trippy...Barely locked. Reminded me of NO COUNTRY FOR OLD MEN, when you could see someone's ( a murderous psycho's) boots under the door. We ended up propping the odd kitchen/office chair under it in order to secure it for the night.

Wouldn't go back, but it won't kill ya if you stay here. It's a night out of the elements. With a shower and a town of 70 next door with meanie dog.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meowlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I chose this motel because I wanted to stay as close as possible to the park without spending too much, and it was even better than i expected. The motel is 5 minutes to the park's entrance and it has everything we usually look for when travelling: comfortable beds and clean bathroom. We did't have breakfast there because we chose to go hiking at sunrise.
I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penelope72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
203 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We had hoped to stay in the cabins in the Badlands but it was booked. Having driven from Nebraska and the day turning to night, we tried the Host Inn.
A pleasant surprise awaited us. (I have to admit that when we drove by I said, "no way"). Was I wrong. The room albeit it small was freshly painted, clean and roomy. Bed was comfortable, heat was good and the shower was great.
Don't judge a good by it's cover. That is what I learned once again.
Owners were friendly and accommodating too.
Would stay here again!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank outdoorgirlnj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Had a nice long pull through site to accommodate our 40 ft motor home, with towed car AND trailer with ATV. We stayed three nights with full hookups at a very reasonable price with Good Chad discount applied. Jesse & Alice have been running this business for 42 years, and were very warm, & friendly as we checked in with two other couples, also in RV's. It's not a fancy place but we enjoyed our stay here & being able to visit the Badlands, Wall, & the Minuteman Missile silo, etc.
We did notice the owner's fairly large, yet friendly, dark collie type dog had free reign of the complex. He loved to play ball if you were so inclined, but with free reign to roam, he often left some unwanted gifts in your site (or on top of our friend's electric & water hose YUCK!)
Cannot comment on the hotel portion, but it did appear they were doing some remodeling. We saw a number of cars staying overnight.
Since it was after Labor day the pool was closed, but looked like it would be enjoyable when in the right season.

Room Tip: Sorry, stayed in the campground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DnL_Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed in the little strip motel on the property. Dated, somewhat. But very clean, cold a.c. good wifi and decent cell phone reception. This area of the Badlands is NOT well developed. If you're looking for a luxury hotel keep driving towards the Black Hills. You want a decently priced clean room with friendly and helpful hosts (kudos to Larry who gave me a lot of info of what to do and where to go) with an indescribably beautiful view , then this is for you. Five stars for exactly what it is and where it's at.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Interior
22.2 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
23.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
22.3 mi away
Super 8 Wall
Super 8 Wall
#4 of 11 in Wall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
22.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
22.1 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badlands Interior Motel and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badlands Interior Motel and Campground

Property: Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Address: 900 Sd Highway 377, Interior, SD 57750-7031 (Formerly Badlands Budget Host Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Interior
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Interior
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Badlands Interior Motel and Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel & campground 1 mile south of Badlands National Park. Store & restaurant serving breakfast 7-9 daily. Swimming pool and close to small western town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Badlands Interior Motel and Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badlands Budget Host Hotel Interior
Badlands Interior Motel And Campground South Dakota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing