We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding *Campsite* location and decent amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Interior
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding *Campsite* location and decent amenities”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We came here because the campground in the national park was full. This is only a couple of miles from the national park campground but is less crowded and has argueably better views and tent camping environment for less money. Plus hot showers are available. The setting is beautiful and wind/ sun shelter structures are available if you wish to utilize them. A magnificent place to watch the sun set and the sun rise and the stars in the clear sky at night. Panoramic views of the badlands from the end sites.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    69
    57
    14
    10
See reviews for
85
61
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

The bad:
- carpet had not been vacuumed prior to us checking in. Sunflower seeds all over floor.
- no TV. Did not know this prior to booking, just assumed there would be one. Not a big deal though.
- housekeeping never made our beds or vacuumed. Just changed garbage and towels. Sunflower seeds still there 3 days later when we checked out.
- every morning I woke up with about 30 tiny bites all over my body. By the end if our 3 days I was covered. We had 5 people staying in the room and I am the only one who had this so I'm not sure what it was.
- all u can eat pancakes are gross. We only ate them once because of that. My 11 year old son said it tasted like mush in his mouth.
- 35-40 minutes away from Wall- closest place to eat. This was definitely a pain and waste of gas. There are 2 places to eat in the Badlands. One was a bar that we tried and was no good. The second was way to expensive.
- washer sounds like its going to take off and fly when you use it.
- had a/c on high the whole time and room was only slightly cool.
- waaaaaaaay to far from anything if you plan on eating or seeing more than the Badlands.

The good:
- the older man, new owner, is very kind. Hopefully some things will change once he gets a hold of his new business.
- perfect location if your ONLY visiting the Badlands.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachskull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Not alot to chose from here. This motel/campground is very accomidating. Laundry, oldwr decent rooms and hot food. Its at the gate id Badlands National Park.. NoTV but didnt need one! Ready to sleep. Coming back next year!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, British Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel way back for our summer vacation based on Trip Advisor. I wasn't prepared for how backwoods this place is. No TV is one thing and fine, but no phone? Especially when wifi sucks? The only place I had a decent signal is outside in sight of the office. As others have mentioned in their reviews there was a huge problem with flies. Also the whole phone thing was a problem cause I received a phone call from home and found a note stuck to the door when we got back from photographing the sunset the having dinner. This was after 9 but the office was closed so I couldn't find out any details. The beds are probably 5 or more years old. The carpet at least 10. No updates in the room we had. We stayed at an America's Best Inn on our trip in Mitchell SD for way cheaper. This place is very over priced and not worth it as fast as the hotel goes. We didn't bother to eat their breakfast but went into Wall (20 or so miles). That's where I'd recommend to stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank momofjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Interior hotels

New York
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Badlands is an area where not many motels are on offer. This little one served the purpose of bed and bath in a great location near the amazing rock formations and entrance to the park. Attractively painted outside with chairs on the porch and flowers in planters, this is a motel out of an older era and is very basic. AC worked, beds were decent, the room was clean enough, and the plumbing worked. The budget price helps. The office is located in a log cabin-like building where breakfast is served. It offers a feast of "wagon train" sourdough pancakes for a reasonable price, but breakfast is served with paper and plastic. Very weak internet connection. No TV, no hairdryer. It is lovely to be able to sit out on the porch in front of the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naperville
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is our second trip to the Badlands and our second stay at this hotel. The price is good, rooms large, and beds comfortable. The hotel is very convenient to the Badlands. We were able to hike, then go back to the hotel to shower, rest, and head back out to eat at Cedar Pass Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnneNaperville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We chose this for camping because we needed a fire pit for cooking and camp grounds within the park are not allowed fires. It is actually outside the park, if you come from Minnesota you pay to go into the park then leave again. The site is about 1 mile from the park but the views are so good you feel that you are in the park anyway. We chose tent spot furthest right hand side at the back. Really quiet, away from RV generators, fab views and the horses come down to say hello. We wish we had stayed for breakfast instead of going to the gift store in the park. It was mediocre and overpriced at best. Won't do that again!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lax5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Interior
22.2 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
23.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
22.2 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
266 reviews
22.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
170 reviews
22.1 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#9 of 11 in Wall
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badlands Interior Motel and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badlands Interior Motel and Campground

Property: Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Address: 900 Sd Highway 377, Interior, SD 57750-7031 (Formerly Badlands Budget Host Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Interior
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Interior
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Badlands Interior Motel and Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel & campground 1 mile south of Badlands National Park. Store & restaurant serving breakfast 7-9 daily. Swimming pool and close to small western town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Badlands Interior Motel and Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badlands Budget Host Hotel Interior
Badlands Interior Motel And Campground South Dakota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing