We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great time”

Bandelier National Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
US$140.00*
and up
Bandelier National Monument from Santa Fe
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Los Alamos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bandelier National Monument is 50 square miles of the Pajarito Plateau, on the slopes of the Jemez Volcanic field in the Jemez Mountains. Over 70% of the Monument is Wilderness, with over 1 mile elevation change, from about 5000' along the Rio Grande to over 10,000' at the rim of the Valles Caldera, providing for a wide range of life zones and wildlife habitat. There are only 3 miles of road, but over 70 miles of hiking trails. The Monument, founded in 1916, protects Ancestral Pueblo archeological sites, a beautiful landscape, and the country's largest Civilian Conservation Corps National Landmark District.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Waterville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Vey interesting place. Must wear decent shoes as you walk quite a bit. I reaaly enjoyed walking around and going in the cliff dwellings. Only fee was parking $12.00

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,179
    260
    28
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Walk Back in Time”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you have any interest in the history of the Anasazi people and their culture this is a must see. You will have to walk, 1 -2 miles depending on how much you want to see, but it is worth it. You will see the remnants of a civilization that thrived 600 - 700 years ago. Cliff dwellings, kivas, petroglyphs are just a few of the things you will see there. You can climb into some of the cliff dwellings, via a ladder, to get the feel of how these people lived. If there in the summer, take rain gear. I took my grandsons, 12 and 14, and they loved it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnolia, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Hike”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The scenic drive to get there is beautiful with the mountains and canyons. We picked up maps and informational brochures at the Visitor's Center. We visited the ancient pueblo sites and cliff dwellings. Our teenagers went a lot further than we did and spent hours exploring the more difficult trails to navigate. The area is rich in history, but also has interesting and beautiful geographical and geological sites.
There are many miles of hiking trails with varying degrees of difficulty. Part of the Main Loop is wheelchair accessible. It seems the majority of the trails require you to be in good physical condition.
Caution: Parking is limited. We arrived before 8 a.m. in our private vehicle. However, if you plan on going between 9 a.m. and 3 p.m., you are required to take a shuttle from White Rock. The shuttle is free; you only pay the park entrance fee. We only found out about the shuttle, because the first day we had planned to go, it was early afternoon and we were told we couldn't drive our own vehicle. Then we decided to come back early the next morning.
Don't forget water, hiking shoes and your camera. Binoculars would be good to take along, also. If you're planning on staying several hours, bring snacks.
We enjoyed the experience so much, we plan to go back again and stay at one of the campsites.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom23TeenBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“LOVED our visit!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The girls especially liked climbing the ladders to go inside the cliff dwellings. We went on the long trail and were able to explore many of the historical cliff dwellings. The kids also participated in the Jr. Ranger program here that was diversified for the kids by grade levels. The questions and activities in the books were age appropriate and helped the girls gain a better understanding and appreciation for the Monument!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Even on a cold day, this place was magnificent!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Traveled through Santa Fe last Thanksgiving week on the way to Colorado. Stayed 2 nights and drove up one afternoon to Bandelier. What a wonderful place! Visitors should be in fairly good shape , as the walk from the visitor's center to the ruins is a hike. Visitors can climb up to the cliff dwellings carved into the rock...no stairs mind you...you have to climb ladders to reach them AFTER you use the stairs that take you to the face of the cliffs. We climbed to the highest point and were rewarded with an eagle's eye view of the layout of the village that had been there for hundreds of years. This is a National Park that is well maintained and offers on-site park rangers, maps, restroom facilities and great spots to take a picnic. Take plenty of water, sunscreen and a good camera...well worth your time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bandelier National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Bandelier National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing