We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newer Property with Issues & Average to Below Average Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Alamos Entrada Park
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Los Alamos
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed in a King room that turned out to be handicap accessible; though not needed for us, we kept it. The property is relatively new (built within ~ the last 4 years), yet we discovered flaws in security, workmanship, maintenance, & service that were note-worthy. Here is the list:
1. Front desk agent left desk unattended and two stacks of guest hotel folios (receipts) on the front desk right next to a sign that says they are away and to dial 401 for assistance. Were I being criminal, I could have walked out the door with any of them, seen who was there, gotten their booking addresses, seen their bills, noted their room numbers and what was charged, how long they stayed--a total lapse in security. I shared this event with the hotel desk staff.
2. In our room were several issues in bath mostly, and a few in room.
a. Bath: there was a vent over the toilet, but no operable fan.
b. Bath: the sink center-set faucet was off its mount.
c. Bath: the tub spout was loose and spun around; caulking was already broken * needs repair.
d. Bath: tub stopper did not function & removed even while hotel staff said it was not supposed to remove. Had to purchase a stopper at a local store to take a bath. No adjustments to bill offered.
e. Bath: in particular for a handicap accessible room, the shower head is located ~7 feet off the floor, requiring people who cannot reach that high to climb for adjustments to spray pattern and direction of water flow. Recommended slide-rail hand-showers.
f. Bath: the shower curtain did not secure to the shower wall at grab bar location between the faucet handle and shower head, and water sprayed onto floor, creating a mini-flood, time sopping up, and soaking wet towels for housekeeping to face.
g. Bath: the hot water was not hot; at 9A it was warm with the handle set to the hottest position. If you expect a little more than warm for bathing, you will be disappointed.
h. Bath: space is available on wall behind door and next to shower for robe/towel hooks, yet none are there, and one is found across the room, between the toilet & sink. This requires travel and navigation across the room from the shower and around the toilet to get to what's on the hook. Recommended adding hook(s) next to shower.
i. Room: one of the bedside table lamps did not work. Upon close inspection, the unit was unplugged from the wall. Attempted to plug in, and didn't work. Front desk said that is because the outlets have a protection mechanism on them that is difficult to operate, but can be done with force. Recommended housekeeping ensure room was fully ready prior to arrival.
j: Room: the curtains are located directly over the air handling unit. The result is that when using a/c or heat, the air blows behind the curtains and into the window sill area rather than into the room. The workaround is to have the curtains open or, since they have some weight in them, sit them up onto the sill and out of the vent-flow area.
k: Room: the wall switches at entry are confusing. 2 are on the wall next to the door as usual, and one marked "Master Switch" was on the wall a foot away. We turned the two next to door and nothing happened; then we tried the master on the next wall since it was off. Then we saw an alarm light go off; so we turned all off except the master and started again. Great fun. Took overnight to learn that 1 of the 2 switches at the door is for an alarm called a "sympathy" system that is presumably for calling for help. What would have made a difference was to have this switch marked, so alarms would not be going off at the front desk unless actually help was requested.
3. Worthy of a submission to the Tonight Show with Jay Leno, someone removed letters from a notice on the door to the Pool. It would otherwise say, "No food or glass in pool area. No exceptions!!!" but actually says, "No food or a s s in pool area. No exceptions." This will be worth a chuckle, perhaps, and at least a few conversations if you are or have a young person along. I shared this with the hotel front desk staff, and they said they were aware but did not have a plan for making repairs on the message.

I also shared most of these issues with the front desk and they said they would communicate them to the manager. They also said the manager was not there and had called to say she would not be coming in that day. Sounded like flaky management.

On the positive side, the room was spacious and quiet, had nicely appointed furnishings, and breakfast was pleasant and fulfilling for typical hotel breakfasts. But be prepared for the housekeeping staff to show up to start their morning shift and hit the breakfast buffet before they work, and mope around as a gang in the dining area like children resisting going to school, gossiping in Spanish. And if you happen to walk down the hallway that has the laundry room, they'll likely all be in there together with the door propped open, talking loudly--yes this actually happened--as if we all could join in, fold towels, and catch up on the latest "news" of northern New Mexico.

In short, some hits and some big misses that would cause me to think twice about staying at this property again until they bring the level of maintenance, workable features, and service up. And certainly not worth $120, $115, or even $87 a night. At least this time they had a phone at the front desk with a note to call for help when the desk attendant was away, and help came immediately. Last time I was at this hotel, there was no such way to reach anyone, and a person could stand for a long while at the front desk, call into a back room and get no service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Alamos Entrada Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Mike B,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Your experience is definitely not reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with. As such, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future improvements where possible. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

Helpful friendly staff, housekeeper cleaned our room before noon, nice breakfast, daily papers, well maintained (it is new)
Best of all were the beautiful sunrises over the mountains each morning. I would choose this lodging on our next rip to Los Alamos.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Let me begin by saying that I generally do no stay at Holiday Inns of any kind. Being here in Los Alamos there are not many choices for hotels so I decided to take a chance. I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is nice and clean and modern. The room was nice and well taken care of. The staff was courteous and responsive to any request. The breakfast was typical "freebie" type breakfast. More than continental but not all that impressive. The lady taking care of it was very nice and did a very good job stocking and taking care of the guests. Overall, I can say that if I am back in Los Alamos I will most likely stay here. One word of advice, ask for a room on the back side of the hotel as the noise from the road out front can be a little loud but not bad.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside of the hotel to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Traveled with 6 ladies for a family get together and this was the only place that served all our needs. It is about 3 miles from the heart of downtown Los Alamos, and about 10 miles to White Rock,NM. There are no other nearby shops or restaurants so you will have to drive to get food, besides breakfast. They offer a nice breakfast, and although it doesn't change much day to day, it has enough variety to mix things up if you need to. We also used the pool and hot tub, which were nice. There's a canyon trail across the road that we also hiked briefly and it's a nice, scenic walk which was nice after a long day of travel. The rooms are plenty big and very clean. We also found the beds and pillows to be very comfortable, and they offer a firm and soft pillow, which I always appreciate. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, quick to recommend places to eat, etc. Enjoyed our stay there and would definitely go back, if in the area.
One word of caution... by the time we got into the hotel on a Friday night and wanted something to eat, we found that every place was closed (on a Friday night!) or had a long wait. We ended up eating at the local Mcdonalds (awful) and they were shooing us out at 9:30.
We did eat at the Pajarito Brew Pub and Grill one night - fabulous food and great portions for the price, along with a huge array of beer and wine choices.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nbstlouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

Los Alamos has few lodging options; this happens to be the nicest option. The hotel is clean and modern, but with few frills. It offers free Wi-Fi and breakfast. The hotel is east of town, so you will need to drive somewhere for dinners.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awfountain3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Alamos Entrada Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear awfountain3,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The hotel was new and nice. The staff was very accomidating with a late check out for us. The breakfast was good and the pancake maker was a hit. Would definitely recommend this hotel even if it was a little pricey for the area

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skgcdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

the door to the room slams hard, the sink faucet dripped, the fan in the bathroom didn't work, and I heard that the hard-boiled eggs at breakfast were shriveled. One of the front desk people was dressed very sloppily, and one didn't seem to care about our complaints. the landscaping is not tended, and the hotel is only a year or so old.

on the other hand, they gave us a good rate because we weren't able to drive home due to state rd 4 being closed, and they did let us use the employee refrigerator to store food. the rooms were clean, though I din't care for the pillows either.

The walls seem rather thin...I could easily hear people talking at 2 AM.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Alamos Entrada Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear Maggie S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced and for the bathroom conditions that did not meet your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments about the sink and the door have been documented and appropriate action will be taken. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Alamos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Alamos Entrada Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Alamos Entrada Park

Address: 60 Entrada, Los Alamos, NM 87544-3346
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Los Alamos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Los Alamos
Price Range: £67 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Alamos Entrada Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Alamos Entrada Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Los Alamos Entrada Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing