We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3.5 Stars for good food and open all day”

Pajarito Brewpub and Grill
Ranked #7 of 46 Restaurants in Los Alamos
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
317 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“3.5 Stars for good food and open all day”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Trip advisor scaling is so weird….3 for average and 4 for very good. Too big of a jump This place is really about 3.5 on that scale.

After a great hike at Bandalier National Monument (where you must go), we wanted a late lunch. We arrived in Los Alamos and 2:30 and found our first two choices to be closed. BTW, the Blue Window Bistro was one of those spots and it looked like it had a lot of potential. It certainly had a great atmosphere. And many of the restaurants in Los Alamos seem to be closed from 230ish to 5ish.

So off to Pajarito we went. It is a Brew Pub and does offer many beers on tap. Our group had Alaskan Ale and loved it. The service was a mixed bag…very nice that she let me taste three wines before choosing but very slow given that the place was empty at 2:45.

The food was good to very good. And what is impressive is that they offer the traditional pub food but much more. The two females in our group had a quinoa salad. We loved that it was offered in two sizes and found the small to be plenty for one women as a main dish. It was really delicious. As for the men in our group, one had the chicken wings and was quite happy. They offer this in 6 piece and 12. He got 12 which was too much. We recommend the 6 piece for one person. He really enjoyed the jicama as a side. The other guy got a burger that included some duck breast and peach ketchup. Now this guy is a pretty picky European and he just loved it.

We will probably never be back to Los Alamos and if we were, I think we would try Blue Window Bistro. That being said, this place hit the spot.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank austinjjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    75
    30
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Alamos, New Mexico
1 review
“Service sucks almost as much as food”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Too bad they don't know how to run a bar/restaurant came in the first time and sat down and waited and waited and waited and left. Heard one staff member say "whatever" when they realized I was leaving. Friends wanted to meet there later so we went and got crap service and mediocre food . Sad

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fooddude302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My husband had the french dip and I had the fish and chips. great dinner! We did not wait long even though there was a good sized crowd.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank herbiethecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sardinia, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Slacking off after brilliant opening”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The food is inconsistent, going from good to just okay, but since their opening, chefs and servers have left and the food has become lower quality. This place is great if you are feeling rowdy, but terrible for families or people wanting conversation. Prices are too high to compensate for irritable servers and slow delivery. Long wait for seating of more than two at the bar. I have eaten/drunk there many times, but now don't bother to go there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GortL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great beer selection, good food and annoying management”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I've visited this restaurant several times with my wife and three year old son. The beer selection is great, and the expensive appetizers that we sampled were somewhat tasty. The issue I have with this place is that although I realize it is a pub, it is not a child friendly place to go for a family outing. I felt like the management was constantly hovering over us making sure that we didn't make a mess at our table. Also, the wait staff will give you a dirty look if you just order drinks and a lite snack without ordering a full dinner. To be completely honest, the food here is way too expensive, and it is tempting to stick with the lite snacks and appetizers instead of paying through the nose.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FREEDRACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pajarito Brewpub and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Pajarito Brewpub and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing