We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Several good meals here”

Pajarito Brewpub and Grill
Ranked #6 of 46 Restaurants in Los Alamos
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Greenfield, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Several good meals here”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Los Alamos has little to choose from in restaurants, and the Pajarito Brewpub is a welcome addition. They have an amazing collection of beer on tap for such a location. The menu has enough variety that we enjoyed 3 meals there in a 5-day visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CZTHOMPSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    76
    32
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Trying Hard And Almost Right”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Can't comment about the beer aspect -- didn't have any. The place is reasonably set up for a pubby atmosphere and the food is pretty good. They do try to improve or at least improvise on standard Brit Pub fare and that is always a mistake. Perhaps they'll figure that out. It's fine to embellish by adding nonstandard items, but leave the basics alone or it's not a pub.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the better Los Alamos restaurants”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Pros: A better-than-average beer selection. The food is basic pub fare, and the quality is consistently good. The LANL burger is delicious, the fries are very good, as are most menu items. I have not been impressed with the "Chicken Fried Steak", however. The Creme Brulee is an outstanding dessert.

Cons: Almost always understaffed as far as the wait staff is concerned. The menu selections keep shrinking (that is, the number of selections decreases). One of the owners is almost always on site; most of the owners are pleasant, although one can be a bit harsh, especially if you are enjoying your beers at too leisurely a pace. It is a loud bar, and when they have music conversation is difficult.

Verdict: We keep going back, but we never go when we are in a hurry (due to the understaffing noted above). Long waits for tables on Thursdays and Fridays.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Waffles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“3.5 Stars for good food and open all day”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Trip advisor scaling is so weird….3 for average and 4 for very good. Too big of a jump This place is really about 3.5 on that scale.

After a great hike at Bandalier National Monument (where you must go), we wanted a late lunch. We arrived in Los Alamos and 2:30 and found our first two choices to be closed. BTW, the Blue Window Bistro was one of those spots and it looked like it had a lot of potential. It certainly had a great atmosphere. And many of the restaurants in Los Alamos seem to be closed from 230ish to 5ish.

So off to Pajarito we went. It is a Brew Pub and does offer many beers on tap. Our group had Alaskan Ale and loved it. The service was a mixed bag…very nice that she let me taste three wines before choosing but very slow given that the place was empty at 2:45.

The food was good to very good. And what is impressive is that they offer the traditional pub food but much more. The two females in our group had a quinoa salad. We loved that it was offered in two sizes and found the small to be plenty for one women as a main dish. It was really delicious. As for the men in our group, one had the chicken wings and was quite happy. They offer this in 6 piece and 12. He got 12 which was too much. We recommend the 6 piece for one person. He really enjoyed the jicama as a side. The other guy got a burger that included some duck breast and peach ketchup. Now this guy is a pretty picky European and he just loved it.

We will probably never be back to Los Alamos and if we were, I think we would try Blue Window Bistro. That being said, this place hit the spot.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank austinjjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamos, New Mexico
1 review
“Service sucks almost as much as food”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Too bad they don't know how to run a bar/restaurant came in the first time and sat down and waited and waited and waited and left. Heard one staff member say "whatever" when they realized I was leaving. Friends wanted to meet there later so we went and got crap service and mediocre food . Sad

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fooddude302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pajarito Brewpub and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Pajarito Brewpub and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing