We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty and unclean”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Chili Works

Chili Works
Ranked #5 of 46 Restaurants in Los Alamos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Los Alamos, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dirty and unclean”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Chili Works has to be by far the most unlcean little hole in the wall I've been to. For years this establishment has been dirty and unclean. The workers are not sanitary and the little building from the time you walk in to looking back into the kitchen you would think you were eating on the range at a chuckwagon. Well I'm thinking that the chuckwagon would probably be cleaner. I'm not just saying this on two occasions I've had terrible experiences with this restaurant. First of all, last year I got a BRC "brick" or bacon red cheese breakfast burrito and found a bitten finger nail in my burrito. This year after giving it some thought and thinking well they should have cleaned up their act by now. I'd give it another chance and today. The cook was outside showing his bike off then went inside and proceeded to make the burrito I had just ordered without changing his gloves. I pointed this out and they made me a new burrito but still gave me the old one while I watched! Can you believe this?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank digital7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    21
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
124 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Best burritos in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

A local favorite, this little building produces the best burritos in town at a surprising speed. The green is hot and the red is smokey to perfection. They offer nothing but great food and a small patio, but that's all you need to have the best burritos around.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stopped here for breakfast on the recommendation of a local when I mentioned that I was craving huevos rancheros for breakfast. Opens by 6 am, not much to look at but my breakfast was wonderful. Cute little outdoor patio to enjoy your food at. Located right next door to Sonic. Closes just after lunch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sbfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Eat here and you won't be hungry for at least two days.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

I had my first Chili Works breakfast experience this week. I love this place first of all for its awesome character, and then for the quick service and fresh ingredients! My colleagues and I ordered breakfast burritos. Two-thumbs up from all...I guess the green chilis were especially warm. If I had to do it again, I would order my breakfast burrito with eggs, cheese, tomatoes, maybe black beans, red chilis, and leave out the hash brown potatoes. Potatoes must be cheap because they featured much too prominently in my burrito. Carbs wrapped in carbs? No thanks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamos, NM
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Burritos in Los Alamos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Chili Works never lets me down. Food is prepared in the blink of an eye, fair priced, and the best tasting in town!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank skiloranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chili Works also viewed

 

Been to Chili Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing