We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manhattan Project Restaurant - CLOSED

Manhattan Project Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Manhattan Project is a very good restaurant. I went there and a three piece chicken nuggets and the homeade sauce was very, very good. And the chucken was not bad, either.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MJB323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for casual dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

A friend and I went to the restaurant for a quick bite to eat around 6:30PM on a Friday. A waitress came within 2 minutes, and we ordered a few minutes later. Both meals arrived in the expected wait time. The food was excellent. It was hot, tasty, and of good quality. The price was very reasonable. Although there were several other tables around us, we had no trouble hearing each other. There were many people there enjoying their dinner. We will definitely be going back there .

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karyl Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Glad to see the Hill Diner Menu!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We went to the Manhattan Project for the first time since it's changed hands, and I was glad to see some of the Hill Diner Menu and about the same prices. I ordered the burger and it was a Hill Diner burger, and pretty good. This space has had problems in the past -- when it was the Central Avenue Grill they had problems getting you hot foot, and when it was the Dixie Chick everything was overpriced. In this incarnation, I'm pleased to say, the food was hot, the service was good, and the prices were right. Well done. Also, there's a bar in the back with a big screen for the sports, but it was not obtrusive.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank habhold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent find in Los Alamos!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were walking around Los Alamos waiting for the Bradbury museum to open and noticed the menu posted outside this restaurant. They have an excellent selection of food to choose from at reasonable prices. We were promptly seated and waited on and there is plenty of room inside. My girlfriend and I both decided on ordering the lamb burger and it was one of the best burgers I have had. The vegetables on the side were plentiful and super-fresh! I wouldn't hesitate to make this your option for lunch if you're in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cold417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very good, new restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Manhatten Project Restaurant occupies the location of the former Dixie Girl across from the post office in Los Alamos. This location was also previously occupied by the Central Avenue Grill. An interesting feature of this restaurant is the movable garage door windows that face Central Avenue to provide an al fresco-like dining experience when they are raised. It has a very extensive menu for lunch and dinner with prices that are comparable to other family style restaurants in Los Alamos. Patrons seemed to be a little younger than at other LA restaurants.

We ate lunch there for the first time this week. My lower calorie turkey burger with green chile on a pretzel bun was delicious and hefty enough that I had yummy leftovers for lunch the next day. My not-so-low calorie green chile-cheeze fries were also quite tasty. My friends split a sandwich of thinly sliced prime rib that came with a cup of au jus for dipping and a side of the fries. They said it was very good and cleaned their plates.

We got there right in the middle of the busy part of lunch hour, so service was a little slow, but attentive and polite. This restaurant should appeal to many people in Los Alamos.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AtomicEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manhattan Project Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing