We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly sop papilla”
Review of DE Colores At The Gate - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
DE Colores At The Gate
Cuisines: American, Mexican
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Heavenly sop papilla”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is worth the visit just for the sop papilla. They are like little clouds with honey drizzled over them. Their chicken tortilla soup was very good. You have to make it to the restaurant before 2 as they are closed 2-5pm. (Like most of the restaurants in Los Alamos.)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Albequerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    9
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Basic”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Not the best place for New Mexican food, but not bad and convenient to the hotel. Unfortunately, the best dining is in Santa Fe, about 40 minutes away.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sdmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“OK place for lunch in Los Alamos”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Not our favorite place but not bad - closed from 2-5 as are most restaurants in Los Alamos so don't miss the lunch hour. Great quesadilla but how can you mess that up? Chicken tortilla soup was very tasty but taco platter was just very average. Place has been there a long time but could use some updating. Service was about average. Would check out another place on next visit, probably Viola's since they were also recommended for casual Mexican food in Santa Fe.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cliff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
170 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Needs improvement and attention”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We have been here many times, but it seems to be going down hill. I ordered a tilapia which was supposed to be crusted. The waitress came back and told me it wouldn't be crusted. I OK's this - this can happen anywhere. The trouble is that the tilapia I got was tasteless. Fish needs to be prepared by someone who knows how to spice it up. I also had the clam chowder - much ham, but very few (if any...) clams. The final straw was the sopapilla, a traditional New Mexico favorite. First, they forgot to bring it, and when I asked for it, they gave me one that was still half dough (or the cooking oil wasn't hot enough) - essentially inedible. We hope that the owners start paying attention and restore this restaurant to its previous good status.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelogue6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Consistent Local Restaurant”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

De Colores has been a part of Los Alamos for as long as I can remember. Decent variety on the menu, food is always consistent. Great for large groups.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank arpistone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DE Colores At The Gate also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing