We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Lodge with Magnificent Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chisos Mountains Lodge
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a rustic lodge set in the Chisos Mountains Big Bend National Park in Texas. The mountains soar to nearly 8,000 feet and you wonder if you really are in Texas. We stayed in the Casa Grande section of the lodge in an air conditioned room with two double beds and a view of Window Rock. The room is spartan but comfortable. No tv (though they have tv-dvd combos for rent, but who needs it?) and no telephone. Cell service is totally dependent on your carrier; T-Mobile was unsatisfactory while AT&T and Verizon did work..a bit. On the whole, a great location that overcomes satisfactory rooms and amenities. Great Ranger program on the patio the Monday night we were. We would return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank revdrmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

The rooms are not the fanciest, but the location can't be beat. We enjoyed waking up to the spectacular view. I think it's the best location for enjoying the amazing Big Bend National Park! Another lovely feature is the view from the terrace at the restaurant. A great place to wind-down after a day of exploring.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Panerapatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The main reason you stay here is for the location. I'm glad we did because it would have been a bit of a drive to get into the park, which in itself is a bit of a drive/hike to explore. Yes, for what you actually get, it is pricey, but you have to make the choice because it's not guaranteed any motel in that region will be much better. The scenery, and peace and quiet was magnificent. No cell coverage, no t.v., no internet; PERFECT. If you want to really GET AWAY, this is where you go. As far as the restaurant goes, we thought if was just fine. Yes of course it's a bit pricey too, because there is no where to eat for MILES! We already knew that coming in. So be prepared either way. We husband got the bison burger twice and really liked it. I got the salad bar once (it was O.K), and got the grilled portabella the second night (it was EXCELLENT) You appreciate fresh vegetables in a new light after you visit here! I say all in all it was a good experience. p.s. You will see the night sky in a beautiful way you have never seen it before.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mr and Mrs P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Chisos Mountain Lodge has so much potential, but is in desperate need of massive renovation. The accomodations are spartan, like old roadside motel rooms. The lodge itself is extremely dated with shabby decor no newer than the early 1970s, but probably older than that. The restaurant has an institutional ambiance to it, and the food is bland and institutional Sysco products. The lobby, apart from being very dated and feeling like a government building from the early to mid 1960s, is completely overrun by the gift shop, so there is nowhere to sit and relax in away from the extreme heat or extreme cold depending on the season. The terrace is nice, though, and the staff have no problem with people sitting out there in the evening when the weather is milder and using their electrical outlets to recharge devices and sip their own adult beverages as they enjoy the spectacular view.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wanderjahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I was expecting all of west Texas and the Bid Bend Park to be desert. I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived in the Chisos Mountians and it was wooded and very cool (low 60's at night and around 80 in day) in mid June. The rooms are not real fancy and there are no TV's but the views are incredible. We did a little hiking and just missed seeing 2 black bears on 2 separate hikes. The people in front of saw the bears. Would also reccomend the cattail falls hike since it is fairly easy and a short hike to the falls. The road to the trail head can be a little rough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

On previous trips to Big Bend, I always camped, which is awesome, but this year we stayed in the Chisos Mountain Lodge, just steps away from a nexus of trail heads, including the Window, Mt. Emery, Pinnacles and South Rim trails. The real advantage was finding so much more time for hiking, that is, roll out of bed, have some coffee and light breakfast in the room, then start hiking while it's still cool and more animals are active. Then...after 5-6 hours of hiking, walk back in from the trailhead into your air conditioned room, have a shower, eat something, and if it suits you, rest your bones on a bed for a bit. Then... go again. In the evening, get sociable on the deck of the restaurant with a beer, visitors from around the world, and a desert sunset. In contrast, camping can take you to some incredible, remote locations, but it seemed like we spent more time "camping" than exploring, whereas in the Lodge, nature is still at your door, but you will have more time for exploring, and there's nothing wrong with a shower and a bed.

Room Tip: I'd choose Building A, second floor, where your private balcony looks out to the trailheads and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Zeon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

rooms are pricey, but you should expect that in a national park. Very few amenities: no internet (not surprising given the location) and the only store closes early. Rooms are good size, clean and have comfortable beds. The desk staff was very courteous and helped me get a ground-floor room even though I booked after arrival in late July.

Room Tip: Book early to get a room with a view. Ask for one with a balcony overlooking Chisos Basin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarronS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Bend National Park
18.9 mi away
El Dorado Hotel
El Dorado Hotel
#6 of 8 in Terlingua
221 reviews
13.8 mi away
Terlingua Ranch Lodge
Terlingua Ranch Lodge
#3 of 8 in Terlingua
75 reviews
19.4 mi away
La Posada Milagro
La Posada Milagro
#2 of 8 in Terlingua
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.8 mi away
Lajitas Golf Resort
Lajitas Golf Resort
#1 of 1 in Lajitas
725 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Chisos Mountains Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chisos Mountains Lodge

Address: Basin Rural Station, Big Bend National Park, TX 79834
Region: United States > Texas > Big Bend National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Big Bend National Park
Price Range: £144 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chisos Mountains Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the last frontier of Texas, Big Bend National Park encompasses over 800,000 acres of breathtaking desert landscape. Here you'll find the uniquely located Chisos Mountains Lodge, offering comfortable accommodations and friendly Texas hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Chisos Mountains Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chisos Mountain Hotel Big Bend National Park
Chisos Mountain Lodge
Chisos Mountains Lodge Big Bend National Park, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing