We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spring Break Parade”
Review of Lost Mine Trail

Lost Mine Trail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Five-miles round-trip, this trail is fairly easy compared with many other hikes in the park.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Spring Break Parade”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We've travelled almost all the named trails yet never this one until spring break 2013. In this one hike, we saw more people than all the previous trails combined. It seemed like everyone was in a race to see the view from the top, missing over two miles of great views along the way. Rarely did we see anyone stopping at any of the well cataloged markers. At the trailhead, people were bragging how fast they made the climb. We spent a leisurely five hours and noticed so much much than the speeders.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Texsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    36
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We visit Lost Mine Trail on 3/9/13. It's a 2.5 mil hick, worth it when you get to the top. Parking was limited, The view was beautiful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyNoMoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowstone Nat. Park
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great views for moderate effort”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This was our first hike in the Chisos Mountains after several enjoyable hikes in the desert, and we could see right away why everybody spoke so highly of them. Superior views and photographic opportunities. Very moderate and consistent grade on this trail, so not a difficult hike despite the elevation gain. Also, a good footbed for the most part, with only a little bit of loose rocks. We watched a doe and fawn licking/cleaning each other perhaps only 75 feet away as we stood quietly, and that was in the first quarter mile, so we had an immediate favorable experience here. The trail did not seem crowded, and the people we met were friendly with good trail etiquette. The interpretive guide at the trailhead is well worth the $1 and the interpretive stops along the trial are of interest. Be prepared for the possibility that the top will be somewhat breezy. All in all a five-star hike!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hike”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This is a great moderate day hike that rewards with beautiful views of BBNP. We especially enjoyed hanging out at the top on the rocks having lunch and enjoying the peace and quiet. Definitely should be on the short list of BBNP hikes to do.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jmkmtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best hike in Big Bend”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

For me the Lost Mine Trail is the best hike in Big Bend as you get a similar view as with the South Rim but with much less effort. On the downside, this trail can be very crowded.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lost Mine Trail also viewed

Big Bend National Park, TX
Big Bend National Park, TX
 
Big Bend National Park, TX
 

Been to Lost Mine Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing