We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”
Review of Floridian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Floridian Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Homestead
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is a much nicer motel than I expected in Homestead. I would definitely stay again. They've paid attention to detail and it is well kept and managed. It is convenient to food, shopping, main highway and first good step on the south side of Miami and not a bad commute.

Room Tip: An oasis from Miami at rates that were comparable to lower end properties. Nothing wrong with this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Love2eat32547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    227
    176
    63
    53
See reviews for
206
277
35
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My husband books this hotel after reading the reviews.. And I'm glad he did! Nice room, friendly staff, good breakfast. Very nicely decorated in a modern touch. The only complaint I have is lack of electric outlets. We didn't use the pool, but it did look inviting! Loved the outdoor couches placed around the pool. Would book again if in the area!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2newts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Just what I was looking for. Didn't want a chain, didn't want to pay for boutique. nicely decorated room, not fussy, with all the essentials (iron, fridge, shampoo, super clean mr coffee). Pool, shuffleboard, simple workout room. Very clean.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraK_IndepMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

For the price, this place was pretty good. It was a good location for visiting Everglades National Park. Our room was clean, and while the furniture was starting to look a little worn, everything worked fine. There was also plenty of light. We found the breakfast offerings only okay; my favorite item was the croissant. It was handy having the two sinks. With all outside entrances for the rooms, our AC unit ended up pulling in a bit of smoke from the smokers outside each night. We saw a few tiny ants in our room, but it's Florida, so I'm more forgiving of that. The road that the hotel is on got very busy near rush hour, but there was a Publix (grocery store) and a Papa John's Pizza right across the street.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ziona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The first impression this motel style Hotel gives was impressive enough. All was fresh painted and very clean. The lobby was spacious. When we wanted to check in, though, we had some problems. We had 2 prepaid rooms for several days. One should have been a standard king (standard rooms have more old fashioned wood furniture), the other a deluxe queen (modern, colorful bright furniture). We went to the king, which was a deluxe instead of a standard. Thanks a lot. But when we opened the door of the 2Q-room, we realized, someone was already inside and had unpacked their suitcases. So – back to the lobby we went. The staff on duty was really nice, went out of his way, but had – 1 person alone! – to manage a long line of guests who wanted to check in. On the other hand he had to find out what was wrong with our room... said his colleague had apparently someone checked into the room and not marked it in the computer system, as our room still showed vacant. At the end we found the people who had our room and they had to move to another one, as we had booked this one at a higher price (deluxe) and they had not. It took more than an hour then we could move in (it was around 9 pm then). I have to say – staff went out of their way to make us comfortable.Housekeeping Assistent cleaned the room and we could move in.

I realized that in this room we did not have any chair and no table. I had seen that similar rooms had at least one chair, so I ordered one and immediately got it. Well the rooms are not too big...

Our room had 2 queen beds, sink in the back, extra toilet and tub in a very tiny bathroom. Shampoo and soap – no kleenex or lotion. We'd got microwave, fridge and coffeemachines. Lights were really bright and modern lamps were there. They got a wall mounted big Flat-TV with an ok. choice of programs. Towels were fluffy and thick. You find a down and some woolen blankets, if it's too cold to sleep with the linen only. Good and not too hard pillows, good mattrasses. Nice metal bowl for the ice. (Vending machines and fitness room as well as a business center with free internet and a computer are in the main building, at the lobby, as well as a conference room).
The room was immaculate clean. There is no built in wardrobe but at the sink you have some hangers and space to store your suitcase.
Free internet worked well, even outside at the pool.

The lobby building and the two houses with the rooms surrounding the parking lot, which has very small spaces, and a nice pool area. You can get rooms on 1st of 2nd floor with outdoor corridors. As long as we stayed, the hotel was sold out.

There was a shuffleboard area and a pavillion with nice chairs, deckchairs, tables and chairs at the pool, some tiki hut umbrellas. We think this motel – even if it is not a high end chain hotel – is very impressive and liked the place a lot.

In the morning you get breakfast with a great variety of stuff. They even had fresh strawberry fruit salad 2 times. You get donuts as well as french pastries and toasts, eggs, waffles (no fresh ones to bake yourself), bagels and cereals. The usual breakfast stuff. Though the hotel was fully booked we never had a problem to find a vacant breakfast table fast.

Close to the hotel are several restaurants and the Premier Outlets of Florida City, and some small shopping plazas.

I can recommend this place if you want to go to the Keys or Everglades NP. It's an hour drive to Miami, but might be longer, when you do not take the Interstate or Turnpike, as there is a lot of traffic on the streets towards or from Miami, with all traffic lights red when you arrive ;-)

Room Tip: ask for a pool view, that's nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is an experience. If you're looking for a unique room with quirky retro furniture, then you'll find it here. The rooms are spacious with an old glam style that sparkles....and the cleanest room we've stayed in a long while. They have a commendable continental breakfast that does the job. We didn't have a chance to try the pool but it looked nice. There are no elevators but it's two floors so it wasn't too difficult getting our things up.

I recommend this place on its cleanliness, retro style and the little touches like the silk flowers on the vanity.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karoline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

nice hotel in very good locationtion if you coming from key west. Room was clean and comfortable. The best surprise was good breakfast with fresh jruits, waffels, yogurt. Generally its good price quality ratio. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homestead
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead
0.9 mi away
Garden Inn
Garden Inn
#8 of 14 in Homestead
36 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Hotel Redland
The Hotel Redland
#3 of 14 in Homestead
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Homestead
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn Florida City - Homestead
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
#6 of 12 in Florida City
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floridian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floridian Hotel

Property: Floridian Hotel
Address: 990 N Homestead Blvd, Homestead, FL 33030-5027
Region: United States > Florida > Homestead
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Homestead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Floridian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Floridian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Homestead
Homestead Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing