We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wanderlust Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Wanderlust Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Lovely place, friendly owners, very clean. It's a small, small hostel (only 6 beds per female/male dorm + a double room as far as I can say), but everything is painted and decorated lovely with lots of charme and creativity. Amy and Ashley are wonderful hosts. Everyone going even slightly in the direction of Back Canyon, Crested Butte, etc. should stay at the Wanderlust Hostel in Gunnison!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
13
45
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver,
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The host, Amy is wonderful. Lots of recommendations for hikes and a guide for other activities. Clean, comfortable and well managed. My pup enjoyed the backyard. Amy & Ashley shared the fruits of the garden. Just a couple of blocks from grocery, restaurants and the cutest section of downtown Gunnison. Highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2playCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Hawk, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed at the Wanderlust Hostel for two nights in May when I was in Gunnison for a trail race. Most of the other guests were runners, and it was a fun group. The house is comfortable, and the owners/hosts were friendly and welcoming. Clean and quiet, and very reasonably priced. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gossau, Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We are a group of four girls travelling the USA. The Wanderlust Hostel convinced us at first sight; the cosy living room, the comfortable beds, the lovely backyard and all the great and interesting people who stayed there. Ashley was always helpful and gave us great insider tips for the surrounding area. We definitly would come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Wanderlust Hostel is an absolute gem. Amy obviously knows hostels as she's hit all the right notes with her place. It sociable, comfortable, and relaxing with all the amenities you could possibly want. Amy is also very knowledgable of the area and if you're lucky enough to be there when her parents are in town, you'll have an even better experience. 5 stars from me and I won't hesitate to use the Wanderlust as my base the next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomadic_Haggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My 16 year old brother and I stayed at the Wanderlust Hostel over 4th of July weekend. The hostel is adorably decorated and filled with wonderful people who have great stories to tell. Even though the hostel was at max occupancy, the mornings were always quiet and everyone was respectful when it was time to call it a night. I would definitely recommend staying at the Wanderlust hostel - and hope to be staying there again in the future!

Room Tip: There are dorm style rooms and private rooms you can stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onley, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed two nights at the Wanderlust Hostal with my son. I travel a lot for work and stay at fairly pricey hotels. In Europe I have enjoyed stayed at hostals and was curious about whether such an experience existed in the U.S. We were delighted to find a friendly, homey environment to share with fascinating people.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gunnison hotels
2.3 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 12 in Gunnison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Gunnison
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Gunnison
Quality Inn Gunnison
#9 of 12 in Gunnison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.5 mi away
A-B-C Motel
A-B-C Motel
#8 of 12 in Gunnison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wanderlust Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wanderlust Hostel

Property: The Wanderlust Hostel
Address: 221 N. Boulevard St., Gunnison, CO 81230
Region: United States > Colorado > Gunnison
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Gunnison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wanderlust Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Gunnison, this exceptionally clean residential hostel feels like coming home. Perfect for groups, families, couples, or solo travelers, the Wanderlust offers a large community kitchen, living area, backyard, and both private and shared rooms. We are truly a "bed between adventures". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Wanderlust Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing