We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”

Palisades Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 51 Restaurants in Gunnison
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Lakewood, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The sign said "Please wait to be seated" however on Sunday no one works the front so we had to flag someone down to be seated. Service was a bit slow and food really is just average. We split the ribs and they were pretty good but quite a bit of the items on the menu are not freshly made and I presume are frozen. We're not sure how it rates as high as it does for a restaurant in Gunnison and therefore doesn't speak much to the quality of restaurants available...or just maybe to the expectations of it's guests?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    50
    32
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Dinner was fine”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Service was good. The food was fine. They have some sort of bell system that dings whenever someone enters or leaves the restaurant. It was so irritating. If I lived in Gunnison I doubt I would return for that reason.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PasCaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Only had dinner once in town and found this to be very acceptable and quaint. Staff was very helpful, included wine selection. Bartender was very knowledgable and presented the wine my wife ordered explaining how it was different from most other in that category. He allowed for a taste and did corrrectly assist her in not getting a wine she would not have enjoyed. Note here; he was busy and took the time to do this after waitress placed order to bar! Menu is variable, serving size were good and not overwhelming.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeanH689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Lake, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Possibly the worst buffet I have had. No taste to anything and the food was luke warm. The bathrooms were not cleaned and the parking lot had more holes than good Swiss cheese.

Helpful?
Thank Baagrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Diner food in a Western Setting”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I have eaten here several times, mostly because it was where everyone else voted to go. It is a good place for large parties, easy to get to, just far enough off of main street that there is rarely a wait, and prices are reasonable. The food is not my favorite- a pretty decent selection, and it is fine, but really is just basic diner type fare. Nothing that really stands out, but I have also never had anything that was cooked poorly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blueskytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palisades Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Palisades Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing