We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey, Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island Acres Resort Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Gunnison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnhart, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Homey, Comfortable”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed overnight here after spending a day at Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park. It looked very inviting as we turned into the shaded drive and the first impression continued as we saw our cabin. Our unit had a full kitchen, table and chairs and a very comfortable king bed. It is an older resort but that adds to the charm of the place. Needless to say it is well maintained. The staff was friendly, helpful and easy to talk with. We enjoyed it so much we would like to go back for an extended stay in the near future.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank slvinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    12
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
20
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Streetman, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Our family of 4 was taking our annual trip up to Colorado and had a wonderful stay at this small and quaint roadside Motel. We pulled in with our car over heating and had a very nice room within minutes. They allowed us to check out the rooms first and pick the one we liked the best considering we had 4 people staying. The rooms were very clean, neat, and the beds were very comfortable. We opened up the windows and let the fresh mountain air in and enjoyed the area around the motel as well. We made a campfire at night with wood provided by the motel. We were going to stay two nights because of the car trouble, but we got the car moving again and headed on our way. We would definitely stay here again, due to the friendliness of the staff, the cabin-like feel, comfort of the rooms, and the cleanliness. There was a river near the motel that we enjoyed as well. All in all a wonderful stay!!! Highly recommend this little Colorado gem!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyHikerTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannover
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

we had been camping all over the west mainly in the back country. this would be our last night before flying out of denver; so we looked for something special in the sense of accommodating our wish for small and authentic, quiet and having character, having the pleasures of showers etc conmbined with the feel of outside, nature, and camp.... we found all that together with great people in the island acres resort. we just loved the approach of eco-friendly combined with people friendly; the privacy together with the intimateness we entered with the owners in just 24hrs. we chose the latest acquired house in the back, an old farm home i believe and it was just perfect with its front porch for unpacking, the large double room and comfortable bed. under the trees in front of the house we 'celebrated' our last bbqed steak at the table and chairs provided and got easily together with a fellow traveller next door. we then moved over to the big fire the owners made under even more big old trees that give the whole property this very nature-set feel even though it isn't in the woods but easily accessible from the road to denver. what made tis resort a real hit for us were the friendly open owners and their way of handling things and people. we left our camp gear and food we could not take along for the student workers they employ and could discard other things in separate bins for plastic, metal, etc (something very much a matter of heart for europeans ;-)). all in all we could not have found a better place to have a farewell night and we are still very grateful the people at island resort created and keep that place the way it is. THANKS!

Room Tip: forgot the house/room number but it is the little wooden log house set back behind the others with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank be t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garland, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Our first trip to Gunnison for vacation and Island Acres is pet friendly. The rooms are retro 50's, rustic, and clean. Beds are very comfortable. The staff is friendly, professional, and very helpful. The off season pricing makes the units a good value. Being on the edge of Gunnison, the location is quiet and readily accessible to downtown Gunnison. Very good TV and Internet signals. Pet fee is $10 nightly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldArmySoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I had been traveling with my dog Sampson from Ouray to Gunnison. We had been staying at KOA's, during our previous nights travels. When I arrived at the KAO in Gunnison, it was at the conclusion of the 24-hour Mountain Bike event and the grounds were crazy. The manager kindly suggested I try Island Acres Resort just across the highway. I took his advice and was so glad that I did. Pam, the owner, was very gracious and offered me a couple of different pet friendly rooms to look at. The little efficiency units were immaculate and reminded me of décor from my parent's home in Pittsburgh, while we were growing up. What impressed me the most was the comfort of the bed AND the freshness of the sheets and towels. They were so soft and smelled so fresh that I had to compliment Pam upon my leaving the next day. The kitchenette was fully stocked too. So you can safe additional monies by having such features for meal planning. Another nice feature is the location of this hotel to the Gunnison River. It is so easy to walk to this soothing and relaxing river. If you like Trout fishing, this is the place to stay.

Well done Tim & Pam and I guarantee that I will stay here again, upon my next visit to Gunnison or Crested Butte.

Dave Amrhein
Tempe, AZ

Room Tip: The grounds are very quiet and I believe any room would be good. I also LOVED the fact that this hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burgh-Birdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed in cabin 2 and the place was perfect! Clean, comfy bed and such friendly owners/operators! The cabin had everything we needed, fridge, stove, microwave and again, did I say clean!! Pam and Tim are good, honest and very friendly people! The grounds are very well kept and we had deer visitors every evening!! Nice outside porch area as well!! Great place to stay and very reasonably priced as well!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband and I, along with our family dog, had a wonderful stay here. The room, with its mid-century decor, was fun, comfortable, clean and had everything we needed for our overnight stay.We walked the neighborhood and along the Gunnison River which has river access just across the street. We also very much enjoyed the front porch, yard swing and flower garden. Another wonderful thing was being able to open the windows to allow that wonderful Colorado air into our room. We plan to return again and stay longer.
Well Done!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gunnison hotels
3.3 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 12 in Gunnison
151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Gunnison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison
0.6 mi away
The Alpine Inn
The Alpine Inn
#7 of 12 in Gunnison
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Long Holiday Motel
Long Holiday Motel
#10 of 12 in Gunnison
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Acres Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Acres Resort Motel

Property: Island Acres Resort Motel
Address: 38339 US Highway 50, Gunnison, CO 81230-8730
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Gunnison
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gunnison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island Acres Resort Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a stay at a 1950s throwback. Recently renovated, this 1954 tourist court motel offers vintage charm, large open parks and sunny porches. Picnic tables, grills and a firepit for a campfire are available. Check our online calendar for availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Island Acres Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing