We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bucket list item checked off!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gunnison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waunita Hot Springs Ranch
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Judy Stone had never spent any time in Colorado, so her and her husband
Chuck along with best friends Basil & Terri Lashley spend a week this past September at the ranch and had a blast. My wife said it was her best vacation ever! The Pringles could not have been nicer and or more accomadating. Highly recommend this spot for a vacation.

Chuck & Judy Stone
Branson, Mo

Room Tip: We prefer the main lodge
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuck s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Waunita Hot Springs Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2011

We wanted to do something extraordinary for and with our granddaughters age 15 and 18....So we decided on Waunita Hot Springs Ranch on the recommendation of friends.....
We loved it all!!! The girls still talk about it months later and dream of going back someday...
It is the very best of everything you could ask for....
You are treated as family....by a wonderful family who own the ranch....
There is no way we can express the joy we felt in giving this to our sweet girls....It is a week they will never forget....Nor will we...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This was our third experience with a Horse/Dude Ranch and first with WHSR and all I can say is WOW! The family owned and operated ranch treats you like family and really makes an effort to get to know you as an individual. Many of the other quests were returning for the 6th, 7th or 8th time. Our week happened to be an "adults only" week, but other guests had previously brought their kids and grandkids and couldn't say enough about the experiene. From home cooked food and lot's of it, to being assigned your own horse for the week, to "rides" based on time, ability and/or difficulty, to soaking in the hot springs-fed pool, the experience was wonderful. The ranch sits in a valley and is surrounded by mountains so every ride provided spectacular views of the Rocky Mountains.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macmanmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This was our first vacation at a dude ranch as a family, and it was a total success. Our group: my wife & me, our 2 girls (7 & 9), another couple and their kids (4 & 9), and my parents.

The family that runs the ranch are very welcoming. Within 30 minutes of arriving, our older daughter said "I love it here!". The kids loved being able to run around wherever they wanted (except the pool). There were a dozen wild marmots visible outside the window of our room.

We were able to ride together as a family when we wanted and also with the kids separate from the adults. The scenery is beautiful, and surprisingly varied (some open plain, some rocky cliffs, some meadows, some forest).

They have a full-time wrangler just to take care of the kids, so our friends with the 4-year-old boy were able to leave him behind and ride whenever they wanted. He got to ride around the grounds being led by the wrangler.

The rooms, while not luxurious, were comfortable, and our girls liked being in a connected room. Our girls sometimes had nosebleeds at night, I assume because of the dryness associated with the high altitude.

The food was excellent.

I'd highly recommend this place for anyone looking for a dude ranch, except if you require alcohol -- it's a dry ranch. We didn't miss it.

The drive from Denver is beautiful, though next time we might fly into Gunnison so we don't have to rush out on the last morning.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PretzelDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

This is our second trip...sitting at the airport now missing waunita! It truly is the best week of the year! Our family of nine went as a group. This is a family run and operated authentic western ranch celebrating their 50 year anniversary. All I can say is go! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoosier0970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Waunita Hot Springs Ranch is so great that my grandparents have been there 14 times in the last 18 years. I had gone the last 2 years, but this year we were blessed to have my dad's whole side of the family (9 people) go with us. We ranged in age from 2 to 63. There is so many reasons why our family loves Waunita so much. A few of them are
- awesome horses/ trail rides
- beautiful views
- great food (and plenty of it)
- the Pringles are so helpful and accommodating
- the rooms are clean and well cared for And if you are not a big horseback rider there are so many other things that you can do
- swimming pool (that is 95 degrees)
- fishing/ trips
- lots of kid activities
- relax on the front porch with a good book and enjoy a cup of cowboy coffee
- check your email with the wifi in the main lodge
- 4 by 4 trips
- shopping trip to Gunnsion
There are also evening activities including
- Hayride, ending with smores
- Game night/ trap shooting
- Square dancing
- Country music show
- Camp out at Canyon Creek
So if your looking for something for your whole family we highly recommend Waunita Hot Springs Ranch!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hannakay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I have been fortunate enough to travel to Waunita about 6 times over a 38 year period. I have fond and vivid memories of every trip, from childhood and now as a father of 3 girls. The Pringles are warm, kind, honest, service professionals that understand the purpose of what they do. They make memorable experiences for their guests and that is why you will see in so many reviews that guests return generation to generation. That is about as high of praise as you can get. Setting is special, there are loads of activities for all (or you can just relax), you will learn something while you are there, and the place is so wholesome it just seems to bring out the best in all who are there. Don't expect to lose weight, as the food is wonderful and plentiful. My hope for you is you get to share this special place and wonderful Waunita team with someone you care about real soon.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank MontanaTeagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gunnison
20.5 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
24.3 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
31.9 mi away
Gunnison Lakeside RV Park & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Three Rivers Resort
Three Rivers Resort
#1 of 1 in Almont
136 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Wanderlust Hostel
The Wanderlust Hostel
#1 of 13 in Gunnison
121 reviews
23.1 mi away
The Alpine Inn
The Alpine Inn
#6 of 12 in Gunnison
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waunita Hot Springs Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waunita Hot Springs Ranch

Address: 8007 County Road 887, Gunnison, CO 81230-9524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Gunnison
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Gunnison
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Waunita Hot Springs Ranch Hotel Gunnison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing