We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get the two for one prime rib” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trough Restaurant - CLOSED

Trough Restaurant
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Get the two for one prime rib”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We ate here at the recommendation of our motel owner. He told us about the two for one prime rib dinner which is not shown on the menu. You have to ask for it. It was an absolutely outstanding meal. The portion was generous and cooked just right. If you're looking for a really nice prime rib meal in Gunnison this is the one.

Helpful?
1 Thank Wingflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    4
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Littlestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fine prime rib at a fine price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We tried the Trough on the recommendation of our motel. We were more than pleased. They offer a prime rib special - 2 for $25 - from 4 to 6.30. We happened to be there in time, so we tried it. Excellent. Not over-cooked (we like medium rare). Came with a good salad, baked potato etc. It was a good roast beef as I have ever eaten. The ambience is good, too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wittj155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Closing---Bummer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I just called to make reservations for our group for the end of September and was told they are closing permanently on September 15, 2013. We've enjoyed several years of gatherings and laughter at this restaurant as well as good food and service.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Biker1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hum drum, over-rated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

The steak was supposed to be fabulous, and we couldn't wait to try it. I was just like the steak back east, nothing special (but pricey). The trout was so covered with almonds that you couldn't taste the fish, which was perhaps the goal. The dining room is pretty dark, but my trout looked pink, and I thought they'd made a mistake and served salmon. The waitress assured me it was trout. When we went to the fish hatchery in Durango, we asked the National Parks woman about the pinkness, and she said usually trout is a white-meat fish. So, not sure what I ate.

We were disappointed for the price; haven't found any great steak places since arriving in Colorado about 2 weeks ago.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndreaT-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLORADO SPRINGS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Prime rib was very good and we like to split a dinner and they were very accomodating. Good prices too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TIMOTHY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trough Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing