We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb!!!”

Garlic Mike's Italian Cuisine
Ranked #3 of 50 Restaurants in Gunnison
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located just 3 miles morth of town on the Gunnison River. East coast Italian Cuisine featuring pasta, seafood, chicken and veal and traditional Italian fare and non traditional daily specials. Creative cocktails and wine list. Dine al fresco style on our covered, heated patio in summer, or a fireside table in winter. Featured on the Travel Channels "Food Paradise"-"Garlic Paradise. A tourists and locals favorite for over 20 years.
Elkton, MD
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I went to Garlic Mike's on recommendation from the hotel where we stayed. My husband had the lasagna that he said was delicious. Even though it is an Italian restaurant, one of the specials that evening was elk. I had never tasted elk before, but it was absolutely positively delicious. It was the best meal I had while on vacation. Drinks and service was also great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jettie070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    63
    35
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gunnison's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Great food; reasonable cost; nice site on the river; a little out of town, but worth the drive.
Probably a good idea to reserve ahead. They seem to get a lot of large groups. So even though the restaurant is very large, they could fill up. They were very crowded when we went, but found room for us anyway. Good food, and "yes" plenty of garlic!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmaryPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almont, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of Gunnison's Best Meals!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Great food, excellent service, set along the Gunnison River. In-door & Outside seating. Is located one mile north of town.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Russ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A surprise awaits inside the roadhouse look outside.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Garlic Mike's was recommended by the Tall Texan Campground owner nearby. The local roadhouse look outside belies the smart, warm, well done interior. The hard working hostess and the wait staff obviously are well trained by Mike and enjoy working in his restaurant. The service was excellent from the bartender to the busser. Everyone was attentive and the pace of the meal was just right. We had very tender and yummy Fried Green Tomatoes appetizer. A mushroom soup came next. It was thick and hot. Janny had Chicken Cacciatore and I had Chicken Parmesan. Both dishes were excellent. We will recommend Garlic Mike's to anyone interested in excellent food with an excellent atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GRJanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Filling and tasty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We ate here after a full day's worth of activities and we were super hungry. The food was very good (especially the garlic fries!) and we left full and happy. Service was a little slow the night we were there, but there were a lot of big parties seated near us so that may be why. Overall we liked it a lot and would come back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rach0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garlic Mike's Italian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Garlic Mike's Italian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing