We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very delicious, the Fileto con Pepe is awesome!”

Garlic Mike's Italian Cuisine
Ranked #1 of 50 Restaurants in Gunnison
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located just 3 miles morth of town on the Gunnison River. East coast Italian Cuisine featuring pasta, seafood, chicken and veal and traditional Italian fare and non traditional daily specials. Creative cocktails and wine list. Dine al fresco style on our covered, heated patio in summer, or a fireside table in winter. Featured on the Travel Channels "Food Paradise"-"Garlic Paradise. A tourists and locals favorite for over 20 years.
Gunnison, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very delicious, the Fileto con Pepe is awesome!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

It is a restaurant to visit! We r going there tomorrow for our employee dinner, can't wait, yum!! We love to go there twice a month, when possible! They are right on the river and it is beautiful, try the chicken/ veal picatta, delicious.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    64
    35
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Panhandle
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food, average service”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We came in early. Were asked if we had a reservation, We did not. There was plenty of seating. We had to wait a while for salad, had to ask for bread. Each meatball was $2 added to the price of the pasta. Blue cheese was extra. Seems like there were a lot of add ons. Serving portions were huge and the taste was good. I would go again but be careful what i asked for if I am on a tight budget. Just a little annoying for a high priced place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank brookesmom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitewater, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Food in Gunnison”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Garlic Mikes is hands-down the best restaurant in Gunnison. The food is phenomenal, the staff is friendly and attentive, and the atmosphere is great.
Prices are typical for a nice Italian restaurant, but don't be afraid to dress casually.
They also provide excellent catering and facilities for weddings and parties.

You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DriftersDispatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
155 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Best Italian Restaurant "in this neck of the woods"”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Wow! Were we surprised on our first visit! Located just north of Gunnison in a cute little stand-alone house on the right. In the summer dine inside or out in their backyard on the Gunnison river. Yep! this is "real Italian". The pasta is always al dente, not the way mom used to cook it. Good service, wonderful menu. Garlic Mike Busse Chef and owner has something for everyone, seafood, steaks, chicken.

Check out Garlic Mike's Garlic Fries they are wold famous. Open for lunch and dinner. My favorite is the Brodetto di Pesce, this is a seafood stew with shrimp, scallops, mussels, calamari, & salmon filet, in tomato-garlic broth served over linguine. I live in Florida but travel to Gunnison and Crested Butte frequently. Garlic Mike's is always at the top of our list for dining several times during our stay. Garlic Mike won't disappoint you. I promise.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castricum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
200 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The dishes in this restaurant near the river a couple of miles outside Gunnison taste really Italian.
The place is a bit difficult to find in the dark. It was recommended by the hotel receptionist and we were not disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pensionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garlic Mike's Italian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Garlic Mike's Italian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing