We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hit the Spot!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pie-Zan's

Pie-Zan's
Ranked #12 of 50 Restaurants in Gunnison
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alton, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Hit the Spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

After a long time in the car, we arrived at our destination with empty bellies. This place was recommended to us by locals. Fast and friendly service with delicious pizza! I would definitely return!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank climb8912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    12
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethalto, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great hand tossed pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We arrived at our motel late and were very hungry. We were recommended this place and it definitely hit the spot! Great hand tossed pizza and the garlic knots appetizers were delicious!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Saluki287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mountain Bike Starvation Sated”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

My 3rd visit in as many years. Really great pizza and pasta (I liked the "naked" olio style) but today after some hours of mountain biking in the area, I needed something dense. Had the house salad which had great greens and not yucky, cheap iceberg lettuce like a lot of places, and the gyros which was huge and came with their homemade chips which were kind of in between potato chips and home fries.
I went back here based on my memories of past meals. Like Maya Angelou says, " you may not remember what someone said, but you remember how they made you feel". Food is good, consistent and the service has always been friendly. When I'm too tired and hot to wade through restaurant reviews, I can count on these folks.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Pizza as good as in New York!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

The pizza pie by the slice is terrific! Best this side of NYC. Service is exceptional and Janice (owner) makes sure guests are satisfied with their delicious meals. I am looking forward to trying other menu items. Tonight's special dessert is Deep Fried Peach Pie.Wine by the glass, draft & bottle beers-couldn't ask for more. Even have music on the patio on weekends-weather permitting. A real find in this little part of the west in Gunnison , Colorado.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Slope
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“BEST ITALIAN FOOD AROUND!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Love, love this place. As a former east coaster, it's hard to find good, hearty, tasty, gourmet Italian food. This IS the place. Casual and clean, friendly service, great atmosphere. One special, that you must try is the dessert pie. It is pizza dough, flattened, filled with local fruit, deep fried and served with vanilla bean ice cream. To die for. Save room, you won't regret it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pie-Zan's also viewed

 

Been to Pie-Zan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing