We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to relax”
Review of Water Wheel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Water Wheel Inn
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Gunnison
Hallsville, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good place to relax”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed at this location a couple of nights during the last week of September, 2012. This was not our first stay here, and we will certainly go back in the future. I really enjoy the laid back, quiet nature of the unit. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. There is a well equipped workout room and spa area, if you are so inclined. I highly recommend this location if you are needing lodging in the Gunnison, Co area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    30
    12
    8
    7
See reviews for
26
33
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed for a night during the USA National pro cycling race. It is an older hotel but quiet. The back has a golf course that guests are not allowed on but it is nice to sit and watch. They have chairs and picnic tables along the hotel so quests can sit. The front has a small pond with running water and a little bridge next to the office. They still had hotel keys for rooms, but they might be in the process of going to cards someday. It was clean comfortable and enjoyable . If back in the area we would return. Breakfast had cereal, oatmeal, and muffins and Donuts plus coffee and orange juice. So not a lot to pick from for breakfast. We did not try the next door Trough restaurant deciding to venture out into Gunnison instead.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jesse58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is the second time we've stayed at the Water Wheel Inn. The Inn is showing it's age although I still think it's a good deal. There's not many hotel choices in Gunnison. We had a second floor room and were there for 2 nights.. It was clean and quiet. The Inn appeared to be only about half full - so we didn't really have many neighbors. We had a room with 2 queen size beds and were really only in the room a very short while in the evening and to sleep at night. Then we were gone all day. We did not go over to their breakfast so I can't comment on that. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was functional (although the shower handle was a bit tricky to manuever). There is a nice restaurant and bar next door, The Trough, which we ate at one night.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casper80236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Stayed first of October for High School State Golf. Close to course,Close to Food,Close to a Bar.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Choices of places to stay are thin in this area. We were a little disappointed with the quality of the place, a bit dated and scruffy. Most of the other guests were workmen driving trucks who all left noisily very early for work. Breakfast was a bit synthetic....but it was ok. Very unreliable internet connection.

Room Tip: Ask to be kept away from workmen with noisy trucks and early starts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PF2UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Our family and friends stayed at the Water Wheel in in Gunnison Colorado in September 2011. We probably booked half the hotel for our family wedding. There were other events in the area, so the Water Wheel was pretty booked. However, because our family needed to make some last minute changes, we needed to work closely with staff, especially Thelma. They worked wonders. All the staff bent over backwards to make our stay comfortable and calm. The rooms are being upgraded, not luxurious, but the beds are great and there the bathrooms are neat and tidy and clean. Their breakfast consists of pastries, juices, milk, yougert. What makes this place special is the staff and the views.

Room Tip: just don't pick a 'smokers' room..:); the restaurant next door " the trough" h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KansasKari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Once upon a time I feel certain that the Water Wheel was a nice place to spend some leisurely time............but not any more. Check out the new Holiday Inn Express just up the road.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RideHigh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gunnison hotels
4.1 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Gunnison
151 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Gunnison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison
1.0 mi away
Long Holiday Motel
Long Holiday Motel
#10 of 12 in Gunnison
90 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Alpine Inn
The Alpine Inn
#7 of 12 in Gunnison
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water Wheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water Wheel Inn

Property: Water Wheel Inn
Address: 37478 US Highway 50, PO Box 882, Gunnison, CO 81230-9743
Region: United States > Colorado > Gunnison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Gunnison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Water Wheel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Dos Rios Golf Course, the Water Wheel Inn is located just west of town on Highway 50. Make yourself at home in one of our 52 large rooms and enjoy our hot tubs after spending the day exploring the Gunnison Valley. Get your day off to a great start with our hearty breakfast that includes belgian waffles, yogurt, fresh fruit, pastries and biscuits and gravy. If you need to work during your stay, we offer free WiFi throughout the grounds and a business center in the lobby. Come and stay at the Water Wheel Inn and enjoy our peaceful surroundings, friendly staff, and the beautiful landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Water Wheel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Wheel Hotel Gunnison
Water Wheel Gunnison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing