We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Comfortable Place to Stay”
Review of Water Wheel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Water Wheel Inn
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Gunnison
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and Comfortable Place to Stay”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We chose to stay at the Water Wheel Inn because they allowed dogs, and we had our two small dogs with us on this trip. Lovely grounds (we saw some beautiful deer) and a very comfortable room. The manager was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was provided and was very nice. Had great coffee, juice, and some delicious rolls and scones...very nice assortment of choices. We enjoyed our one night stay and look forward to returning. Highly recommend if you're looking for comfort at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor and was very convenient and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_Miller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WheelColorado, Marketing Coordinator at Water Wheel Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear L_Miller

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at the Water Wheel Inn! The staff here at the Inn look forward to seeing you and you cute little dogs again in the future.

Thanks Again!

Amy Samborsky-Knapp
Marketing Coordinator
Water Wheel Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    31
    13
    8
    8
See reviews for
27
33
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I had never been so disgusted by a place EVER. This place had hair in the beds,blood stains,DNA products on the blanket,food and other disgusting stuff on the floor around the beds the room smelled of sweat,and other products cant post.

Room Tip: Ask to view the room first every inch of it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WheelColorado, Marketing Coordinator at Water Wheel Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for the feedback that you have provided for us regarding your stay at the Water Wheel Inn in Gunnison. We are pained to read about your experiences with us but we have used your feedback to address these housekeeping issues so that nothing happens like this again. We are sorry for your experience but hope that you will visit us again to see our improvements!

Amy Samborsky-Knapp

Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherryville, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is a copy of what I wrote to the owner, received no response.
We have been coming to this hotel off and on since the late 80's. It used to be our favorite place, but it is in need of maintenance and updating. Each time we come it is worse and now, it has gone down hill badly...shame on you. The website looks great, but it is not that way, now. There were no working hot tubs and the one next to our room had not even been drained and had black mold in it on the sides...the ice machine was gross....no vent in our bathroom and there was black mold in there, too. Tiny TV. The pools around the place that you show in pictures on the website are all dried up and we remember them as very beautiful at one time, with goldfish in them...again, shame on you. Research a product called bentonite to help seal and revive those once beautiful ponds.
Please, bring this property back to the way it should be. Even though we received a small discount...it was still very overpriced for the quality. It makes us very sad to see this place like this.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WheelColorado, Marketing Coordinator at Water Wheel Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for us regarding your time at the Water Wheel Inn. We have taken steps to remedy many of the issues that you have raised. Both of our hot tubs are now running beautifully, we have a new ice machine and we are looking forward to our summer season to make our grounds pristine. We hope that you will come to stay with us again to see what we have done and also continue to give us feedback on how are are doing.

Amy Samborsky-Knapp

Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omaha, ne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The Water Wheel Inn looks very pleasant when you first arrive. Unfortunately that is an illusion. The decor is dated and tired, the rooms spartan. There are two entry doors, one to the outside and the other to an interior corridor. And when was the last time you had an actual, physical key (that didn't always work) to open the door?
When I opened the door to the inside corridor there was a distinct and strong odor of mildew. I quickly shut it and did not open it again.
The continental breakfast included a wide variety of pastries (if you get there early enough) as well as the usual selection of breads, cereal, etc.
It is my understanding that the motel is for sale. Perhaps, when it is sold, there will be improvements.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geminiOmaha_Ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WheelColorado, Marketing Coordinator at Water Wheel Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for giving a review for your time at the Water Wheel Inn in Gunnison. We appreciate your feedback and would like you to know that we have addressed many of the issues that you mentioned. While we still have physical keys, the rooms have all been re-keyed and has alleviated the non-working key issue. Additionally the carpets have been deep cleaned and the hot tubs are up and running so the hallways now smell pleasantly clean. Our continental breakfast continues to include pastries, breads and cereals and we are also pleased to offer biscuits and gravy and Belgian waffles. We hope that you will come and stay with us again to see our improvements!

Amy Samborsky-Knapp

Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights... the hotel has seen better days, but it was alright for 2 nights. It is on the Dos Rios golf course and our balcony looked out on the 4th hole. This turned out to be convienent because after 9 holes we were able to drive our clubs back to the room while the person with the truck was able to stay out on the river and fish. Room includes typical breakfast with waffles, biscuits and gravy, sweet rolls, etc. The room itself was clean, but the balcony was in a grungy state. Had to clean the chairs before we dared to sit on them. Hotel is just past town on hwy 50, so very convienient. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you'd like to watch the golfers, ask for room 256 or 257,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbfishin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WheelColorado, Marketing Coordinator at Water Wheel Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Water Wheel Inn in Gunnison. We really appreciate the feedback so we can address any trouble spots that we have missed. We are addressing the issue you mentioned about the balconies and hope that when you stay with us again that you will be able to see improvements. I am happy that you found our location convenient and our staff friendly. Please come back to see us and continue to let us know how we are doing.

Amy Samborsky-Knapp

Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I've stayed in several Colorado motels on road trips this summer, and some made me wish I'd booked a Holiday Inn. The Water Wheel really nailed it. It's dated, but in a charming way. The grounds, building, and room were spotlessly clean. The large room offered a fridge and microwave, decent toiletries, and nice towels. It had a back door leading to a little patio area that overlooked the golf course. The bed was a tad firm for my personal taste, but completely acceptable. The staff was very friendly.

The continental breakfast was above and beyond the usual, including a make your own waffle station and a crockpot of gravy for the biscuits. As someone who avoids starches, a plate of sausages would have been nice.

Of my recent Colorado motels, the Water Wheel was the cleanest, nicest, with the most amenities, and was also the cheapest. I will definitely stay again if ever in Gunnison. Be sure to try the steakhouse next door, the Trough. It's a family-friendly steakhouse with a great ambiance but also really excellent food.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pool_Afficianado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WheelColorado, Marketing Coordinator at Water Wheel Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Gunnison Water Wheel Inn. We are so pleased that you had a good stay with us. Getting feedback really helps us see areas where we are strong and also things that we need to work on. We are gearing up for our summer season and the comment you made about having so many starches at breakfast will be addressed in our next planning meeting.

Sadly, the Trough closed recently but a new steakhouse has moved in. I hope you will come and stay with us again so that you can see changes that we have made and let us know how we are doing.

Amy Samborsky-Knapp

Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Arrived a few minutes after closing time, but the light was on and Dr Jim welcomed us. He offered a discounted price so we wouldn't have to keep driving to look for a better rate! Our room was without flaw: clean, new linens and the mattress was perfectly soft and supportive. Being picky about cleanliness I must stress this room was perfect. Sleeping was easier than at home, no snoring pets! I was recommend this to anyone. River near by, golf course a bonus!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WheelColorado, Marketing Coordinator at Water Wheel Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us and hope that you will come and stay with us again! We are working on making some improvements and we hope that you will come and see us and tell us what you think.

Amy Samborsky-Knapp
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gunnison hotels
4.1 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Gunnison
156 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Gunnison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison
1.0 mi away
Long Holiday Motel
Long Holiday Motel
#10 of 12 in Gunnison
91 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Alpine Inn
The Alpine Inn
#6 of 12 in Gunnison
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water Wheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water Wheel Inn

Property: Water Wheel Inn
Address: 37478 US Highway 50, PO Box 882, Gunnison, CO 81230-9743
Region: United States > Colorado > Gunnison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Gunnison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Water Wheel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Dos Rios Golf Course, the Water Wheel Inn is located just west of town on Highway 50. Make yourself at home in one of our 52 large rooms and enjoy our hot tubs after spending the day exploring the Gunnison Valley. Get your day off to a great start with our hearty breakfast that includes belgian waffles, yogurt, fresh fruit, pastries and biscuits and gravy. If you need to work during your stay, we offer free WiFi throughout the grounds and a business center in the lobby. Come and stay at the Water Wheel Inn and enjoy our peaceful surroundings, friendly staff, and the beautiful landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Water Wheel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Wheel Hotel Gunnison
Water Wheel Gunnison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing