We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortably Charming!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at Tomichi Village
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Gunnison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one of the stops on my road trip home for the holidays. I booked it because the reviews and photos looked great. To make a long story short my expectations were met and exceeded. The reviews and photos were spot on and it had the extra bonus of being secluded from all those awful big name big box hotels, you know the ones I mean. The staff was so welcoming and responsive, I felt my business was appreciated. The room was clean and looked recently decorated. The bed linens were crisp and clean, and the bed was very fluffy just like the fresh towels. My bathroom had this adorable little rubber duckie in it, a small touch that I won't soon forget. After my great nights rest I went and checked out the breakfast, which was a full breakfast made to order. They said that was because of the slow season, but I didn't care because it was made fresh for me, added bonus! After I finished breakfast I packed up and checked out, again the staff was outstanding. Upon leaving I discovered another great thing about this place is, it is on the way to Crested Butte. This was a perfect excuse for me to get some snowboarding in. This place would be a perfect to stay at for a skiing or snowboarding trip in Crested Butte. I will definitely be back here for my annual road trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro G, General Manager at The Inn at Tomichi Village, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Lee,

Thank you for reviewing us after your visit. We were very happy to hear how much you enjoyed staying with us and hope that you will indeed visit us again on your next trip to the area. So glad to hear that you had the opportunity to get in some snowboarding on your trip...it's great, isn't it?

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

We made this reservation because we were on our way to Telluride, and thought we would stop half way. The comments and pictures looked great. We arrived and were given the key to a room (all the rooms and windows open to the outside--very unprivate and insecure), and when we drove to it (in cold weather, it is really better to have inside rooms and elevators!) we found it in a total uproar, beds unmade, refridg in the middle of the room, etc. So, we carried our suitcases down the outside stairs and put them back into the car (below 0 weather) and drove back to the office. They said that the maintenance man must have turned on the heat in the wrong unit, or the housekeeping made up the wrong unit. They then gave us the key to the room next to it. Rewind, and we went to that room, all the while freezing outside in the cold weather. This room was made up, but smelled terribly musty, and had an empty plastic bottle sticking out from under the bed. The beds had unusually heavy blankets on, which felt like an x-ray shield while trying to sleep. It was hard to turn over, and we weren't comfortable with the intense smell. Also, we were much too hot. The heat would not turn down or off to a comfortable temperature, so we were forced to try to sleep on top of the blankets. The bathroom showed dirty grout between the tiles, the unmovable shower nozzle faced almost straight out at an inconvenient 90 degree angle, and the cover for the screws on the metal hand hold was off and dangling. The next morning we went to get the "free buffet breakfast" only to find a very pleasant woman there telling us that we had to order. We asked for eggs and muffins and a bagel, and were given about two forkfuls of scrambled eggs, and a badly burned bagel. She asked if we wanted her to make some more eggs, and we said, yes, please, and she asked if I wanted another bagel instead of the charred one. I told her not to bother. We told her about the blankets and she told us it got quite cold there. I said we were from CO, and had stayed at all the ski resorts where it, too, was very cold. But they had warm but light quilts which were not uncomfortable. We told her it had been too hot, and she again said it was cold there, and that and the bad smell were probably a result of the maintenance man turning on the heat--that it always smells at first. It appeared we were the only guests that night, maybe one other car, and they were not at all ready for guests. Furthermore, they are not actually in Gunnison, but a ways before the city limits. Just after the city limits we saw what appeared to be a nice Holiday Inn Express, which would have been a better choice. This room cost $122 with tax, and it was definitely not worth it. She agreed to take $10 off for our inconvenience, but I would have much rather had a good night's sleep. I would absolutely not recommend this place until they get their act together.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant, no room service. No elevators, because it is really a motel, and all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro G, General Manager at The Inn at Tomichi Village, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We dropped the ball by putting you in the wrong room, unfortunately the ball kept rolling and got really big! We must apologize for the things we could have done better. The error with the room was a miscommunication between our front desk and the maintenance man. The breakfast, yes, it is a daily challenge to try to provide food for only a few people when you are more set up to feed a crowd. We didn’t meet that challenge on the day you visited us but thank you for pointing out that while the breakfast didn’t meet your expectations our employee was very pleasant. Your comments about the shower nozzle, grout and handle cover have all been addressed by the maintenance man.

We’re sorry that our blankets made you so uncomfortable. We’ve received many compliments on this personal preference item you mention. We probably will not be changing our brand new bedding any time soon, sorry.

Finally there is our location and the fact that we are a motel and not a hotel. Those two items are things we just cannot realistically change. We are not a hotel with indoor elevators and nowhere do we try to imply that we are. Sorry if you misunderstood. And yes we do realize we are 1.5 miles from downtown Gunnison but again we have many customers who tell us they love that about The Inn because it is so peaceful. And again, that is really a matter of personal preference.

Again, thank you so much for taking the time to review us!

P.S. We'll have our restaurant open in a few months.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We just spent a few nights at The Inn at Tomichi Village which is located very near the city limits of Gunnison, CO. I expected a nice stay based on the reviews I had read. The rooms are very nice as the place has been renovated recently. The hot tub, pool area was very nice also. We were pleasantly surprised with breakfast each morning. Maybe because it is the off season, we were waited on and our breakfast was cooked to order! Very nice! Get a deluxe queen room if you can! Since we were there to ski we loved being able to park our car right outside of our room for quick and easy access. No complaints at all and we are looking forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjespinoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro G, General Manager at The Inn at Tomichi Village, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing us-we appreciate your time. We were happy to hear you really enjoyed your visit with us and that you look forward to staying here again. Hope you enjoyed the skiing also!
Again, thank you.

With warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Very comfortable, affordable and spacious hotel in Gunnison CO. We stayed for a short 2 day trip to Crested Butte Ski resort and found the accommodations to be perfect. Staff was very friendly and eager to please. Rooms were recently redecorated and large enough for our party. Hot tub and pool were exactly what we needed after a full day of skiing. Heating was a bit high and took the room quite some time to cool, but once we got there we were fine and the hotel staff were very concerned about our comfort levels.

Room Tip: Rooms next fo the main office are quite warm during the winters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chile01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro G, General Manager at The Inn at Tomichi Village, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to review us here on Trip Advisor, we really do appreciate all comments we receive. We were happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and hope we'll see you again should you pass this way again!

With warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I travel in this area a lot to scout for whitewater rafting trips, so I have stayed in many of the hotels in the area, and "The Inn at T," as I like to call it, is by far my favorite. After my last stay I felt it was time to finally write a review. First, its location is slightly off the beaten path so it offers an extra dose of quiet seclusion. The location and quality of the rooms (I think they have been renovated recently) were amazing, but what sealed the deal was the service. The beds were very comfortable and the customer service was on point. Most things are thought of in advance and any request I put in was taken care of immediately. I will definitely be sticking with this cozy inn for the foreseeable future.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro G, General Manager at The Inn at Tomichi Village, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Scott,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write us a fantastic review! We work hard to give our guests a comfortable experience here at The Inn and words such as yours really do resonate with all of us here. We look forward to your next visit to the beautiful Gunnison area and "The Inn at T".

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

A lovely and comfortable Inn. Rooms are newly renovated and well appointed. The service was great from time we checked in, efficient, pleasant and always helpful. Staff upgraded our room free of charge and it turned out to be very convenient; having one of their deluxe rooms gave us more space for our skiing equipment. This property is only 23 miles from Crested Butte Mountain so it was fantastic not paying $200.00 a night in Crested Butte. Overall a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro G, General Manager at The Inn at Tomichi Village, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear William,

We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Inn. Thank you for taking the time to review us! Happy skiing!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

A very upscale room (the hotel was recently renovated) with a full breakfast in the attached restaurant - quite a nice surprise once you find the hotel! The hotel is not in town - in fact, it is across from a cow pasture so keep going til you find it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsa819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro G, Manager at The Inn at Tomichi Village, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking a few minutes to review us. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gunnison
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Gunnison
167 reviews
2.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Gunnison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
808 reviews
4.1 mi away
Water Wheel Inn
Water Wheel Inn
#11 of 12 in Gunnison
94 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Alpine Inn
The Alpine Inn
#6 of 12 in Gunnison
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Tomichi Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Tomichi Village

Address: 41883 Hwy 50 East, Gunnison, CO 81230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Gunnison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gunnison
#1 Family Hotel in Gunnison
#3 Business Hotel in Gunnison
Price Range: £71 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Tomichi Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BALANCE...Everyone is looking for this in their life and you might be surprised when you find it at The Inn at Tomichi Village. Fancy rooms...Not really, but from our simple exterior you will be surprised by the tastefully appointed furnishings, the luxurious bedding, the large flat screen TVs, and extra outlets and data ports, in case you're not lucky enough to be able to unplug while you're with us. You'll be far enough out of town to enjoy the beauty and tranquility of your surroundings, but close enough to civilization in case you get an urge for a vanilla latte with soy! But there are so many reasons not to leave the property, once you are here. You can wake up to our delicious, complimentary hot breakfast. At the end of your day, unwind in the atrium enclosed pool and hot tub offering panoramic views of the areas. Sit out and relax in our beautiful, tree lined courtyard where we host outdoor movie nights on weekend nights during the summer season. You need another reason not to get back into your car? Well, you can dine right on property at Gunnison's newest restaurant, Blue Mesa Grill, featuring coastal inspired seafood dishes, fresh sushi, mouthwatering steaks and in-house ground burgers. The carefully selected wine list will provide you with the perfect compliment to your meal. Our newly renovated dining area is spacious enough to host meetings and social events for up to 100 guests. Let us coordinate all your event planning requirements and ensure you receive outstanding service from your first contact through the end of your event. We look forward to seeing you at The Inn at Tomichi Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Tomichi Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affordable Inns @ Tomichi Village Hotel Gunnison
Tomichi Village Gunnison
Best Western Gunnison
Tomichi Village Hotel Gunnison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing