We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Night at Days Inn Gunnison”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Gunnison
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Gunnison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manager-17542, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Gunnison, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

My husband and I found this hotel while site seeing in the area. When we walked in it was so warm and welcoming, from the fresh baked cookies to the pleasant and knowledgeable staff. We felt right at home. Our room was clean and comfortable and we had biscuits and gravy for breakfast!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdaPatada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-17542, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Gunnison, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for your review and for your encouraging words. This is a great time to travel through because all the fall colors our coming out in this area. We try to treat every guest like family so it feels like home. We hope that next time you visit you would stay with us again.

Brandon Hert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We arrived late; around 10pm with no reservations. The hotel appeared to be well kept, the rooms were clean and comfortable. Check in was quick and the staff courteous Overall value for the one night stay was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Gm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-17542, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Gunnison, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest
I appreciate you noticing our staff keeping the property clean and comfortable. We strive to create the best Value in town. The staff and I hope to see you soon.
Brandon Hert
Always striving to achieve more

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Shelda S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manager-17542, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Gunnison, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 September 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manager-17542, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Gunnison, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for about a week. The people at the desk were friendly and shared the hotel had been completely remodeled over the spring. Our room wasn't bad, but I don't think they remodeled everything. Our shower/bathtub was older and dirty. The beds were most likely new and very hard. There are two hot tubs outside on a covered patio that seemed new, but needed chairs or places to set your towels as we had to hang ours on the fence. All in all, for the price we paid, we got a good deal with average rooms and great aervice.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank New2Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-17542, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Gunnison, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest
I want to say thank you for your response and I am glad that you enjoyed your stayed. I also like your suggestion about a towel hook around the hot tubs, I plan on doing that. I hope the next time you visit Gunnison you will choose to stay with us.

Thank you
Brandon Hert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This property was apparently recently renovated

The pluses:
* Location: just a beautiful 30 minute drive to Crested Butte
* Rebecca the desk clerk (not Rebecca the manager)
* Low rates compared to other properties in the area
* They honored our request for a first floor room, as one of my friends had a foot injury
* The rooms are nice, although ours was very small.

The minuses:
We were there for three nights...checking in Friday afternoon, and out Monday morning.
* The first room we were assigned to, 106, had a fan in the bathroom that didn't work. We had to move all of our luggage (3 people) to another room.
* Saturday, we went to Crested Butte, and left the hotel at 9 am . We returned at 9pm to find that our room had not been made up. The beds were unmade, the dirty towels were still on the floor of the bathroom, and the trash cans were still full. I reported it to the desk clerk, Rebecca, who said she had no idea why. She went into the linen storage room and gave me three bath towels, one hand towel, and no washcloths. I had to go to our room, get the dirty towels, take them to the linen room myself, and get the hand towels and washcloths myself., Rebecca told me to talk to Rebecca the manager the next morning, when she'd be on duty.
* The next morning,, I asked the young, male desk clerk for Rebecca the manager. I was told she was asleep (it was 7 am). I went back at 8 and was told she was still asleep. The manager's husband was there, and I told him what had happened. I asked for a discount on my room for that night. He said he'd check with Rebecca, and they'd leave a note under my door as to what would be done. He also told me management was off on the weekends, and there was no manager on duty on the weekends. There was no note under my door as he'd promised.
* I called the hotel Sunday afternoon to see if it was resolved. Rebecca the desk clerk told me that the management couple was out, was unreachable by cell phone, and that I'd have to talk to them when I returned that evening.
* Sunday evening, we had our door slightly cracked, as one of our friends had walked out to the car for a moment. Rebecca the manager stumbled into our room without knocking. When I asked if I could help her, she didn't respond, turned around, stumbled out, and went into the room next door. Really?!?!?
* I talked to the husband again, and he granted us a discount for the day before when our room was not cleaned. He had no explanation as to why Rebecca would have come into our room without knocking.
* At one point, I was at Safeway, called back to the hotel to talk to my friend in our room, and the desk clerk, who was new, said he didn't know how to transfer me to my room,.
* The breakfast, although "free" (included in the room rate) lacks healthy options. There are waffles, biscuits and gravy, bagels and muffins, stale raisin bran, fruit loops, canned fruit, and oatmeal packets. No fresh fruit, no yogurt, no real protein sources like hard boiled eggs.


Overall, it was a decent property with seriously terrible management and service. They definitely have some issues they need to resolve.

Room Tip: Room 106 had a broken bathroom fan. Room 108 was decent but small. I don't know if all the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovesoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-17542, Owner at Days Inn & Suites Gunnison, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

First, I want to apologize for the many inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. We always strive to make each guest’s stay memorable, comfortable, and happy, during their visit; and it is distressing to hear of your dissatisfaction. It is of utmost importance that our housekeeping staff leaves every room clean, well-stocked, and in order. Our entire team is very sorry to hear that this was not the case in your room.

I understand that having a manager on property is important, and I apologize for any confusion, as Robert is one of our managers. We understand that everything was not perfect during your stay, but we appreciate that you shared the positives as well. Thank you for sharing that our front desk staff was accommodating, and that you enjoyed the beauty that our town has to offer. Our guest satisfaction is our number one priority, and we appreciate your review. Since we were just recently remodeled, and reopened, our staff is undergoing lots of training, and your comments will help up to better our guest experience and satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Brandon Hert,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gunnison hotels
2.7 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Gunnison
165 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Water Wheel Inn
Water Wheel Inn
#11 of 12 in Gunnison
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Alpine Inn
The Alpine Inn
#7 of 12 in Gunnison
189 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 12 in Gunnison
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Gunnison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Gunnison

Address: 701 West Highway 50, Gunnison, CO 81230-4037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Gunnison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gunnison
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gunnison
#2 Business Hotel in Gunnison
#4 Family Hotel in Gunnison
Price Range: £48 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn & Suites Gunnison 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the Gunnison National Forest mountains, our Days Inn & Suites Gunnison hotel near Western State Colorado University is a terrific location for your vacation. Located off Highway 50, our hotel is a short drive to national parks, ski areas, and other local attractions. Start your morning with our free continental breakfast and check in with work and home with free WiFi. Unwind in our hot tub or sauna. Cribs and non-smoking rooms are available at our pet-friendly hotel, as well as free parking for your car, truck, or RV. All rooms come with a microwave and refrigerator. Explore canyons, cliffs, and gullies at Black Canyon National Park. With skiing, hiking, rock climbing, concerts, and more, Crested Butte Ski Area offers year-round activities. Work on your swing at the Dos Rios Golf Club. Our hotel is surrounded by ideal locations for hunting, hiking, whitewater rafting, and horseback riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Gunnison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Gunnison
Gunnison Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing