We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Gunnison
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Gunnison
Reviewed 6 May 2008

We stayed in this hotel the first week of April. The rooms were never stocked with towels, coffee, etc.... Exercise equipment was broken- requested that it be fixed and they ignored us. The 3rd day we were there the bathroom and bedroom had water on the floor from upstairs leak. We were leaving hotel and were told to pack up immediately and move to another room. We asked for compensation and received none. I put in a complaint to Travelocity and they said the manager denied any complaints. Travelocity compensated us but the hotel was pitiful.

Stayed: April 2008
3  Thank cajunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2008

Didn't want to pay the steep holiday prices on Crested Butte Mtn, so opted to stay 28 miles away at the Quality Inn. We splurged and got 2 rooms so the four of us (parents and 2 teenage sons) could spread out. They were happy to give us rooms next to each other; they were clean and recently renovated...the pool/hot tub was welcome after skiing. Breakfast was great complete with hot items. We commented that the price was so cheap we wondered how they made any money, let alone pay for the renovations. They also offered great discounts on ski tickets. The drive up to the mountain was good in the daylight, but the return to the hotel was in the evening during a snow storm was challenging...be sure you have studs, snow tires and/or all wheel drive.

Stayed: December 2007
Thank 4dawgswoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2008

My wife and I travel a fair amount, and prefer Hiltons and Marriotts but also stay in Choice hotels when we are in further flung locales. I booked us into the Gunnison Quality Inn on the first night of a week long trip, figuring we'd be tired from both flying and driving by the time we got to the hotel and it really wouldn't matter where we stayed. We were delighted by the accomodations at this property.

The room itself was slightly above standard Quality Inn standards, with a larger bathroom that had a jacuzzi tub (which we did not use) and a shower stall. There was a basket of goodies in the room, with things like granola bars and energy drink mix. The soaps and shampoos were nicer than other QI that we've stayed at.

The nice, young local girl working the front desk gave us a quick (and as best I could tell, accurate) rundown of our dining options. We enjoyed dinner out and slept well in the comfortable bed. Our only complaint (and a minor one) was that when we arrived in the breakfast room one minute after it was scheduled to open (we were still on East Coast time) the girl putting out the breakfast goodies wasn't very far along. The coffee was good and hot, though, the most important detail.

We did not use the indoor pool, but it looked good. Our rate for the night, booked online, was a steal as far as I could tell - just under $50 for a night. We were entirely satisfied with the Gunnison Quality Inn and would not hesitate to stay there again if our travels take us that way.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptainPlanIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2007

This hotel along with most of the others in Gunnison is on the main road through.

The room was clean and tidy and well equipped. Free internet access in the lobby and a quality breakfast espcially the waffle machine.

Good value

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lillybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2007

We were just staying at this hotel as a stop on a leg of our trip, not specifically to visit Gunnison, but we were very pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The room was very spacious, with granite counters, great bed, spa (though it said it would fit two and it would only fit two if they were very small or kids) and a great little basket of goodies (toiletries, extra everythings, like teas, toothpaste, lotions, even hair ties). I used the ironing board and iron, and the spa was great for me. Hubby just had to wait his turn. :) Everything in the room worked well. No unexpected problems. I would definitely stay here again!

The lobby and breakfast was great. This is not the typical continental breakfast. Great waffles, eggs, meats, breads, papers and nice staff.

Tip: dont order a banana split from the sonic next door. no banana! very, very small. More like a sundae.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pgfan4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2007

We traveled with another couple, and booked their 2 Bedroom suite with 1 Queen bed in each room sharing a hugh bath. The price was great, $89, and their Breakfast was very plentiful. We needed & used the computer in the lobby. The pool and hot tub being enclosed made it very comfortable, along with seperate Bathrooms nearby. We were greeted with a gift basket full of useful products. Also a couple of snacks by the checkin desk with Gum and granola bars. Extra friendly staff made our stay even more pleasant. We traveled around to Ouray, Durango, Over the mtn from Silverton to Lake City, and ended back in Gunnison for another night AT the Quality Inn. Can't Beat the price and QUALITY...

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank louisianagang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2007

Gunnison is way on the other side of the Continental Divide from my home; I had never visited the town. A sage-grouse study prompted my stay. I took the hotel recommendation of the study organizers, and it was a good one: Quality Inn is neat and clean; all the required functions (lights, hot water, outlets, etc) operated well; the beds were comfortable; the location central; and the noise minimal. What more can you ask?

There is a small pool (but don't try swimming laps; not possible) and a hot tub. The breakfast is better than average for the budget category. There are really good alternatives for elaborate (thought not gourmet) meals across the street and within a few blocks (walkable). For example, the Chinese restaurant further west on Tomichi is inexpensive and much better than the usual fare in small towns.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GentilleAlouette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gunnison
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 12 in Gunnison
166 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
1.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Gunnison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison
2.5 mi away
Water Wheel Inn
Water Wheel Inn
#11 of 12 in Gunnison
94 reviews
24.6 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Gunnison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Gunnison

Address: 400 E Tomichi Ave, Gunnison, CO 81230-2031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Gunnison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Gunnison
Price Range: £49 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Gunnison 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Gunnison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gunnison Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing