We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding, quiet hotel in the middle of everything”
Review of Haywood Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Haywood Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Great place to stay, right in the heart of Asheville. It's small and quite luxurious, though not outrageously expensive. A good value. Service was excellent. Glass of champagne at check in is a nice touch. Big rooms. You can walk to everything. Great for a getaway night on the town in Asheville.

Room Tip: splurge for the bigger room and enjoy the garden tub and big separate shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed at the Haywood Park Hotel for 5 nights during the Holidays. My family of 5 was extremely comfortable in our VERY LARGE 2 queen room. Our room was clean, had a large sitting area and a big bathroom (with a TV in it). All of the staff were super nice, especially Terri from the front desk. There are so many cool restaurants around the hotel for breakfast, we ate at a different one every day. For Dinner, all the good restaurants and pubs are in walking distance from the Hotel...No driving needed!! If you do need your Car, the staff will bring it to the front within minutes from the free valet parking.
We will be going back to Asheville soon and staying at The Haywood Park Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Spouse and I have stayed at the Haywood twice this year. The location in the heart of the best parts of Asheville is perfect. You are close to all the best shops, restaurants and activities. We only have to get in the car to go to farther flung shopping points or to nearby Biltmore Estate. The rooms are very large and comfortable. Service has been excellent, with good attention at the front desk and from bell and valet services. There is no room service as the onsite restaurant is in transition, so this prevents a higher overall rating for us. There is also no onsite pool but there is a decent fitness room. We really like the reasonable rates for the perfect location. This is a good place for couples as well as family or business.

Room Tip: Historical department store/office building has spacious 4 floors and rooms, but higher floors seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnNC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We decided to spend New Years with friends who live in Asheville. We chose the Haywood because it was downtown and central to everything. It exceeded our expectations in every way. The room was Grand, clean and well cared for. Every amenity you could think of was available. Staff was very helpful and attentive to our needs. Location was excellent. All shopping, restaurants were in walking distance and the shopkeepers we encountered were the friendliest we've ever found. I drink a lot of water - primarily bottled. I could not belieview how good the tap water tasted. It was excellent!! This history of the hotel added to its ambience.

If there was any negative - it would have to relate to the time of year we chose to visit. The hotel restaurant and piano bar was not open. We will most definitely visit again and recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: Didn't experience the pool and restaurant was closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location and the room sizes are large, but that is it. The hotel has no restaurant, not even coffee in the morning. For over $325 per night, I expect more. One other favorable thing is that, for being right down town, it was very quiet.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKMVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenHaywoodPark, Director of Sales at Haywood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that you appreciated our superb location in the Heart of Town and our expansive rooms.

However, we are troubled that you perceived little value in your stay. While you indicated we have nothing more than a great location and large rooms, we do feel that we offer some key elements, such as complimentary valet parking, bell service, champagne upon arrival, turndown service with Chocolate Fetish truffles, small gift upon departure, in-room amenities such as guest robes and slippers, high thread count sheets, luxury mattresses and Gilchrist & Soames bath amenities, that add value to our overall guest experience.

Unfortunately, our restaurant is currently closed but each room does feature a Keurig coffee maker with complimentary coffee, and we also offer coffee delivered to your room for a fee. You will be pleased to know though that the Haywood Park Café will be opening soon in the Atrium, adjacent to the hotel lobby. The café will be open for breakfast and lunch offering items such as, coffee, pastries and paninis.

Additionally, a new restaurant/bar will be opening directly off the hotel lobby in the coming year. Both of these additions will enhance our guest dining experience. Also, while it is technically not the hotel’s restaurant, the Bier Garden is located within the hotel complex, and they do provide room service to our guests for lunch and dinner.

We strive to offer our guests the complete experience and would like to express our most sincere apologies that you were not extremely satisfied with your stay at Haywood Park Hotel. We do hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you again and exceed your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Great Hotel in the heart of downtown Asheville, NC. .The staff was great and very accommodating. I stayed in just the basic room with a king sized bed, the room was very nice, clean and spacious. The bathrooms are also very spacious, allowing room for two sinks, a shower,a jacuzzi tub and a nice sized flatscreen TV visable from all angles of the room. There was also a seperate powder room that connected to main bathroom, which had its own sink, closet, and plenty of mirrors. The main room was very large and provided ample room to lounge around, enjoy the comfortable sofa and large flatscreen TV. There was also a large picture window that gave a great view of the downtown area.

Along with the quality service the location was perfect for exploring the city of Asheville for the first time. Right when you walk out the front door you are exposed to the cultural center of Asheville. There are many nice nearby restaurants, bars, coffee shops, clothing and retail shops and art galleries in very short walking distance, many even just right across the street. Although the Haywood is not a mountain side resort it is only about a ten minute drive to the Biltmore and I-40. I will definately stay at the Haywwod the next time I'm back in Asheville. Would highly recommend for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

we spent 2 nights in Haywood hotel and were pleased by the property. Rooms are big, bathrooms are very nice with marble floors and vanities. The hotel is located in the center of downtown of Asheville, very close to everything. Only 1 minor thing. All rooms except the grand king suite have relatively small bathtabs, kinda tight for 2 tall people. But if you dont have a habit to take a bath together, you can disregard my comment re the bathtab. The staff is very warm and helpful. I cam also recommend the Early girl eatery for breakfest, 2 mins of walking

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lutsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 66 in Asheville
1,004 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haywood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haywood Park Hotel

Address: One Battery Park Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-2717
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#3 Family Hotel in Asheville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: £217 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haywood Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its earliest days as a high-end department store, our location has been the center of Asheville’s social and cultural scene. Haywood Park puts you right in the heart of the Asheville experience — fabulous food, art, theater, live music, nightlife — all within footsteps. And when you’re finished with the dining, dancing, shopping and cheering, you’ll be pampered in rooms that are larger and more luxurious than any other in the area. If you want to truly immerse yourself in the hospitality, excitement and surprise that Asheville is famous for, there’s only one place to stay. Haywood Park Hotel. The Heart of Town.•33 luxuriously appointed, oversized suites ranging in size from 475 to 1,200 sq ft •A Historic Hotels of America property •Complimentary wireless Internet • Valet Parking (surcharge applies) •Bell service •Concierge services •Champagne at check-in •Nightly turndown service with handmade chocolates from The Chocolate Fetish® •Small gift upon departure •43″ HDTVs in each guestroom & 27″ flat panel TVs in each bathroom •Amenity closet in each suite with a wet bar, mini-refrigerator and Keurig® coffee maker •Fitness center •Business center •100% smoke-free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Haywood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haywood Park Asheville
Hotel Haywood Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing