We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect winter night”
Review of Haywood Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Haywood Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Bantam, Connecticut, United States
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“perfect winter night”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

long drive, too much snow, warm, hospitable, relaxing; close to town and shopping; pretty community. hotel is an old department store, and the history is preserved. wished there had been more places to eat--without a reservation, no restaurant would seat us, on a Sat. nite, at 7:30. but the hotel was lovely.

Room Tip: jacuzzi bathtub, marble bathroom huge!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    129
    36
    23
    19
See reviews for
118
450
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tarboro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I hate to write this because I would like to keep this to myself. But, to be fair I have to say it is a great place to stay downtown. Service was warm & friendly by all staff. Room was large & comfortable. Location is absolutely perfect. Please don't tell anyone else.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We stayed three nights at the Haywood Park Hotel in Asheville, and it was a great choice. The location is phenomenal. You are across the street from the cares and shops on Wall Street, around the corner from Malaprops Bookstore, and within a 5 minute walk of all the great restaurants and shops downtown. Valet parking is complimentary, so getting in and out for trips to Grove Park, the Biltmore, etc. is easy. Our room was huge, and the bathroom with separate tub and shower (with dual jets) was great.

Best of all, the service at the hotel was impeccable. From the glass of champagne you receive at check in, the staff is friendly, attentive, and caring. You get the sense that they are all personally invested in the quality of your stay. A case in point: I started coming down with a nasty cold midway through our stay. Ed at the front desk sent extra hot apple ciders for the Keurig coffee maker in our room and offered to have someone go to a local drug store to get more Tylenol or cold medicine. Good luck finding that sort of attentive, caring service at 99% of hotels out there.

We were very impressed with the Haywood Park, and would return for another stay without hesitation. It's a real gem in Asheville.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fllglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Our four night stay was all the comfort and more that we expected from this property, the staff was warm and friendly from the moment we arrived until our departure. If your time in Asheville is limited and you want a luxury hotel base to walk nearly everywhere, choose The Haywood Park Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brevard, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Great place to stay, right in the heart of Asheville. It's small and quite luxurious, though not outrageously expensive. A good value. Service was excellent. Glass of champagne at check in is a nice touch. Big rooms. You can walk to everything. Great for a getaway night on the town in Asheville.

Room Tip: splurge for the bigger room and enjoy the garden tub and big separate shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed at the Haywood Park Hotel for 5 nights during the Holidays. My family of 5 was extremely comfortable in our VERY LARGE 2 queen room. Our room was clean, had a large sitting area and a big bathroom (with a TV in it). All of the staff were super nice, especially Terri from the front desk. There are so many cool restaurants around the hotel for breakfast, we ate at a different one every day. For Dinner, all the good restaurants and pubs are in walking distance from the Hotel...No driving needed!! If you do need your Car, the staff will bring it to the front within minutes from the free valet parking.
We will be going back to Asheville soon and staying at The Haywood Park Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Spouse and I have stayed at the Haywood twice this year. The location in the heart of the best parts of Asheville is perfect. You are close to all the best shops, restaurants and activities. We only have to get in the car to go to farther flung shopping points or to nearby Biltmore Estate. The rooms are very large and comfortable. Service has been excellent, with good attention at the front desk and from bell and valet services. There is no room service as the onsite restaurant is in transition, so this prevents a higher overall rating for us. There is also no onsite pool but there is a decent fitness room. We really like the reasonable rates for the perfect location. This is a good place for couples as well as family or business.

Room Tip: Historical department store/office building has spacious 4 floors and rooms, but higher floors seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnNC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#18 of 66 in Asheville
986 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haywood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haywood Park Hotel

Property: Haywood Park Hotel
Address: One Battery Park Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-2717
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#3 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Haywood Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its earliest days as a high-end department store, our location has been the center of Asheville’s social and cultural scene. Haywood Park puts you right in the heart of the Asheville experience — fabulous food, art, theater, live music, nightlife — all within footsteps. And when you’re finished with the dining, dancing, shopping and cheering, you’ll be pampered in rooms that are larger and more luxurious than any other in the area. If you want to truly immerse yourself in the hospitality, excitement and surprise that Asheville is famous for, there’s only one place to stay. Haywood Park Hotel. The Heart of Town.•33 luxuriously appointed, oversized suites ranging in size from 475 to 1,200 sq ft •A Historic Hotels of America property •Complimentary wireless Internet • Valet Parking (surcharge applies) •Bell service •Concierge services •Champagne at check-in •Nightly turndown service with handmade chocolates from The Chocolate Fetish® •Small gift upon departure •43″ HDTVs in each guestroom & 27″ flat panel TVs in each bathroom •Amenity closet in each suite with a wet bar, mini-refrigerator and Keurig® coffee maker •Fitness center •Business center •100% smoke-free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Haywood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haywood Park Asheville
Hotel Haywood Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing