We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in the heart of downtown” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haywood Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Haywood Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel in the heart of downtown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Yes, there are a couple of new hotels in downtown Asheville, but they are on the edges Haywood Park is truly in the very heart of downtown. The location cannot be beat. Add to that a friendly staff and huge rooms and bathrooms. And you are supporting the continued revitalization of downtown. Haywood Park is a conversion of a former department store -- all interpreted at the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    118
    33
    21
    18
See reviews for
111
415
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

My finance and I recently stayed three nights at the Haywood Park Hotel in downtown Asheville. Our wonderful visit started with Ed at the reception desk. He is an excellent ambassador for both the hotel and Asheville. Ed made us feel immediately welcome with an efficient check-in and then shared with us a map of Asheville and he had great suggestions for dining and breweries/pubs (part of our reason for visiting).

The hotel is in an old department store in the heart of downtown with large well-appointed rooms and a large bathroom with lots of counter space – the TV in the bathroom is a nice feature too while getting ready. But it is the little touches that set the Haywood apart – free valet service (both valets during our stay were excellent!), glass of bubbly at check-in, turn-down service with Chocolate Fetish truffles (they are awesome and the shop is right next door), daily newspaper, breakfast is included from the café, and a bag upon checkout with water and a snack for the long drive back to Illinois! Isa’s Bistro, the on-site restaurant is excellent too! We WILL be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CD753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simpsonville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

My daughter and I enjoyed a getaway at this lovely hotel in downtown Asheville. The location was perfect- walking distance to all the stores, restaurants, and music venues we wanted to visit. The hotel staff went above and beyond to be accommodating and friendly. The champagne at check in and the chocolates each evening were nice touches. We enjoyed the breakfasts, the bathroom was amazing, and the spa treatments were wonderful. Keeping some of the features from the former department store make Haywood Park Hotel a special place. We plan on returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at the Haywood for the second time (first was a year ago) and this time brought along our teenagers. We were celebrating so we splurged for the Grand King Suite and adjoining Superior Queen for the teens. It was a fabulous set up with the sitting room between the two sleeping rooms.

This hotel is the best location of all in Asheville -- right in the middle of downtown in the midst of all the shops, restaurants and bars. We go to Asheville mostly for the food and can walk to all but one of our favorite restaurants from the Haywood. When we want to drive, the Haywood makes it easy (and free) to get our car out of the free valet parking.

The rooms were again immaculate. It's one of the only hotels that I would gladly walk barefoot on the carpet (but I don't have to because the hotel supplies slippers for its guests).

The only thing to be aware of is that it's central location, you can hear some of the comings and goings of the city. For us that is one of the Asheville experiences.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are larger than average, including living areas with sofas. The Grand King Suite is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jrf22nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a fantastic location, right in the heart of downtown Asheville. It's well worth the extra cost to be able to walk right out the door and into the action. Plus, the price includes lots of extras - free wifi, free breakfast, free parking, champagne at check-in, and nightly turn-down service with delicious chocolates. Who could ask for more? Rooms are very large and well-appointed, and the decor is charming. The remnants of the building's history as a department store just add to the charm. (Except that my husband thinks the children's mannequins on our floor are a little creepy.) :-). We loved our stay at Haywood Park!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank justcindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Had a double-booking situation at the ALOFT (wrote a negative review for them) and Haywood came to the rescue! we arrive to Asheville road weary on the first night of our honeymoon, dreaming of a soak in a big whirlpool tub, when we were told our reservations at ALOFT were overbooked. After scrambling to figure something out, biding our time at dinner, the Haywood was able to get us a giant suite for that night and the rest of our trip. We were welcomed with chilled champagne and superfriendly staff. The hotel is old, but its neat the way they incorporate the vibe of the historic department store that the hotel now occupies. The room was super clean and well equipped, and most definitely the most luxurious suite we've ever stayed in. Two GIANT rooms on the corner of the buidling with giant windows over looking the Asheville downtown. A giant bathroom, with a giant whirlpool tub, beautiful marble everything. This room was definitely the highlight of our honeymoon! The location is fantastic, walk steps to restaurants, shopping, and nightlife. Thanks Haywood for saving the day!!!

Room Tip: if you are going all out, the suites are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Door County, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stayed at the Haywood Park Hotel for 3 nights last week. I had booked the hotel online, choosing it mostly for its location. What a good choice it turned out to be! First, it's location is perfect - it's in the heart of the downtown action, within walking distance of many good restaurants, coffee shops and cute boutiques. To add to that, it's a sweet little hotel. At check-in we were greeted by a warm, professional staff who instantly made us feel at home. Before sending us up to our room we were offered a glass of champagne or chilled bottled water. Our room was very large and well appointed - looked exactly like the photos on their website. Included with our room rate were several little niceties that are often extra charges - valet parking, in-room wi-fi and breakfast. The breakfast is at an adjacent coffee shop and it's not very impressive but it's enough to get you started for the day. Their dinner restaurant - Isa's Bistro - is another story. We ate there our first night, being tired after a long day driving. It was wonderful. My husband and I split an appetizer, salad and entree. All were expertly prepared and delicious! Kudos to the chef. Overall our stay at the Haywood Park was delightful right up to check-out when they gave us a "goody bag" to enjoy on the way to our next destination. Smile for the little surprises that make a difference. I would recommend this property. It's a refreshing choice among a sea of chain hotels that appear everywhere in Asheville.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street. It got a little noisy early morning when trash collectors and other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 63 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haywood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haywood Park Hotel

Property: Haywood Park Hotel
Address: 1 Battery Park Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-2717
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#3 Family Hotel in Asheville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Haywood Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its earliest days as a high-end department store, our location has been the center of Asheville’s social and cultural scene. Haywood Park puts you right in the heart of the Asheville experience — fabulous food, art, theater, live music, nightlife — all within footsteps. And when you’re finished with the dining, dancing, shopping and cheering, you’ll be pampered in rooms that are larger and more luxurious than any other in the area. If you want to truly immerse yourself in the hospitality, excitement and surprise that Asheville is famous for, there’s only one place to stay. Haywood Park Hotel. The Heart of Town.•33 luxuriously appointed, oversized suites ranging in size from 475 to 1,200 sq ft •A Historic Hotels of America property •Complimentary wireless Internet •Complimentary valet & self-parking •Bell service •Concierge services •Champagne at check-in •Nightly turndown service with handmade chocolates from The Chocolate Fetish® •Small gift upon departure •I-home® docking stations •43″ HDTVs in each guestroom & 27″ flat panel TVs in each bathroom •Amenity closet in each suite with a wet bar, mini-refrigerator and Keurig® coffee maker •Fitness center •Business center •Banquet and meeting spaces •100% smoke-free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Haywood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haywood Park Asheville
Hotel Haywood Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing