We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel for Corporate Events” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haywood Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Haywood Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville
1 review
“Excellent hotel for Corporate Events”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

Our company has held corporate events at the Haywood Park Hotel for the past year. During this time we have found the hotel very accomodating and easy to work with. It is always a pleasure while planning for our events because they will go out of their way to meet any need we have. We love the location of the hotel, as it is in downtown Asheville. Our participants can easily walk to downtown shops and restaurants after our event is over and the hotel has sufficient parking to meet the number of event participants. I highly recommend this hotel to other companies looking for a space to hold an event. Their main ballroom is very large and can accomodate a variety of events.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashevillegirl1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    118
    33
    21
    18
See reviews for
111
415
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

I stayed at the Haywood Park while on business and found the hotel to be an excellent place to stay. The beds are very comfortable and they place chocolate truffles on your pillow at night-delicious,,,the rooms are large, very clean and have good closet space. Haywood Park's staff was very friendly and the fitness center was brand new with state of the art equipment. A definite repeat performance!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FaJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

What a nice place to stay. Close to many restaurants. Lots of shops and street entertainment. The rooms were large and clean. Although we stayed on the second floor street side....noise was not a problem. What this hotel lacks in newness, it makes up with friendly staff and character and charm.
We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artnut59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

There is not enough space to adequately describe our one night experience at the Haywood Park .
The AC failed after our arrival. The staff said that due to the “Holiday” there was no one available to add Freon to the system. At around 1:15 am, our plumbing failed. Staff said that the maintenance crew had “just left”. Although we reserved a room for three, the initial room had one glass and two bars of soap.
We were transferred to a different room whose beds were stripped and the room had not been cleaned, no toilet paper or towels, etc. We waited to be transferred to our third room of the tour and at this point, I wanted to leap from the window but of course they were sealed shut..We were sent to another additional room and finally got in to bed around 4:00am. The plumbing in the third and last room was questionable but I was too fatigued to complain.
This was my daughter’s birthday and as such, an event she will always remember. The “package deal “ included a dinner downstairs in the “Flying Frog” which was hampered by the lack of lights (to give it a cool feeling I am sure) and the sound of fans and unbearable humidity which gave it a “tropical touch”.
To put it simply, our stay was dismal and hazardous to our health. Asheville is a wonderful city but rather than stay at the Haywood Park, you may want to consider sleeping in your car on the street. During our four and one half hour drive back home my wife and daughter slept in the car. I don’t remember driving much as I am sure I dozed off and on as well.
Before we left my wife wanted me to await the arrival of the Hotel manager but I told her I did not want to meet Basil Fawlty.
The exhilaration I felt when we left was akin to my being discharged from the Service in 1972. I think I even kissed the ground when we arrived in our driveway.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank wolfbred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaywoodParkMgmt, Manager at Haywood Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2010
We sincerely apologize for the multiple problems this guest faced. While the failure of the building’s air-conditioning system was challenging and unexpected, we clearly could have done a better job of responding to this guest’s problems. As a result of this situation, the Haywood Park Hotel has implemented several staff and operational changes to insure the property reacts quickly and effectively to situations such as this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC area
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

What a great place to stay if you want to be in the center of action in downtown Asheville. All the best restaurants and shops were nearby, and we never had to use our car except for when we went further afield. The hotel provided free valet, and the car was always waiting for us when we called for it. The front desk staff were super helpful, and friendly as everyone else in Asheville seemed to be! Our room was always clean and spotless, and in fact was often done after we got back from breakfast, within an hour's time of leaving!

The only downsides are: 1The lobby is pretty dark and dim, and could use some paint and updating; the rooms (we had the second level $ suite) needed some updating, including a larger and a flat screen TV, newer style bed (although the spring bed was a lot more comfortable than I thought I would be), modern thermostat and better reading lights by the bed. BUT, our sofa and LARGE comfy chairs were great, as was the size of the room. We heard a bit of street noise, but that is what you get when you are in the middle of the action. They did have extra blocking plastic over the older windows that helped. It was always quite by 11 pm. The bathroom was showing wear and tear, but great water pressure and the jacuzzi style tub was great. Towels were huge and soft (but a little worn). Funky water faucets were amusing too!

This hotel used to be an old department store, and is classic on the outside. You definitely feel like you are in an older but nice building.

Bottom line, if they just start updating the rooms a bit, I would recommend this place whole heartedly without exception. Oh, and the free turn down service with the AMAZING chocolate truffles made it that much more special.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSVIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2010

We had such a great time in Asheville! The hotel was in the perfect location and we walked everywhere. The parking garage was also extremely convenient. Everyone we spoke to with the hotel staff was so helpful and friendly. The room was also great. They were very spacious and clean. We love Asheville and when we come back, we will definately be staying at the Haywood Park Hotel! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esme26_757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

We were booked in an enormous room. The hotel sits in the middle of downtown and has an excellent location. The room came with complimentary parking in a covered garage. And there is a bier garden attached to the building. The staff was friendly and accomodating every time I came in without my key. Maid service was polite and actually straightened the entiore room. There are hotels with more updated interiors, but Asheville is a place you dont hang out in the room. All this in the context of an excellent priced large suite-like room, and I'd gladly sign up again. And of course walking to the bier garden tops it off.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GatoDelSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 63 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haywood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haywood Park Hotel

Property: Haywood Park Hotel
Address: 1 Battery Park Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-2717
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#3 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Haywood Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its earliest days as a high-end department store, our location has been the center of Asheville’s social and cultural scene. Haywood Park puts you right in the heart of the Asheville experience — fabulous food, art, theater, live music, nightlife — all within footsteps. And when you’re finished with the dining, dancing, shopping and cheering, you’ll be pampered in rooms that are larger and more luxurious than any other in the area. If you want to truly immerse yourself in the hospitality, excitement and surprise that Asheville is famous for, there’s only one place to stay. Haywood Park Hotel. The Heart of Town.•33 luxuriously appointed, oversized suites ranging in size from 475 to 1,200 sq ft •A Historic Hotels of America property •Complimentary wireless Internet •Complimentary valet & self-parking •Bell service •Concierge services •Champagne at check-in •Nightly turndown service with handmade chocolates from The Chocolate Fetish® •Small gift upon departure •I-home® docking stations •43″ HDTVs in each guestroom & 27″ flat panel TVs in each bathroom •Amenity closet in each suite with a wet bar, mini-refrigerator and Keurig® coffee maker •Fitness center •Business center •Banquet and meeting spaces •100% smoke-free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Haywood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haywood Park Asheville
Hotel Haywood Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing