We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a terrific weekend”
Review of Haywood Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Haywood Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2010

My sister wanted to celebrate her 50th birthday with my mother, my partner and I. She requested we go to Asheville and stay intown so we could enjoy the boutiques as well as the Bohemian flavor within the city. Little did we realize at the time of booking that it was the weekend of Moogfest as well as Halloween. Is that perfect or what?! We arrived Midday Fri. and were graciously received by the folks at the front desk. My mother had a walker to help her get around following a recent fracture of her leg. The halls and suites were so spacious, it made it a breeze for her. Our room overlooked the street which made for some incredible people watching. We were able to walk to shop and eat which was made even more perfect by the glorious weather and fall foliage. I'd definitely return!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

707 - 713 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2010

This boutique hotel, living in a converted early Twentieth Century department store, has a great location with great rooms. Its staff jumps at the chance to serve, and so many things are "right", one doesn't want to grouse. That said, they really must buy some washcloths: two days running, we had to ask for them. On the other hand, the linens were luxurious, and the huge marble baths are a pleasure. There are no ice machines, so one must request a bucket, and either go down or wait for it to be delivered. Lots of storage, good urban views of classic buildings and the occasional waft of street performers' tunes add to the pleasure, as do the thick carpets, good beds, generous amenities, and all-round ease of living.
The lobby is bland and not at all sure of its identity; it's little wonder most folks bolt for the door and out into the excitement that is Asheville. Surrounded by galleries, restaurants, bars, and lots of walkable routes, this is one terrific place to find oneself.
Unless you just simply can't be pleased with a touch of luxury (bathroom light switches over the headboard so you don't have to stumble around a strange room in the dark), and if you're so snobbish you simply must be observed to be where you are (remember, no crowds here - only thirty-something rooms), this is the place to be in downtown Asheville.
And we will be again, as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bangtherocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

After a terrible night in Gatlinburg this was a real relief. Huge comfortable room - yes, quite old fashioned but very clean and comfy. Great location in Asheville. Very friendly staff. Quite expensive mind you.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finn67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

I got married back in july. I rented the ballroom it was the best place to rent. The cost was good the staff was great and my friends and family loved it sooo much we rented out in sept. We had a ball. I live in asheville in trying to find a place that the price was right it was hard untill I came here. They worked with me and took good care of my guest I loved it. I will be back !!!!!!! Thank you karen & bob.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angeleyeztko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

The Haywood Park Hotel was the setting for our son and daughter-in-laws' wedding rehearsal party, Oct. 1 - 3, 2010. The atrium was perfect for our low county boil and NC BBQ. Karen Ferrel, the event planner at the hotel, took care of every detail to make this a fabulous event. The staff was excellent, the hotel elegant, rooms were more than expected. We can't say enough great things about the friendly staff, willing to help in any way, at all hours - 24/7.
I recommend the Haywood for a great weekend getaway or your next event! Perfect location, downtown Asheville. Oh, and the chocolate truffles are awesome!

Barbara McDaniel

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

The HUGE ballroom was just what we needed for our event. Absolutely perfect! The space was freshly cleaned and beautifully prepared when we arrived. Management was readily available if we needed anything, but there was nothing to ask for--and every detail was taken care of for us.

We have already made plans to return to the Haywood Park Hotel next time. With convenient downtown location, plenty of parking and management who are happy to tend to every detail...why go anywhere else?!?

Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
Thank Globespun13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Our company has held corporate events at the Haywood Park Hotel for the past year. During this time we have found the hotel very accomodating and easy to work with. It is always a pleasure while planning for our events because they will go out of their way to meet any need we have. We love the location of the hotel, as it is in downtown Asheville. Our participants can easily walk to downtown shops and restaurants after our event is over and the hotel has sufficient parking to meet the number of event participants. I highly recommend this hotel to other companies looking for a space to hold an event. Their main ballroom is very large and can accomodate a variety of events.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashevillegirl1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 66 in Asheville
1,004 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haywood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haywood Park Hotel

Address: One Battery Park Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-2717
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#3 Family Hotel in Asheville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: £217 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haywood Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its earliest days as a high-end department store, our location has been the center of Asheville’s social and cultural scene. Haywood Park puts you right in the heart of the Asheville experience — fabulous food, art, theater, live music, nightlife — all within footsteps. And when you’re finished with the dining, dancing, shopping and cheering, you’ll be pampered in rooms that are larger and more luxurious than any other in the area. If you want to truly immerse yourself in the hospitality, excitement and surprise that Asheville is famous for, there’s only one place to stay. Haywood Park Hotel. The Heart of Town.•33 luxuriously appointed, oversized suites ranging in size from 475 to 1,200 sq ft •A Historic Hotels of America property •Complimentary wireless Internet • Valet Parking (surcharge applies) •Bell service •Concierge services •Champagne at check-in •Nightly turndown service with handmade chocolates from The Chocolate Fetish® •Small gift upon departure •43″ HDTVs in each guestroom & 27″ flat panel TVs in each bathroom •Amenity closet in each suite with a wet bar, mini-refrigerator and Keurig® coffee maker •Fitness center •Business center •100% smoke-free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Haywood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haywood Park Asheville
Hotel Haywood Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing