We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10mins to downtown, exceptional comfort and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“10mins to downtown, exceptional comfort and friendly staff”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The first important thing to say is that the beds here are the most comfortable we have slept in. The rooms are a good size, decorated in a modern style with a lovely bathroom and cable tv. There is also a fridge and microwave in the room. The entire hotel is spotlessly clean.
There is complimentary tea (all sorts) and coffee (decaff, regular and strong) in the lobby along with cookies and apples, all available all day.
There is no onsite restaurant or bar.
There is a lovely indoor pool and spa on site open from 8am to 10pm daily (no lifeguard). Our daughter had the pool to herself at 845am for half an hour and really enjoyed herself.
There is a complimentary shuttle service that runs you to downtown to sample the local excellent restaurants. The shuttle runs 8am til 930pm and will take you to town and pick you up again, with approx 25 mins notice. This saves you around $10 each way in a cab. Children must have their booster seat with them. Downtown is approx 10mins drive away.
The staff were all very very friendly and happy to help.
The complimentary hot breakfast is good for a freebie although the hot parts of the breakfast weren't very tasty. Stick to cereal, muffins, bagels etc and avoid the scrambled eggs and bacon.
Overall we wished we could stay another night!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmos328is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    979
    350
    90
    21
    17
See reviews for
461
556
50
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Metro NYC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Most Hampton Inns are well kept, many are updated, and most offer good value at an affordable investment (have to love free Internet and hot breakfast! THIS Hampton Inn is in the top-tier of an already great chain.

The location, just 5 minutes outside of Asheville, is on a main road, as many Hampton Inns are. Unlike many Hampton Inns, it's not smack in the middle of a parking lot in a crowded commercial/industrial area. This property is so set back from the road you'd be unable to find it without the sign. It's up a hill, surrounded by woods, landscaped with lush plantings, and ringed by beautiful mountain views.

The hotel is spotless, updated, and just enjoyable to be in. The indoor pool and hot tub area is large and clean, and opens up to a fitness room and an outdoor patio with comfy seating.

The breakfast was always stocked, and the cheerful attendants were busy making sure it stayed that way. The desk staff was super friendly and very helpful with information about the area.

The halls and rooms were impeccably clean and fresh-smelling. One nice thing was arriving to find they had actually read my preferences on the reservation and "de-feathered" the room in preparation for our arrival. I am allergic to down and feathers, and even at other Hampton Inns often find that my note has been ignored and I have to contact housekeeping to switch out the bedding. Not this time. I really appreciated that.

When we were in the lobby preparing to depart we observed a large number of staff clustered around the check-in desk for a brief team meeting. It was well run, and there was obviously a camaraderie and energy among the staff that speaks well for their management team and group work ethic. We were impressed.

We will absolutely stay here again on any future trips to Asheville.

Room Tip: Upper floors have lovely mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExecCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampstead, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

An excellent place to stay. Set back from the road and elevated, it provided a quiet stay with a wonderful view of the mountains. Complimentary breakfast was great and the Pool area was well kept and not emitting an excess of chlorine smell as do many other hotels/inn's. 1.7 miles from the Biltmore Estate, we'd highly recommend a stay here and will return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
181 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Hampton Inn for a long weekend. The hotel was newly remodeled, service was top notch, and the breakfast offered was very good. The room was quiet, even with our room being close to the pool, the maid service was efficient and they provided plenty of towels, which seems to be lacking in many hotels we've stayed, in the past. The shuttle service downtown was very convenient. We did rent a car for two days. If you want to see the Biltmore Estate or the Blue Ridge Parkway, you will definitely need a vehicle. The hotel is also within walking distance to restaurants and the mall, if you don't feel like going downtown. The people at the front desk were very helpful with directions, providing extra pillows, etc. It was a great long weekend stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caribbeantraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We walked in to a very cheerful reception from Calli at front desk. She booked us in very efficiently and we were soon in our room. Because of the general good quality of Hampton Inns we have stayed in them for the last 3 weeks whilst travelling on our road trip. We were given help and advice about local attractions which was very useful. From here we visited the fabulous Biltmore estate. The rooms were clean and very comfortable as usual. The only downside was that we had a room overlooking a concrete beam and the indoor swimming pool which was noisy up to 10pm. This probably because we made a late booking in an almost full hotel. Free Breakfast was also very good. We also paid more than other guests I presume because of the late booking

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARTIN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Clean, well-appointed rooms, extremely plush beds, a bountiful continental breakfast, courteous staff--you'll find it all here! The only thing I found disconcerting in this newly-renovated complex was the ability to hear conversation from the bathroom next door emanating through the (obviously) connected bathroom ceiling vents. (Oops!) Irregardless, hubby and I would book a room here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Great clean rooms, exceptional staff, easy to get to & from area attractions. Quick easy check in, decent breakfast (despite having a very large group of college students on one night), very helpful restaurant recommendations...would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MercyCope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Residences at Biltmore
#21 of 65 in Asheville
1,167 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road

Property: Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
Address: 204 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Asheville
#2 Business Hotel in Asheville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to wonderful and rare Asheville we're eager to have you stay with us at the Hampton Inn® Asheville-I-240 Tunnel Rd. We are perfectly and conveniently nestled amongst all of Asheville's most popular attractions, including the world famous Biltmore Estate and winery, historic downtown Asheville, and America's most scenic byway--the Blue Ridge Parkway. Once you've arrived at our hotel, you'll enjoy a lot of great amenities waiting for you in your room, including free high-speed internet access in every guest room, handy lap desks, and 32" HD flat-screen televisions. Our recently renovated Perfect Mix Lobby is a perfect marriage of vibrantly blended colors, creating a perfect space to mingle with friends, watch the big game on the oversized HD flat-screen television, or finish up the day's business on plush sofas or the communal table. Our guests also enjoy our complimentary On the House™ hot breakfast, featuring a variety of hot breakfast items and fresh Belgian waffles. If you're looking for relaxation, splash down in our newly renovated indoor pool, melt the day's stress away in our whirlpool spa or maintain your healthy lifestyle in our state of the art fitness center featuring all new Precor® equipment. When you're ready for some rest, hunker down for the night in our comfiest amenity yet, our Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed™. Come and experience for yourself the splendor of the Blue Ridge Mountains at the newly renovated Hampton Inn® Asheville-I-240 Tunnel Rd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tunnel Road Hotel Asheville
Hampton Inn Asheville Tunnel Rd
Asheville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing