We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great bargain”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sleep Inn West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn West
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great bargain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

This Sleep Inn was very clean and the people were very friendly. The breakfast rivaled those at much more expensive hotels with everything you could possibly want to eat to choose from. I am recommending this hotel to friends going to Asheville or just passing through.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda54971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    291
    70
    23
    18
See reviews for
247
367
47
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

We have stayed at this hotel many, many times over the past 10 years and have never been disappointed. The property is spotless and the rooms recently reappointed making them even more pleasant than before.

The hotel rests on top of a little hill away from the hustle and bustle of traffic and tourists while remaining convenient to so many places in the area. And, The staff has ALWAYS been friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiverSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

My daughter and I stayed at the Sleep Inn West - April 21-23 while visiting Asheville. The rooms were very clean and the beds comfy. The front desk staff was the absolute nicest ever - recommending great places to eat and even helping with tickets to Biltmore House that were less expensive than purchasing on the internet direct from the Biltmore website.
We will definitely stay here again when in Asheville. Thanks for making our stay so pleasant!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksmom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseilles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

Spacious, immaculate rooms with microwave and frig.
Very helpful and friendly staff.
Nice free buffet breakfast. Great coffee!
WSJ every morning.
Great value.
Great location.
Stayed at 3 sleep inns this trip. All marvelous.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Great vacation package and clean rooms! The staff was very friendly. I only reserved one night when I made my reservation and then decided the next day that we were going to stay another night. It was a busy weekend in Asheville so nearly all hotels in town were booked, Sleep Inn West included. Vicky from the front desk was kind enough to call other hotels in the area to make sure we had a place to stay. She went above and beyond the call of duty. Customer service like that is hard to find.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red29170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

I stayed alone (single young female) here for one night while in town to visit with friends. I felt very safe and secure even though I was traveling alone. I found the front desk service was very good. They were nice enough to call me a cab, provide me with change, and give me a late checkout. The room nice overall, and I appreciated the extra outlets. I didn't care for the light bulbs they used in the room. They were all fluorescent/energy saving bulbs. The TV, ironing board/iron, and mini fridge were nice to have and I used them all. My main complaint is that the walls of this hotel seemed thin and I could hear my neighbor coughing in the night as well as other noises. The bed was just okay in terms of comfort. I also noticed that the elevator smelled very strongly of smoke every time I used it and that was a turn off. No where else in the hotel did I notice any other smells though. They had what looked to be a good continental breakfast, but I didn't try it as I had other plans. Overall, I would stay here again, but *only* if I could get a better deal on the price.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rollingthunder71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnAGM, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn West, responded to this review, 2 July 2011
We appreciate your kind comments, and we're sorry to hear about the shortcomings you experienced. We do use the energy-saving bulbs as part of Choice Hotels' "Room to be Green" program, in which we take small steps to reduce our overall environmental impact. I am also sorry about the smoky smell in the elevator. We will try to prevent this in the future. I hope you will choose us again next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

A little out of town (it's near the airport) - this place had the usual pretty good breakfast - waffles, eggs. It was simple and fine.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
6.4 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#33 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Asheville Tunnel Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville at Asheville Outlet Mall, NC
9.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
#30 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn West

Property: Sleep Inn West
Address: 1918 Old Haywood Rd, Asheville, NC 28806-1132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
#4 Business Hotel in Asheville
#10 Family Hotel in Asheville
#17 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn West is conveniently located off Smokey Park Highway, just minutes from the Biltmore Estate, Biltmore Village, the scenic Blue Ridge Parkway and historic downtown Asheville. This Asheville, NC hotel is also just minutes from the University of North Carolina at Asheville. A variety of restaurants, movie theaters, and shopping centers can be found in the surrounding area. The hotel is next door to IHOP, Applebees and Cracker Barrel restaurant. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like the on-site business center and access to copy and fax services. The meeting space can accommodate up to 20 people and is available for most business functions. All spacious guest rooms feature hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, oversized walk-in showers and cable television with free HBO. Non-smoking, handicap accessible and mountain-view rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn West Hotel Asheville
Sleep Inn Asheville
Asheville Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing