We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great deal near Asheville”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sleep Inn West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn West
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great deal near Asheville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

Good location, comfortable, adequate breakfast, exercise machines need repair.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bighack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    289
    70
    23
    18
See reviews for
247
366
47
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

Really nice surprise. Good hotels in Asheville are expensive, so I took a chance on this place based of the mostly positive reviews and am glad that I did.

First impression was good, very clean lobby, a little plain to look at but nice and tidy. The young lady at the desk was very pleasant. The room looked newly remodeled. This looks to be a typical sleep in setup, compact rooms with big walk in showers. The bathroom looked to have new tile. The furniture looked pretty new and there was a nice size LCD tv, 32" I believe, also looked new. The bed was nice, I slept well, I think it may have been a pillow top. The sheets (very important to me) were soft, not really luxurious but good. There was a typical polyester motel bedspread on the bed, it was in an updated style an added a pop of color to the room (I prefer a nice duvet covered comforter).

There were fresh cookies in the lobby around 5 that was a nice touch. They offer a "free breakfast" they had the cook your own waffles, hard boiled eggs, instant oatmeal, biscuits with gravy, some weird disk shaped eggs, sausage, cereal and some muffins. There was plenty to eat and we were satisfied, everything seemed fresh.

I like to stay in hotels that offer great linens, they really enhance my stay, but at more than twice the cost of this place in Asheville, I took a chance. Choice hotels seem to be hit or miss, and I no longer rely on them for a good place to stay, I usually pay more for more consistent brands. If every sleep inn/choice hotel was like this, I would book with them far more often, it was just a really pleasant stay.

We were glad that we chose this location, even though we were there for a visit to the Biltmore, the area around the Biltmore was far more congested and busy, this is just a couple exits away from the hubub.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsforkicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnAGM, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn West, responded to this review, 19 December 2010
Thanks so much for your kind comments! We strive to provide a consistently terrific guest experience, and we're so happy that we exceeded your expectations. We also appreciate your useful suggestions. Thanks for trying us out, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithia, FL
Level Contributor
173 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

The room was clean. The bed was comfortable. The price was good.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathstud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

This was an extremely well maintained, quiet, clean hotel that was conveniently located. The breakfast was a cut above the standard continental breakfast. They had bananas and a little refrigerator with a selection of yogurt. Very nice value for the price! We would definately stay there again when traveling in that area.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purduepete1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

We recently stayed at this hotel for a single night. The room was large and clean and the bed was comfortable. Since it was a big night for football, we wanted to watch some games but the TV in the room was extremely blurry (you couldn't even read the scores.) I told the desk clerk when checking out so that they could switch that one out for a better one and she said that all of the tv"s need replacing. The hall smelled strongly of cigarettes but the non-smoking room was odor-free. Again, good night's sleep for the price.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravelers025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnAGM, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn West, responded to this review, 11 October 2010
We really appreciate your feedback! Our apologies for the blurry TV... you and our future guests will be pleased to hear that we are in the process of ordering brand new LCD flat screen TVs! We look forward to your return, and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

After spending one night in an expensive "resort" hotel with no free coffee or morning danish, we checked into the Sleep Inn. Man, what a difference. Great prices, clean rooms, free internet, coffee, hot breakfast, and best of all - warm cookies in the afternoon. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They even let us park our motorcycles where the security camera could monitor them. I got a call one night that someone was checking out my bike. When I went out to check it out, I found that I had left my keys in the ignition. Needless to say - I was very happy with the folks at the front desk who gave me the alert. Turns out it was just a guy admiring my bike - but it could have ended much different. I will always stay at a Sleep Inn if one is available.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmicdaveus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnAGM, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn West, responded to this review, 11 October 2010
Thanks so much for your comments! We are so happy that our amenities and our staff exceeded your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

nice hotel
clean rooms
nice breakfast
excellent staff with great attention to detail

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cincyedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
6.4 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#32 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Asheville Tunnel Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville at Asheville Outlet Mall, NC
9.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
#30 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn West

Property: Sleep Inn West
Address: 1918 Old Haywood Rd, Asheville, NC 28806-1132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
#4 Business Hotel in Asheville
#10 Family Hotel in Asheville
#17 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn West is conveniently located off Smokey Park Highway, just minutes from the Biltmore Estate, Biltmore Village, the scenic Blue Ridge Parkway and historic downtown Asheville. This Asheville, NC hotel is also just minutes from the University of North Carolina at Asheville. A variety of restaurants, movie theaters, and shopping centers can be found in the surrounding area. The hotel is next door to IHOP, Applebees and Cracker Barrel restaurant. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like the on-site business center and access to copy and fax services. The meeting space can accommodate up to 20 people and is available for most business functions. All spacious guest rooms feature hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, oversized walk-in showers and cable television with free HBO. Non-smoking, handicap accessible and mountain-view rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn West Hotel Asheville
Sleep Inn Asheville
Asheville Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing