We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Other mid-range Hotels should take a lesson from this little gem”
Review of Sleep Inn West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn West
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Ky
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Other mid-range Hotels should take a lesson from this little gem”
Reviewed 21 February 2011

I stayed at this great hotel on the way back from a business trip in Charlotte, NC. It was a Saturday night and I had called ahead to be sure that they had a room available. I had never stayed at this property before so I looked on tripadvisor and seen that the reviews were all good. When the young lady confirmed that they indeed had a room for me, I reserved it. When I asked her what the room cost would be, she said $53.00. I was surprised at this price. Rarely do you get any decent property these days for that kinda price. Upon arriving at the hotel late that evening, I noticed that the parking lot was nearly full. The hotel looked very nice as well. When I checked in, the young lady at the front desk (I believe her name was Rebecca) was very friendly and helpful. I had requested a quiet room. When I completed my check-out and went to my room, I was very, very happy. The room was extra clean and it was very quiet. I got a great nights sleep here. I highly recommend this property for any traveler. I give it 2 thumbs up. Way up! Good job, Sleep Inn West.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triphelp69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnAGM, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn West, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments! We are so glad to have made your stay an excellent one. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    303
    72
    23
    19
See reviews for
263
383
47
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lenoir, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Just off the highway, not too far from Biltmore and downtown Asheville. The room was on the smaller size, but with the nice furnishings, comfortable bed and flat-screen, it was a nice place to rest in between trips around the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michinnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashville, tn
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Stayed on our way home. Sets way up on a hill with good views of the mountains. Lots of eating places around.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W. Bloomfield, Mi
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Clean. Friendly and helpful staff. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freedomisgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaylord, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Good price for a very nice Sleep Inn. The room was large, nice bedding, very clean, modern and a brand, new very large flat-screen TV. The staff was very friendly also.
This is our second time staying here and it is sure to be a regular stop on our trip south each year.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northernite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Good location, comfortable, adequate breakfast, exercise machines need repair.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bighack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Really nice surprise. Good hotels in Asheville are expensive, so I took a chance on this place based of the mostly positive reviews and am glad that I did.

First impression was good, very clean lobby, a little plain to look at but nice and tidy. The young lady at the desk was very pleasant. The room looked newly remodeled. This looks to be a typical sleep in setup, compact rooms with big walk in showers. The bathroom looked to have new tile. The furniture looked pretty new and there was a nice size LCD tv, 32" I believe, also looked new. The bed was nice, I slept well, I think it may have been a pillow top. The sheets (very important to me) were soft, not really luxurious but good. There was a typical polyester motel bedspread on the bed, it was in an updated style an added a pop of color to the room (I prefer a nice duvet covered comforter).

There were fresh cookies in the lobby around 5 that was a nice touch. They offer a "free breakfast" they had the cook your own waffles, hard boiled eggs, instant oatmeal, biscuits with gravy, some weird disk shaped eggs, sausage, cereal and some muffins. There was plenty to eat and we were satisfied, everything seemed fresh.

I like to stay in hotels that offer great linens, they really enhance my stay, but at more than twice the cost of this place in Asheville, I took a chance. Choice hotels seem to be hit or miss, and I no longer rely on them for a good place to stay, I usually pay more for more consistent brands. If every sleep inn/choice hotel was like this, I would book with them far more often, it was just a really pleasant stay.

We were glad that we chose this location, even though we were there for a visit to the Biltmore, the area around the Biltmore was far more congested and busy, this is just a couple exits away from the hubub.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsforkicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnAGM, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn West, responded to this review, 19 December 2010
Thanks so much for your kind comments! We strive to provide a consistently terrific guest experience, and we're so happy that we exceeded your expectations. We also appreciate your useful suggestions. Thanks for trying us out, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
6.8 mi away
Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville at Asheville Outlet Mall, NC
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#26 of 66 in Asheville
301 reviews
9.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn West

Property: Sleep Inn West
Address: 1918 Old Haywood Rd, Asheville, NC 28806-1132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
#4 Business Hotel in Asheville
#10 Family Hotel in Asheville
#17 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn West is conveniently located off Smokey Park Highway, just minutes from the Biltmore Estate, Biltmore Village, the scenic Blue Ridge Parkway and historic downtown Asheville. This Asheville, NC hotel is also just minutes from the University of North Carolina at Asheville. A variety of restaurants, movie theaters, and shopping centers can be found in the surrounding area. The hotel is next door to IHOP, Applebees and Cracker Barrel restaurant. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like the on-site business center and access to copy and fax services. The meeting space can accommodate up to 20 people and is available for most business functions. All spacious guest rooms feature hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, oversized walk-in showers and cable television with free HBO. Non-smoking, handicap accessible and mountain-view rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sleep Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn West Hotel Asheville
Sleep Inn Asheville
Asheville Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing