We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and polite staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Asheville
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly and polite staff”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife and I recently took a weekend getaway to Asheville NC. We had frequent encounters with several of the staff members at the front desk over our stay as we had originally booked through a website for two nights, but we were able to stay a third and booked through the hotel once we arrived. We were able to keep our same room with no isses.

Everyeone we spoke to there was very polite and happy to answer any questions we had. I had no hesitation going up to anyone to ask for assistance or advice on the town.

The hotel is actually not that close to Asheville itself but we never had any issues making the trip into town. It is very easy to navigate your way to the Biltmore (10 min drive to the gate) or into downtown (15 min drive).

Otherwise a good clean hotel, I only wish after 3 breakfasts there we would have seen something new to offer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitdrob87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your great review! Our staff have been with us for many years and truly enjoys working here. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the Asheville area. Please come back soon! Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    203
    56
    16
    9
See reviews for
159
187
11
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Overnight stay on way to Charlotte. Everything as to be expected at Holiday Inn Express. Right on the freeway but quite a ways from Biltmore Mansion. Did not matter to us as we were not going to visit this trip. Wish they had a little more variety on the breakfast menu.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbrantmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
We are so glad you are a loyal IHG Rewards Member. Our Holiday Inn Express matches & exceeds the standards of most hotels. We care about our property and we take pride in showing great hospitality towards our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write this good review. Hope to see you this summer! Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paragould, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

It is about $15 cheaper to book online. Newly remodeled with very nice decor. Spacious rooms and bathroom with adequate hot water supply considering five of us took a shower. The breakfast bar was neat and tidy and well stoked. The front desk very helpful. We will stay here next year as well.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazybu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to write this review. We do have very spacious rooms and bathrooms. Our front desk loves to give directions, menus or suggestions about area attractions or restaurants. We will be looking forward to seeing you next year! Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

This was a nice clean hotel. It was my toddlers first stay in a hotel so I was super worried about cleanliness but like I said very clean which made me enjoy my time even more. The bed was comfy and breakfast was just adequate. Nothing fancy but id prefer clean over lavish any day.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahRChristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Our housekeepers always do a great job cleaning. Most of our staff have been with the hotel for many years. We appreciate what a good job they do all the time. I am glad you felt comfortable at our hotel and I hope you had a wonderful time in Asheville. Come back soon! Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We are not normally people to complain, but we had multiple issues staying here. The first being that we had to go down and get new room keys because the first set only worked for one night. When we came back the next afternoon, one of the cleaning crew had left a dirty toilet brush on our sink right next to my toothbrush. As if that wasn't enough, we went to bed that night and chilled our wine and (expensive) takeout in the fridge. The fridge somehow broke overnight and our food was bad in the morning. We were very discouraged about this. The worst part is when we told all this to the clerk upon checking out, all he said was "I apologize, I hope you can enjoy the rest of your day, it's beautiful outside." Being is retail, I would always offer someone something upon a complaint. This hotel has terrible customer service and we will not be back nor recommending it to others.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MollyVidovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
I am so sorry for the mishaps during your recent stay with us. I notice you have stayed with us before and you enjoyed yourself enough to come back. Please contact me directly so I can discount your next stay with us. Again, I am truly sorry for the inconveniences. Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Typical Holiday Inn Express. Clean; spacious room with comfortable bedding and refrigerator; Breakfast area was clean and well stocked. This was the closest and most reasonable Holiday Inn in the Biltmore area. It is also very easy to enter and exit the interstate. Absolutely no complaints. Would stay here again in this area.

We traveled with another couple and there was a mixup in the billing because I entered 4 adults. This was corrected immediately and cheerfully at checkout.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Asheville is so much fun please come back soon!
By Spring, we will be completely renovated and our hotel is looking forward to seeing all of our return guests. Warmest regards, Ellen Pettigrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Having stayed in Holiday Inn Expresses sufficiently frequently to have now qualified (in 4 weeks) for Gold Status (whoopee), and been given an Offer (ie unsolicited) of an "Upgrade etc" at our Next Stay at a Holiday Inn Express, we were taken aback by the very sniffy Receptionist's attitude, in which he told us "that that was not applicable here as we are different".

It seemed very much like the other Holiday Inn Expresses we had been staying in.

If we had not been so tired, after a very long drive and tight for time for a Dinner Engagement that evening in Town, we would have left there and then.

The Establishment its self is fine, great location if you want to shop, visit Biltmore House or tour Asheville, just off I.26, big, modern and clean and had a pool.

Breakfast however was a dire experience, crowded room, staff struggling to clear tables quickly, tepid food, rubbery scrambled eggs (tasted like made from powdered egg). Bland coffee.

At $132 for the night (higher than many we had stayed in) and comparing it to its peers, we thought it poor value-for-money, especially in light of the Receptionist.

He set the tone and it compared so badly with our previous experiences that in all fairness, this establishment never recovered. "HIE's" might, but this did not help one little bit

What is it about "First Impressions ......."

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safariholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We try to upgrade our members but we were very busy and our hotel was sold out. I apologize for our staff attitude and usually we are very gracious towards our guests. Since you liked so much about our hotel, please come back again! Warmest regards, Ellen Pettigrew, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - I-26 Biltmore Area
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville at Asheville Outlet Mall, NC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
#29 of 66 in Asheville
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Asheville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Asheville
Address: 1 Wedgefield Drive, Asheville, NC 28806-2225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Asheville
#21 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Asheville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you re coming to Asheville for business or just for pleasure, relax in our warmly decorated hotel conveniently located to all of Asheville s major interstates, area attractions and just minutes from downtown. Relax at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in our large atrium lobby with a cozy fireplace or enjoy our Jacuzzi spa after working out in our fitness center, outside track or outdoor pool. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites offers a complimentary Hot continental breakfast in the morning and freshly baked cookies and beverage in the afternoon. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites we offer a variety of packages for groups to the individual traveler including the Biltmore Estate, NC Arboretum, Blue Ridge Parkway, Chimney Rock Park plus golf, white water rafting and downtown shopping adventures. Catch up for work or pleasure at our two complimentary 24 hour business centers with printers or bring your laptop and take advantage of our free high speed wireless internet access. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is an excellent choice for your next meeting. Our meeting room can accommodate up to 36 people and we have available A/V equipment and a variety of catering menus. Our hotel offerstour operator, group, AAA and Senior discounted rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall Hotel Asheville
Holiday Inn Asheville
Biltmore Square Mall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing