We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms - Central to everything - Breakfast was okay+”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Asheville
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed here two nights while visiting some of the sights of Asheville, NC. The check-in staff were very professional, efficient, and helpful, providing us with information on good places to dine and visit during our stay, as well as making sure I had a room on the first floor per my request (disabled veteran). The room was spacious, clean, and most importantly quiet. The side doors had card readers for security (and they actually worked) and the front desk was manned 24/7 from what I could tell.

The pool was well maintained, and the hot tub was awesome. Although I didn't use the workout room, it was equipped with a good assortment of modern workout machines that appeared to be in good working order. There was plenty of parking, and the location was central to many activities (including easy and quick access to the Biltmore Estates) via the interstate (yet noise was never an issue).

Breakfast overall was pretty good; omelets, breakfast meat (bacon or sausage patties while we were there), biscuits and gravy (very nice!), toast, bagels, muffins, a pancake machine (push button-instant hot pancake!), hard boiled eggs, and assorted cereals, juices, milk, coffee (my wife like it) and tea. The breakfast nook area was kept pretty clean and was fairly roomy, although I suspect that if the hotel was at full occupancy it could get to standing room only.

I had only two very minor issues while staying: The fist was when we got there my wife took a very hot shower and the steam from it set off the room fire alarm. Unfortunately the bathrooms don't have a vent fan, and the A/C wasn't blowing strong enough to cool off the air coming out of the bathroom at the time. This seems like a design flaw in the room, but nothing earth shattering, as the hotel send down a maintenance man who arrived as I was calling the front desk and he set everything to rights.

The other was that the breakfast sausage tasted foul; overcooked and grainy. There were so many other good options (and the sausage was only out one day) that it wasn't that big of an issue.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Asheville. We'll most likely be staying here again on Veterans Day when we go up again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hernshound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your great comments. We have an awesome pool area & whirlpool spa with 3 water features & large gazebo. Regarding the bathroom vent, we installed an energy efficient system that has a large fan on the roof that draws the air out of the bathrooms. It usually works pretty well. We look forward to your next stay here at our property! Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stopped in Asheville on our way to South Carolina. The Holiday Inn had one of the better rates in the area. Hotel is very clean and up to date. The desk staff was pleasant and helpful.
Our room was standard for this type of hotel, but I do like that they have queen size beds.
My wife was impressed with the comfort of the beds and pillows.
Breakfast was somewhat standard, but they did have scrambled eggs and sausage in addition to a pancake machine.
Overall this is a very good value for the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your good review. Our hotel does have a great location with a wonderful conscious staff. Asheville hotels can be a little pricey on the weekends but we try to keep our rates at a reasonable level. We hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew, Mamager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here for a weekend trip to Asheville. Great proximity to the Biltmore Estates, Blue Ridge Parkway, and downtown Asheville. Clean and comfortable. Hot tub was a plus after a day of hiking. Breakfast had a lot of variety. Included yogurt, cereals, sausage, eggs, juices, and yummy cinnamon rolls. Room was a little humid but was remedied by turning AC down colder than I would have liked. Would stay again!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank cbortmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us & for your great comments about our hotel. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay in Asheville. We are looking forward to seeing you again! Warmest regards, Ellen Pettigrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel while in Asheville, NC and I would stay again. The hotel is spotless, the staff is friendly, the beds are comfortable, the breakfast is wonderful and the location is very central to everything Asheville.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TnRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your great review. Our staff takes great pride in keeping our hotel clean, well maintained with a wonderful attitude. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

First time staying here as we normally stay at the Hampton Inn next door. Hotel is very nice and clean. Breakfast was good. Bed was comfortable, not so sure about the pillows labeled "soft and firm" felt the same to me. Room was nice and roomy. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prettylady75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

I am so glad that you will choose our hotel again in the future. We have a lot of guests that return again & again. It is important to feel comfortable when you are away from home & know everything is clean & well maintained. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel was nice and the room was modern. The breakfast was great with both hot & cold options. The neighborhood was safe and the hotel was conveniently located close the highway. My family had mixed reviews on the comfort of the mattress. The room was a bit pricey for this type of hotel ($188 including taxes), but we price may have been increased since it was July 4th holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OhioTrav42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejpettigrew, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for staying at our hotel. We do have a great location & we are very convenient to many attractions. I agree that holiday weekends are expensive everywhere but I am glad you chose us. We just had a major renovation this past winter & we have all new mattresses. They are rated as medium so we try to please both preferences. Come back if the off season b/c Asheville is fun all year round. Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Clean, fresh, quiet (full of families, so quiet is much appreciated). We took a jacuzzi room, but the bathroom was again better appointed than the typical HIE. We paid in advance for breakfast but there were plenty of seats without reserving. Breakfast is relatively expensive buffet @$10 and is frankly convenience food, but when in Asheville have the meat and milk which is as good as some of the best to be found. Also, a few miles past the interstate is the local Krispy Kreme distributor - hit em up at 22:00 for hot donuts.

Holiday Inn express (HIE) has kept my business through it's extensive, not expensive, attention to guest needs. This is a beautiful property and better appointed than the typical downtown HIE. This location near central Asheville is a hidden gem -- I say somewhat wryly because of another HIE commonality here, I expect that the entrance to the hotel is nearly impossible to see from the road. HIE guys!! Your ginormous sign visible in three counties from the interstate can't be seen from the street; even with GPS there're some limits to what the human eye can make out.

Room Tip: I don't know why, but HIE does not seem to update its TV channel guides. The guide did not matc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 389PaulC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

I am glad you are a loyal IHG Rewards Member. Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Downtown. It is a great hotel! Next time try our Holiday Inn Express in Asheville. We have a wonderful complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - I-26 Biltmore Area
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville at Asheville Outlet Mall, NC
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
#32 of 66 in Asheville
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Asheville

Address: 1 Wedgefield Drive, Asheville, NC 28806-2225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Asheville
#21 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: £98 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Asheville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you re coming to Asheville for business or just for pleasure, relax in our warmly decorated hotel conveniently located to all of Asheville s major interstates, area attractions and just minutes from downtown. Relax at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in our large atrium lobby with a cozy fireplace or enjoy our Jacuzzi spa after working out in our fitness center, outside track or outdoor pool. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites offers a complimentary Hot continental breakfast in the morning and freshly baked cookies and beverage in the afternoon. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites we offer a variety of packages for groups to the individual traveler including the Biltmore Estate, NC Arboretum, Blue Ridge Parkway, Chimney Rock Park plus golf, white water rafting and downtown shopping adventures. Catch up for work or pleasure at our two complimentary 24 hour business centers with printers or bring your laptop and take advantage of our free high speed wireless internet access. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is an excellent choice for your next meeting. Our meeting room can accommodate up to 36 people and we have available A/V equipment and a variety of catering menus. Our hotel offerstour operator, group, AAA and Senior discounted rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall Hotel Asheville
Holiday Inn Asheville
Biltmore Square Mall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing