We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great country cooking!”
Review of Moose Cafe

Moose Cafe
Ranked #55 of 789 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Knightdale, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great country cooking!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We visited the Asheville Farmers Market to buy some Locust Honey, which we can rarely find. After the market, we went over to the Moose Cafe for lunch. We had a family of five and got a good variety of food, all of which was great! We ate chicken and dumplings, barbecue, country fried steak, chicken tenders - biscuits and cornbread - yummmmm! The sweet tea was great as well! You should check it out!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    240
    124
    53
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“great prices, neat atmosphere”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

After visiting the farmers market we stopped here for lunch. We were seated immediately and had biscuits on the table within seconds. Our server was very nice and attentive.

My daughter got the fried chicken, which was very good, I got the chicken salad, and my wife and other two daughters got chicken tenders. Everything was very good and reasonably priced.

The interior is well decorated in that woodsy north carolina mountains

style.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brianbva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great Brunch at a local eat. Service was attentive and the food was delicious. Located 2 miles off I-24 very easy to get locate. Biscuits home-made and served fresh from the oven, with the most delicious applesauce. The 7 people in our party all enjoyed the breakfast fair - great pancakes, good omelets and total comfort food. Would absolutely go back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaye F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food Quality!!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I was at the Moose Café, Asheville, NC on Saturday, June14, 2014. This is the first time there since it had been closed and ? remodeled! The food is in no way the Quality that it was previously. The eggs were bland, gravy watery, bacon tough, and the biscuits were tough and heavy, not the light/fluffy/crispy biscuits previously at Moose Café!!! I don't know if the cooks have changed but the food is not like it was!!! It is not a good value anymore!!! Please bring back the waiting staff and especially the COOKS that were there 6 mons ago......

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda12301952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockbridge, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Southern Comfort Food”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Went here on June 1, 2014.
Saw the restaurant while driving down the street. If you are looking for southern comfort food, this is the place. Huge biscuits. Will definitely go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moose Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Moose Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing