We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 27 Blake Street Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
27 Blake Street Bed & Breakfast
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
“Great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

This was a great Bed and Breakfast. Really, it's one room that a delightful owner rents out. The room is clean and fulfills the bed and breakfast experience fully. It also has its own side entrance allowing for great privacy. The location is great as well, as easy walk to downtown Asheville. I would stay here again in a second!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roanoke10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
66
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

27 Blake St. is a wonderful Victorian mansion in the historic Montford neighborhood, within walking distance of downtown Asheville. The room has its own private entrance from the front porch---so it feels like you have your own space. While the room is comfortable, beautiful, and peaceful, my favorite part of Carolyn's house is her porch and garden---with all sorts of plants, trees, pond, and lots of birds. It is so peaceful to sit on the porch and enjoy the green space, or to walk along her garden paths and admire the beauty. Even though you are right in the middle of a quaint city neighborhood---you are surrounded by a beautiful oasis. And Carolyn is a great host---plenty of information about the area, and very helpful. And this room is a serious bargain--I wouldn't stay anywhere else--I have even planned trips around the availability of this sweet spot.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

A friend and I ran across this single room B&B while researching larger brand name hotels for Asheville. The rate was excellent and we figured it was worth a shot for the weekend We could not have been more pleased. The one room available to the public is located in a beautiful home just on the edge of downtown. You have all the privacy you need, and yet, you still have an excellent host/owner who is available for anything at all. The room is a perfect size for two. I would suggest packing all of your needed toiletry items as you should with any B&B. Breakfast is not served but the room has coffee available. For the rate, you just cannot beat it! We will be back and I highly recommend to anyone who wants to step away from the chain hotels for once. Also, free street parking makes it an even better deal.

Room Tip: There is only one room---so it is very easy! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

It's a beautiful room in a beautiful house, surrounded by an awesome garden. Carolyn takes good care of her guests! The hospitality was so much more than we expected. Carolyn is the perfect host, offering assistance and information when needed and magically disappearing to give you just the right amount of privacy. The room is spotlessly clean, and cleaned everyday. Coffee, small fridge, and even a flat screen tv. Loved it!

Room Tip: Take the room she offers (it's the only one!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keltic63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

What do say? We won't stay anywhere else when in Asheville!!! 27 Blake is a short walk from downtown Asheville, amongst a lush garden, is very private with all the comforts of home. The bed is incredibly comfortable, my spouse said, "I haven't slept this good in so long!" We loved being able to walk to dinner every night! Carol is an amazing, knowledgeable person who is available when needed while still providing space & privacy. We loved drinking coffee on the porch in the morning and wine in the evening. As a former Ashevillian trust me: you can't beat her prices with this location and the quality of stay!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aslagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

While relaxing on the porch overlooking a beautiful garden, I felt happy and grateful for the Victorian charm of my room, the loving, tasteful attention to detail in the house, the little owl in the tree, the quiet of the place and the ease of walking everywhere. But most of all, I have to thank the owner, Carolyn Spain, for her many thoughtful acts of kindness and for making me feel so welcome and at home. Her suggestions were fantastic - I felt like I connected with the very best of Asheville. On so many levels, she is just wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GTweedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Anselmo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

My partner and I spent 4 day visiting Asheville and 27 Blake street B & B was a perfect place for us to hang our hats. The room is just as it looks in the photos, quaint and charming with a comfortable bed and nice bathroom with a small claw foot tub. Although there is no breakfast at this B & B , there is a coffee maker and small fridge in the room, as well as a great little cafe just a couple of blocks away.
We loved the location with easy access to downtown or the freeway. The neighborhood is charming and made for a delightful evening stroll. Carolyn is a great hostess, always willing to share information about Asheville or help out with directions.
When we return to Asheville we will definitely be staying here, it was just perfect!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlouiseSanAnselmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 63 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 27 Blake Street Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 27 Blake Street Bed & Breakfast

Property: 27 Blake Street Bed & Breakfast
Address: 27 Blake St, Asheville, NC 28801-2203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Asheville
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing