We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option, lovely room, comfy bed, very nice owner”
Review of 27 Blake Street

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
27 Blake Street
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Really extraordinary value. A nice, quiet, convenient location. A very nice room, good internet connection, good basic cable, very comfy bed. Easy parking on street outside. Owner very helpful. Very good price - paid double or more on this trip for this quality in other locations.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smithfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

After conducting extensive research into locations to stay in Asheville, I chose to stay at 27 Blake. The price was far more reasonable than any alternative boarding options. My plan had been to stay at a B&B. 27 Blake did not offer a breakfast service, but the room did have a coffee maker with complimentary Dunkin' Donuts coffee (nice touch). The location provided a central location to walk to all of the breakfast places you could want to try out. I was looking for a bed and breakfast initially, but I am quite glad that I chose to stay at 27 Blake. My girlfriend had forgotten her running tights when we departed, but Carolyn promptly contacted us and shipped them to us at her own expense. I am not an avid TA reviewer, but I specially created an account to inform people of my outstanding experience with this pleasant house and her owner. Thank you Carolyn and I would love to stay at 27 Blake again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCHWARTZY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The Tripadvisor reviews encouraged me to stay at Carolyn Spain's beautiful Victorian home in a quaint neighborhood. The first floor room with separate entrance and bath was perfect for our two night stay in Asheville. Coffee maker in the room made starting the day easy. Short walk across the expressway to the downtown area where we had an excellent dinner at Tupelo Honey Cafe or a short drive to Biltmore, where we splurged on the breakfast buffet before touring the mansion. Also had a really good dinner within an easy walk at 12 Bones. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There's only one room to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I have visited 27 Blake St. on two occasions and would not stay anywhere else. This is a unique place to stay with many advantages. Carolyn, the owner is super accommodating, the setting makes you feel like a local with the advantages of being able to walk to downtown, local restaurants, every amenity you need is close by. A very comfortable room, bathroom and porch sitting area with a private entrance. We feel very lucky to have found this gem.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miles1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

27 Blake Street is the perfect getaway spot. The gardens and yard were beautiful and peaceful. We very much enjoyed sitting on the porch enjoying coffee or a cool drink listening to the birds and crickets.

Carolyn is a terrific hostess. The room is extremely clean and comfortable. It is decorated in a style that goes with the house. She provided coffee, sugar and milk for mornings. There is a refrigerator for other food and beverages. She has local maps and pamphlets if you are looking for something to do. She anticipated needs from forgotten sunscreen to the need for a corkscrew and provided them in the room.

She is a native of Asheville and full of information that she readily shares from where to walk in the mornings to what restaurants might suit your tastes. She is great with directions on getting around as well. She has a keen sense of being available to you and giving you your privacy.

It is located in a neighborhood a few blocks from downtown which was very convenient to downtown and the interstate.

While this is listed as a B&B, I found it better. The room was much cleaner than B&B's we've stayed at in the past. We could tell Carolyn took personal pride in keeping it that way. There were no "rules" to speak of and we did not have to talk to other guests that we may or may not have wanted to talk to and were free to come and go as we pleased.

I highly recommend this property for an Asheville getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We were looking for B&B's in the Asheville area and read the reviews on Trip Advisor. 27 Blake Street B&B received several excellent reviews so we contacted them. Fortunately they were available the weekend we wanted and we could not have been happier! The room was perfect, down to the antique wardrobe in the bedroom to the claw-foot tub in the bathroom. There is also a refrigerator and coffee maker, and she even has a tray set up with coffee cups and wine glasses ready when you walk in. Another nice feature is location - the B&B is located in a historic family neighborhood within walking distance of downtown Asheville. Carolyn is an excellent host who respects your privacy, but is available 24/7 if you need anything. While she does not serve breakfast, there are plenty of places to eat nearby. We ate breakfast at an outdoor cafe, Tod's Tasties, just a few blocks away. And of course, there are plenty of excellent restaurants in downtown Asheville you can walk to. The only time we used our car was to drive to Mt Mitchell, which is about an hour away. We had the perfect sunny weather and the mountain views were indescribable. If you are looking for the perfect getaway in Asheville, you can't beat the price or the hospitality. With its location, the beautiful garden setting and inviting furnished room, 27 Blake B&B is a hidden treasure in Asheville.

Room Tip: The is only one room with bath that she rents, but it is clean, comfortable and very inviting. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We have just spent two delightful days at Blake St. The owner,Carolyn, is without doubt the most considerate and welcoming hostess we have met on our travels and made our stay a real pleasure.
Here are some practical things to note:
. There is an off street parking spot for guests
. As there is only one rented room you will have a high level of privacy
. There are coffee making facilities and a refrigerator in the room, though Carolyn will doubtless help with anything else you might need.
. You can walk to the centre of town in about 15 mins and to the nearest restaurant in 5 mins.
. You get a small outdoor veranda to sit on and are welcome to sit in the beautifully maintained gardens
We would stay here again without hesitation and would like to offer sincere thanks to Carolyn for her kindness and pleasant company.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank lambley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.6 mi away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
306 reviews
6.2 mi away
Asheville Cottages
Asheville Cottages
#1 of 21 in Asheville
763 reviews
2.7 mi away
Posh, The Boutique Hotel in Biltmore Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Pines Cottages
The Pines Cottages
#7 of 21 in Asheville
178 reviews
1.3 mi away
OM Sanctuary
OM Sanctuary
#9 of 21 in Asheville
45 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#13 of 66 in Asheville
6,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 27 Blake Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 27 Blake Street

Address: 27 Blake St, Asheville, NC 28801-2203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Asheville
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hang your hat and stay a while where guests have been welcomed for over 25 years. Enter this charming room with queen bed, period antiques, and en suite bath through your own private entrance, surrounded by gorgeous gardens in the historic Montford neighborhood. Enjoy this perfect location with an easy walk to downtown. Off street parking available. All this at a fabulous price. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing