We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night Christmas Tour Is Great”
Review of Biltmore Estate

Biltmore Estate
Book In Advance
More Info
US$375.00*
and up
Biltmore Estate Tour with Transportation from Charlotte
More Info
US$80.00*
and up
Guided Stand-Up Paddleboard Tour in Asheville
Ranked #1 of 191 things to do in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: George Vanderbilt's historic country estate in Asheville, NC; Biltmore includes Biltmore House--America's largest home--plus gardens, winery, Antler Hill Village, historic farm, 4-star Inn on Biltmore Estate, shops, restaurants, branded products, and outdoor adventures. This National Historic Landmark is an amazing destination offering a wide range of activities for all ages.
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Night Christmas Tour Is Great”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This is the second time that my wife and I have toured the Biltmore House during the night Christmas display. It is always a great tour with the decorations, carolers and tour guide information. It is well worth the cost if you are a Christmas decoration fan. The gift shop prices are not out of line for the value. We ate at the Stable café before the tour and had a relaxing dinner. Put this on your Bucket list as a place to go as one of America's Castles.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Redstick100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17,025 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12,808
    2,971
    814
    278
    154
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rogers, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Vacation”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We loved the Biltmore Estate. We hated the cost to get in and prices they have in gift shops there. It would be so much better if it was more family affordable. Restaurant's there are very expensive.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank elvislives1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Impressive but at a price”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is, with doubt, an impressive place to visit. The scale and style of this house is well worth the journey. However, we visited on a busy weekend and it felt very crowded. The biggest disadvantage is the price. It really is at the limit of affordability. My tips are:

visit mid-week.
book in advance
take the valet parking option
do not buy the wine unless you need a new mouthwash.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank UKJohnN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Carteret, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Experience”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We visited Biltmore House on the Sunday after Thanksgiving and the experience was extremely positive. We had a reservation time of 9:45 AM but arrived at 8:30 to get ahead of any holiday rush. This was not a problem. We had valet parking and drove to the front of the house where our car was taken by very courteous staff who gave us instruction about occupying our time until we were scheduled to enter the house (Valet parking is convenient but not necessary. There are regular shutles from the parking lots.) The reservation really didn't matter since we could have gone on tour at any time. I guess the reservation was simply for crowd control. We visited the gift shop for about an hour, then on to the house. We recomment the audio guide ($10). The entire tour took about 2 hours. We also visited the winery. If you go there, expect to buy wine. They have a large wine tasting area and the wines are very good. We visited the estate in the 1960s and 70s and much more is open to visitors. Overall, this was a great experience equal to any of the estates we visited in England and France, but George Vanderbilt built Biltmore with that in mind.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We visited the estate to see the Christmas lights and it was certainly impressive. We bought the ticket package for $84 that included daytime visit to the Biltmore Gardens and Antler Village and Winery, Complimentary wine tasting, and evening admission to the house itself. Admission was free for our young children. We also paid $15 extra for valet parking for the evening lights at the house. It was worth every penny especially because it was very chilly and we had two young children. You get to pull up right to the front of the house which was very convenient. All in all it was a wonderful visit. Albeit a little expensive, it is worth visiting at least once.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cara799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Biltmore Estate also viewed

North Carolina Mountains, NC
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Biltmore Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing