We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilhuly ”
Review of Biltmore Estate

Biltmore Estate
Book In Advance
More Info
US$109.00*
and up
Biltmore Admission with Self-Guided Audio Tour...
Ranked #1 of 210 things to do in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: George Vanderbilt's historic country estate in Asheville, NC; Biltmore includes Biltmore House--America's largest home--plus gardens, winery, Antler Hill Village, historic farm, 4-star Inn on Biltmore Estate, shops, restaurants, branded products, and outdoor adventures. This National Historic Landmark is an amazing destination offering a wide range of activities for all ages.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was happy to finally visit the Biltmore properly and always love seeing the Chilhuly exhibits. Unfortunately we were there on the first night of the exhibit and it was stormy on and off through the day and evening. Apparently they hadn’t planned well for the many visitors because buses were few and far between as we waited in the thunder and lighting storm to get a bus back to the park and ride lot. We were even more dismayed to discover a lot full of parked buses sitting there not being used. They weren’t even trying to help us.

The exhibit was gorgeous even though some main pieces weren’t lit...again, poor preplanning... so my suggestion is to go, by all means go...but never go to a first night event at the Biltmore. Friends went the second night and didn’t have near the problems we had.

I look forward to going back later in the year and hopefully will have an even better experience!

Thank Marvis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiltmoreEstate, Guest Relations Manager at Biltmore Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back to the estate again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19,859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"audio tour"
in 2,856 reviews
"downton abbey"
in 405 reviews
"antler village"
in 740 reviews
"house tour"
in 764 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 1,132 reviews
"vanderbilt family"
in 398 reviews
"candlelight tour"
in 539 reviews
"bowling alley"
in 242 reviews
"upstairs downstairs tour"
in 294 reviews
"stable cafe"
in 402 reviews
"own pace"
in 418 reviews
"christmas decorations"
in 375 reviews
"valet parking"
in 257 reviews
"bucket list"
in 360 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 584 reviews
"wear comfortable shoes"
in 243 reviews
"self guided"
in 292 reviews
Filter

337 - 341 of 19,859 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's a bit pricey ($70/person) to get in but it's pretty cool if you like history, architecture or really big houses. Price includes free wine tasting at their winery.

Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiltmoreEstate, Guest Relations Manager at Biltmore Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review. We hope you are able to visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are in or near Asheville, Biltmore Estate is a MUST. It's beautiful inside and out. The best part, for me, is being able to tour without a guide.

Thank Cappie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiltmoreEstate, Guest Relations Manager at Biltmore Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. We value your feedback and are delighted you enjoyed your time with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

When you first arrive through the brick arch, it’s a 3 mile drive to the parking lots. We took the self guided tour which is perfect for us. We like to quickly look, take our pictures and move on so others can have their look. I mean no disrespect to anyone and not everyone is like this but the guests here were plain rude. Very snotty who walk right in front of you as if you don’t exist. And if you happen to go ahead of them even though it’s not a in line type of thing, they will shoot dirty looks at you as if they’re better then you. But besides that the estate is absolutely beautiful. The garden is enormous so make sure to bring good walking shoes. There’s lots of shopping to do and the winery is about a 3 mile drive which you’ll be driving through the garden area so be careful of pedestrians walking around. I’m not 100% positive but I did see dogs walking around the grounds so I think it’s allowed. Not sure if they will be allowed inside the estate so you’ll have to call and ask.

Thank Abby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiltmoreEstate, Guest Relations Manager at Biltmore Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you on the estate again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Biltmore Estate and Asheville's history are borderline fairy tales. The home itself provides a glimpse into aristocracy, the American dream realized, and the power of ingenuity and positive thinking. If you're an engineer, contractor, historian, or just a dreamer you absolutely can't miss seeing this masterpiece. The gardens that surround and the constant flow of events through the Biltmore organization are reasons to see it again and again. You can't stamp your visit to Western North Carolina complete if you haven't seen it!

1  Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiltmoreEstate, Guest Relations Manager at Biltmore Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to Biltmore!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Biltmore Estate also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
North Carolina Mountains, NC
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Biltmore Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing