We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Both Dog and Human Friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Asheville Swiss Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Both Dog and Human Friendly!”
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We have been permanently traveling for almost 2 years so we have stayed in a wide variety of accommodations ---- hotels, bed and breakfasts, vacation rentals, and inns --- and Asheville Swiss Chalets is amongst the best, especially for those traveling with dogs.

Human-Friendly:
We stayed in the Beau Cottage, a petite two bedroom, one bath house (approximately 1200 square feet, we estimated), with a fenced in yard and deck. The house was pristine and fully equipped, down to extra light bulbs, batteries, washing detergent, and tupperware containers. You really don't need to bring anything other than your clothes and toiletry items (and they even have shampoo, soap, and conditioner, in case you forget yours). The house was beautifully decorated and we received two cookies from the Well Bred bakery as our welcome present.

The only negative to the house was that you don't get views of the mountains but it is surrounded by a lot of trees, meaning that it feels very secluded. Also, there is a very bright light right outside the bedroom. It wasn't a huge deal but it would have been nice if they had darker curtains to block out that light.

The location is fantastic, at about 3-minutes from downtown Asheville, 10 minutes to Biltmore Estate, and 20 minutes to Bent Creek and the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Pet-Friendly:
On the pet-friendly side, we were very impressed that they included a small gate to enclose off the fence, pet towels, a pet blanket for the sofas, and a list describing dog parks. On the negative side, there is no good place to walk your dogs in the immediate vicinity of the house because the road is quite steep and has many blind curves. We wished that the Swiss Chalets had a dog park area that all of the residents could use.

That being said, there are incredible pet-friendly walks and hikes within a 5-15 minute drive but you need to know that these places exist because otherwise it's easy to end up at the two main dog parks (Azalea and French Broad - Azalea is by far better and larger but neither dog park is particularly fantastic). If you travel with your dog and enjoy taking him/her for walks, I highly recommend visiting:
- Biltmore Estate (the best easy walks in the area for dogs);
- Bent Creek Experimental Forest (loved this walk but mind the bikers on the weekends and evenings)
- Blue Ridge Parkway - there are tons of hikes on the Blue Ridge Pkwy but the best thing to do is to get onto the Pkwy and go toward the South. You can stop anywhere by the side of the road and start walking. The Southern part of the Asheville stretch of the Blue Ridge has less steep trails, making it a better option for canine hikers.

All that being said, if you have the time, the one hike I would absolutely recommend with your dogs is the Max Patch. On a clear day, pack a picnic, get the dogs in the car, and drive the hour to the NC/TN border. Google Max Patch to get directions but, suffice it to say that this is our favorite dog-friendly hike in the United States. Not only is it incredibly safe for dogs with very few steep turn-offs, the entire path is carpeted in lush green grass making it a joy for dogs to romp, and the views at the top made us feel like we were at the top of the world.

All in all, you can't go wrong staying at the Asheville Swiss Chalets, whether you travel with or without your canine companion. We highly recommend it and will certainly stay with them again when we are in the Asheville area. (If you're interested in reading more about our Asheville experiences, you can find reviews at http://theroadunleashed.com - our dog + travel blog).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    31
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
137
173
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

My husband, myself and our 14 year old daughter stayed in the upper floor of the Zurich for 3 days. My parents came to visit on the 2nd day, to go to Biltmore. We all LOVED the Zurich. It was peaceful and relaxing. The deck has an amazing view at night, being able to see all the beautiful lights in Asheville. The beds were very comfortable and the Zurich has another room with a pull out couch sleeper that our daughter used. She loved the room so much that she asked to stay in it instead of the regular bedroom. Judy thinks of everything, by leaving delicious treats from the bakery, M&Ms, and coffee beans. The chalet has everything in the kitchen you need to cook. We prepared dinner and a big breakfast. We would definitely stay at the Swiss Chalets again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gamastrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We loved our cozy cottage. It was perfect for our needs - the beds were comfy, we were able to make most of meals, and it was conveniently located so we were right near town and the blue ridge parkway for some hiking. It was in a quiet peaceful location with a beautiful view of the mountains - you face the east so you get gorgeous sunrises. We stayed in the Interlaken with our pooch. The fireplace kept us warm on colder nights and mornings. The fresh baked cookies and coffee beans were a nice homey touch. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackandbelldaytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2011

I spent 2 nights at the Beau Cottage, a smaller piece of the Swiss Chalets (3-25-27-2011). What a pleasant and unexpected treasure this place is. The owners absolutely thought of everything that you could possibly need. It is a charming two-bedoorm cottage with all the amenities you can think of, and in a great location. Close to shopping and downtown, but just far enough away that you still feel excluded. Everything was exactly as advertised..and that is very rare these days. I would definitley recommend the Swiss Chalets as a great place to stay in Asheville NC. 4 Stars!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonywillbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomasville, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Our stay was great. No complaints! Our chalet was cozy and well stocked. It was a beautiful view and so close to everything. You should definitley stay at one of the chalets if you are visiting Asheville, we stayed in the Interlaken. We were able to visit the Well-Bred Bakery, it is not in Asheville, but it's only about 20 minutes away and was the perfect brunch spot. The ONLY thing I would recommend to future guests is... if you're one of those "certain kind of pillow people" bring your own.. but if you are one of those chances are you will be bringing it anyway! My boyfriend and I found our pillows a little stiff but it wasn't it great big deal. The kids thought thiers were fine.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phishian18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We stayed at the Matterhorn chalet with our pet and we had a beautiful view of the mountains and had a lovely and very comfortable stay. Judy (the owner ) provided us with fresh baked cookies and 2 kinds of coffee beans (and grinder) and a wonderful candy dish filled with M&M's, and as if this was'nt enough attention to detail, as we were just arriving to the chalet, she had come by just so she could put 2 lovely overstuffed decorater pillows on the front porch chairs so that we would be extra comfortable while watching the sunrise and sunsets.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springseason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We loved staying in Little Zurich! It was comfortable, relaxing and fully stocked with everything we needed. The chalets are secluded and private and very close to everything we wanted to do - shopping, restaurants, etc. We will definitely be back and recommend it to friends!

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank silksteel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,184 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 66 in Asheville
978 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asheville Swiss Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asheville Swiss Chalets

Property: Asheville Swiss Chalets
Address: 10 N Delano Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1797
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asheville Swiss Chalets offers pet-friendly and serene standalone cabins nestled in a woodland setting, with casual elegance and all the conveniences of home. We are located on Beaucatcher Mountain just 5 minutes from vibrant Downtown Asheville, close to many popular breweries, nightlife and award winning restaurants, yet close enough to enjoy the beautiful outdoors with the many waterfalls and hiking trails nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Asheville Swiss Chalets Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing