We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Asheville Swiss Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We really have loved our stays at the Asheville Swiss Chalets! We stayed in the Interlachen most recently, but have been in two of the others on previous trips. They are charming - so very attractive - but more than that we really appreciated all the loving, welcoming touches: the cookies, fully stocked kitchen (including coffee beans & grinder) and fresh condiments in the fridge - Wow! The chalets are centrally located in Asheville, so are close to just about any where you'd want to go. The chalets seem better every year and have added so much to our stay in Asheville.
Suzanne & Bill

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzamont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2009

We visited Swiss Chalets for 4 nights Halloween weekend '08, booking all the mountaintop cottages for our son's wedding. Judy was very helpful via phone adjusting accommodations to suit our midwestern family and friends. The cottages are set high in the trees affording visitors a treehouse feeling, decorator touches and large rooms. Judy provided coupons for her excellent bakery to the cottage guests. However, when I mentioned they may not have time for a visit to the bakery, she was very flexible in providing me with the coupons to use along with items I ordered from her for our post wedding brunch.
Asheville has a very eclectic downtown area with fine and casual dining and wonderful shopping. BIltmore is the most spectacular and largest private home open to the public in America. Worth every penny! These cottages are only 10 minutes from downtown and 20 minutes from Biltmore, yet you feel like you are far,far away from everything and everyone.
Judy was very flexible and allowed us early entry to the cottages to place welcome baskets for our guests and also extended checkout time to accommodate us for the post wedding brunch we hosted for a good-sized group. She can also provide air mattresses. We will definitely stay there again. Judy, thank you for helping to make this a long weekend we will never forget!
Lula in Raleigh, NC

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LulaRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

A really great mountaintop location only a few minutes from downtown Asheville and all the great things the town has to offer. Awesome place if you are traveling with pets - pen area is so convenient for late night and early morning potty trips. Great attention to detail (love the XXXL cotton balls in the bathroom and the fresh coffee beans) and very comfortable furnishings. The gift certificate to the bakery is a wonderful - quaint spot with some really great and tasty treats. This was our first trip to Asheville and we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cakers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

My wife and I were seeking a long-term rental to escape the northern winter chill. Our stay of just over one month was not nearly long enough! Our chalet was perfect. Everything we needed for a home away from home was right at hand. Tastefully decorated, the beds, linens and towels were wonderful.

We were anxious to spend our free time seeing the greater Asheville area, and the location of the Swiss Chalets made this very easy. Situated high on a mountainside looking over part of the city, the mountain views were superior. When we decided to venture out of our comfy home we were a short five minutes from downtown Asheville and it's many restaurants and sights.

If you are coming to Asheville, I heartily recommend the Swiss Chalets. If you are looking for a getaway anywhere, I heartily recommend Asheville. Together, they create a very special combination.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTS_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2009

My husband and I had a wonderful 3 nights at Swiss Chalets and Asheville and our only regret is we couldn't stay longer. The house is so cozy and tastefully decorated, the wi-fi is a nice addition, the kitchen is ready to go w/ coffee, cookies, tea, etc. Too bad we weren't there longer to really take advantage of the kitchen. It was a 3 min. +/- ride to downtown Asheville, but a quite location tucked within the trees. Our view looked over a rather developed valley area (malls, etc.), but regardless, the sunrise over the mountains was great!

We enjoyed all meals out and highly recommend Salsas for dinner, Barley's Taproom for pizza, Jack of the Woods for lunch and beer, and the Bier Garden for sports (but very smoky)...and don't visit w/out buying European truffles from Chocolate Fetish! It's also worth a short ride to cash in the $10 gift certificate that comes with the say at the Well-Bred bakery.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jersey0659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2009

On a quiet hillside right in the heart of Asheville, the Swiss Chalets were a perfect base for our 4 day stay. We moved into the Interlaken the day ArtNYC left. There was plenty of room. The cabin was sparkling clean, and the beds and couch were extremely welcoming and comfortable. They are pet friendly (our great dane loved it). Central heat and gas fireplace kept us warm on a couple of cold nights. The proprietor left us delicious cookies and a $10 gift certificate from her bakery in nearby weaverville. We couldn't have felt more welcome.
The location was extremely convenient. We were only 5 minutes from downtown, 5 minutes from I-240, 5 minutes from a major commercial/chain store area, and 10 minutes from the Biltmore Estate. But on our cozy hillside, you would never know you were in the middle of it all.
By far the best value in Asheville.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank suburbanguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2009

This was our second family holiday at Asheville Swiss Chalets, and this time additional family came so we rented two chalets. The chalets are on top of Beaucatcher Mountain, right in the middle of Asheville. At night we could sit on our deck and watch the moon rise over the city lights. Since we were there during the Christmas holidays, the weather was crisp but not too cold, and there was so much to do in the city and the surrounds. Though restaurants abound, we enjoy cooking together, so we would have lunches out and then at the end of the day, enjoy cocktails and snacks while planning and cooking our evening meals. The kitchen is well stocked with herbs, spices, condiments, and staples. Even though pots and pans are minimal, the basics are there and worked fine. There were so many details that Judy and Celeste think of, like providing a whole pound of coffee beans, both decaf and regular, teas galore. Aside from food there were games, tvs in every room, and a gas log fire that cozy-ed up the living room. I am hoping to go during another season.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Madgerrific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
1.5 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#25 of 66 in Asheville
1,228 reviews
5.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
1.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
1.9 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
5.8 mi away
Sleep Inn West
Sleep Inn West
#17 of 66 in Asheville
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asheville Swiss Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asheville Swiss Chalets

Address: 10 N Delano Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1797
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Asheville
Price Range: £115 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asheville Swiss Chalets offers top-rated, pet friendly cabins and cottages in a woodland setting. Our well appointed rentals have all the conveniences of home. We have properties on Beaucatcher Mountain, 5 minutes from vibrant Downtown Asheville, and in Weaverville, 10 minutes north of Asheville. We are close to popular breweries, award winning restaurants, hiking trails and a thriving art and music scene. We are often complimented for being accommodating hosts, for clean homes, and for "thinking of everything" out guests might need. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Asheville Swiss Chalets Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing